• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 28, 2013
    100
    [A] superbly tawdry new crime series. [8 Jul 2013, p.35]
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 28, 2013
    100
    Great acting, writing and direction.
  3. It's a muscular, instantly riveting series that features sensational performances by Liev Schreiber and Jon Voight. Based on the early episodes, we could be looking at television's next great character-based drama.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 25, 2013
    100
    At heart, this is a show about good and evil, but sometimes the catch--for both the characters and the audience--is knowing which is which. You won't be able to stop watching.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 12, 2013
    100
    [Creator and writer Ann Biderman has] created the most testosterone, rough and intelligent drama in ages.... Early sneaks of Ray Donovan hinted that Showtime might have a real gem on its hands, but four episodes provides an absolute exclamation point.
  6. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 13, 2014
    91
    The show, stylishly shot and strongly written, throws a lot at the wall in the premiere.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 26, 2013
    91
    Showtime’s taut and pretty terrific Ray Donovan.... Schreiber brings a solid, stolid presence to the role. But it’s Jon Voight as Mickey who gives this drama its ferocious, dangerous and sometimes creepy edge.
  8. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    The result is something extraordinary and compelling, a first-rate drama for Showtime.
  9. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    This could be the start of something great. In just a handful of episodes, it's already powerfully terrific.
  10. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jun 27, 2013
    90
    [A] captivating series created by Ann Biderman--sharply written, sophisticated even at its most melodramatic, with first-class performances throughout.
  11. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 27, 2013
    90
    It’s not as meticulous, cinematic, or original as those two shows ["Mad Men" and "Breaking Bad"], but it’s got the same kind of storytelling ambition. It’s the most vital new series of the year so far.
  12. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jun 28, 2013
    88
    Ray Donovan is fun, but it’s also heart-breakingly sad and deadly serious, sometimes all at once. In all cases, this is one of the smartest series to come around in a while, sharply written (by creator and executive producer Ann Biderman) with a perfect balance of comedy and tragedy, action and reflection.
  13. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jun 27, 2013
    88
    In Ray and Mickey, producer Ann Biderman has created two of TV's most interesting characters and one of its most absorbing dynamics.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    It is a wonderful show. It has a great plot, magnificent acting, and the characters are great. Liev Schreiber is one of a kind. This show is very promising so far. Full Review »
  2. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    The best new show this season. Has a feel like the early Sopranos but in a west coast setting. First two episodes caught and held our attention---good guy "villain", rough upbringing, family tensions and believable cast. Full Review »
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    1
    Have I missed something? I find "Ray Donovan" a big disappointment. The writing is beyond terrible. The show feels like a bunch of writers who each write a scene and then are thrown together in a hodge podge that makes no sense. The acting is so bad I find myself laughing during scenes that are suppose to be serious. When Gould's character sees the "Golem'" Voight runs off like a little girl...are you kidding me? Just one of many silly scenes. At least if there was one likeable character I could stay with this dreck, but there isn't. The kids are spoiled brats, Ray is just a dog sniffing after everything, Gould's character and the lawyer are so stereotypical as to be offensive......Beyond all this is the pandering. Voight instructs his grandson on oral sex, Ray dreams his father is screwing his wife, Ray's wife displays her thong that she just bought to the delight of her father-in-law and more, all unnecessary pandering. I could go on about why this show stinks but I don't want to give this show anymore of my time. One star for the nice homes and apartments but I guess I could see that on HGTV. Full Review »