• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    The series exists within its own ugly system, mining the by now tired convention of the thoughtful thug--the same idea that was so brilliantly subverted by more ambitious series, such as “The Sopranos” and “Breaking Bad.”
  2. 50
    There's something both frustrating and fascinating about the way Showtime's classy but surprisingly dull new drama Ray Donovan aspires to greatness.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 1, 2013
    50
    Biderman’s work here is inexplicably lazy: South Boston natives are haunted or broken; L.A. natives are narcissistic airheads. Voight doesn’t so much chew the scenery as gnaw it.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 28, 2013
    50
    The dreary, often predictable family story begins to suffocate the show as it gains ground over the first four episodes.... Ray Donovan benefits from strategic use of character actors in supporting roles.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Though I do not begrudge Ray Donovan its sense of momentum or tension, I was immediately struck by a desire to simply see more of Ray doing his job for a few episodes rather than seeing him deal with his brothers’ various problems.
  6. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 27, 2013
    40
    The first few episodes of Ray Donovan are disappointing--grandiose, predictable and painfully slow.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 27, 2013
    60
    But after five episodes, Ray Donovan is still some good performances in search of a show. It feels made up of pieces of other antihero dramas--a little Sopranos here, a little Brotherhood there, even a little Entourage around the edges. Ray is so far too much a cipher to be an engaging focal character, and his flaws and failings are those of so many middle-aged cable ass-kickers in the past decade.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 26, 2013
    58
    There's enough strong raw material on hand that Ray Donovan could eventually be built into something great. Right now, though, it's raw material in search of a series.
  9. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jun 25, 2013
    60
    [Biderman’s writing and Schreiber’s acting are] a one-two punch that haven’t scored a knockout in the first round, but there’s still time.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    It is a wonderful show. It has a great plot, magnificent acting, and the characters are great. Liev Schreiber is one of a kind. This show isIt is a wonderful show. It has a great plot, magnificent acting, and the characters are great. Liev Schreiber is one of a kind. This show is very promising so far. Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    1
    Have I missed something? I find "Ray Donovan" a big disappointment. The writing is beyond terrible. The show feels like a bunch of writersHave I missed something? I find "Ray Donovan" a big disappointment. The writing is beyond terrible. The show feels like a bunch of writers who each write a scene and then are thrown together in a hodge podge that makes no sense. The acting is so bad I find myself laughing during scenes that are suppose to be serious. When Gould's character sees the "Golem'" Voight runs off like a little girl...are you kidding me? Just one of many silly scenes. At least if there was one likeable character I could stay with this dreck, but there isn't. The kids are spoiled brats, Ray is just a dog sniffing after everything, Gould's character and the lawyer are so stereotypical as to be offensive......Beyond all this is the pandering. Voight instructs his grandson on oral sex, Ray dreams his father is screwing his wife, Ray's wife displays her thong that she just bought to the delight of her father-in-law and more, all unnecessary pandering. I could go on about why this show stinks but I don't want to give this show anymore of my time. One star for the nice homes and apartments but I guess I could see that on HGTV. Full Review »
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    1
    I am so disappointed with this show. I thought they would at least give us a guy who would not fall under the sex spell of a teenager. He isI am so disappointed with this show. I thought they would at least give us a guy who would not fall under the sex spell of a teenager. He is as low as the people he tries to clean up after. This show is disgusting. If this is what "Hollywood" is about, I will continue to watch less and less. He is such a good actor, but not much of a decent human being if he can justify this character. Full Review »