Rectify : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Rectify Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 382 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After 19 years in prison for the rape and murder of his girlfriend, Daniel Holden (Aden Young) is released due to DNA evidence. His return home brings new challenges including new family members and a divided community.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    100
    It’s a breathtaking work of immense beauty and a thought-provoking meditation on the nature of crime and punishment, of identity and solitude, of guilt and absolution. It is, quite simply, the best new show of 2013.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 22, 2013
    100
    It's a powerful, emotionally engaging character study.
  3. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Apr 25, 2013
    90
    The good news is that this contemplative, utterly engrossing and frequently gorgeous character study achieves and then surpasses both of those goals [justify the network's foray into the field while living up to the Sundance brand] over the course of its initial six episode season.
  4. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Throughout, Rectify maintains a remarkable rhythm--somewhere between reverie and anxiety. It takes its time, exploring characters' faces and gestures, their personal tics and their relationships--a glimpse into their souls.
  5. 80
    It’s not rushing us to the next plot point. It’s content to be present. It breathes.
  6. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 3, 2013
    75
    [Rectify] feels damply airless--the tension might be ripped open at any moment by a thunderclap of revelation.... It's a disturbing, impressive performance [from Aden Young as Daniel]. [13 May 2013, p.49]
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 22, 2013
    40
    For about an episode and a quarter, it’s very good television. But over the rest of its six-episode first season it resembles nothing so much as a bad indie film, the kind of slow and tepid bummer that used to fill Sundance’s late nights and afternoons when it was a full-time movie channel.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Just finished all 6 episodes from iTunes. Mind blowing. You can hardly summarize a main plot yet this show goes rather deep in humanity,Just finished all 6 episodes from iTunes. Mind blowing. You can hardly summarize a main plot yet this show goes rather deep in humanity, self-awareness and religion. Especially in episode 5, one might find it mystifying but the emotional expression was so strong that my heart beat as if I was Holden. Everything is dealt carefully in sync with Holden's cognition. Great writing, great shooting and excellent acting. I believe they slow down the pace on purpose. Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This is a mesmerizing and engrossing story that captured me right from the first episode. It raises all kinds of questions and thoughts aboutThis is a mesmerizing and engrossing story that captured me right from the first episode. It raises all kinds of questions and thoughts about someone missing 20 years on the outside. Very thought provoking; we need more of this kind of programming. Have seen 3 can't wait for the next 3. Bravo to the writers, producers, directors and fine cast. Collapse
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    A beatiful picture of a man who doens't belong anymore to this world. Photography as its finest, fine cast, plot well written and a (kinda)A beatiful picture of a man who doens't belong anymore to this world. Photography as its finest, fine cast, plot well written and a (kinda) slow pace that just fit perfectly for this show. Can't wait for season two Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Storytelling at its finest. Rectify plays like a great book more than a modern TV show. It will leave you wanting more after each episode.Storytelling at its finest. Rectify plays like a great book more than a modern TV show. It will leave you wanting more after each episode. With no true villain or hero, this show is one big moral dilemma and a search for truth. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    The first 4 episodes had me mesmerized. It's deep, thought provoking, intelligent and brilliant. It deliberately goes away from where mostThe first 4 episodes had me mesmerized. It's deep, thought provoking, intelligent and brilliant. It deliberately goes away from where most other American series would go. So far it's not about "who did it?" but "what prison can do to you if you're already different." It reminds me of "Rip Van Winkle" and "The Idiot" and "Temple Grandin" all wrapped together in a cornucopia of taut little scenes that all give up profound perceptions. Yet it manages to keep it's feet on the ground by having none of the characters one dimensional (except so far the Senator) and it keeps many of them uneasy to read, so that curiosity builds to see which way things will play out. And it's American!! Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    The first episode is one of the best I have ever seen in mainstream TV..Truly a 10/10 episode which warrants a high score for the seriesThe first episode is one of the best I have ever seen in mainstream TV..Truly a 10/10 episode which warrants a high score for the series regardless of what comes after.. Its tremendously shot, produced, and directed. Extremely well cast...Some of it went off base a tad but I will be glued to this to the end.. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Guess I must be missing something based on the 9s and 10s showing up here. Me? I guess I was a little worn down by "Forrest Gump LeavesGuess I must be missing something based on the 9s and 10s showing up here. Me? I guess I was a little worn down by "Forrest Gump Leaves Prison." It's not that I'm unsympathetic to a man returning to society after two decades of what we are told is quite likely wrongful incarceration, but it was 20 years, not 200. Aden Young isn't "dazed and confused" as much as "dumb and dumber." My goodness, he was imprisoned in the 1990s, not the 1890s. Things haven't changed that much. Heck, there were even large volume soft drinks back then, but the idea of a 32 oz. cup seems to have confounded him at one point.

    But let's get to the characters. Can we get more cliched? I don't think so. The vengeful D.A. cum "Foghorn Leghorn"-type state senator. The equally vengeful and "what's-he-hiding?" current sheriff. The Henry Fonda-esque former sheriff (I think) who is morally conflicted by the fact that science (DNA) says not guilty while most town leaders see the release as BS. Oh, then there's the randy waitress trysting with the state senator, the jealous step-brother, the sympathetic wife of the jealous step-brother (she, of course, is conflicted and finds the newly released "innocent" almost irresistibly sympathetic), the noble sister, the cold mother and, last but certainly not least, the yin/yang inmates conveniently available for contrasting flashbacks. One is a redneck who torments the lead character while the other is open to the idea of reading W. Sumerset Maugham's "Of Human Bondage." Puh-leeze. What a collection of cliches!!

    I'm waiting for the scene when the newly freed character stops to take in the true meaning of a summer's shower and spots a small bird ruffling its feathers in the rain. Ah, freedom!

    Ah, wake me when it's over.
    Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows

    Fall TV Preview: 30 Notable Shows Image
    Published: September 7, 2016
    Here are the 30 most noteworthy TV shows (both new and returning series) set to launch this fall.