• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 3, 2013
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 26, 2013
    50
    All told, there's enough here to stick around a little while, but this is one of those premises almost designed to strain plausibility over time.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 27, 2013
    40
    Bland and toothless, this drama, about a woman who ends up working in organized crime, attempts to meld suburban mommy drama with a mob story but fails to come up with anything that’s remotely interesting to watch.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 1, 2013
    40
    [Red Widow] threatens to box its characters into a dead-end world from which viewers see no escape.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 27, 2013
    42
    Marta as Mob Mom is not fully believable or recognizable or (for that matter) relatable on any level. Without empathy, this "red widow" is just plain dull.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 1, 2013
    40
    If Red Widow were more psychologically twisty or more excessive and over-the-top, it could be more engaging. As it is, the show is ludicrous and not much fun.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    The odds are better that viewers will see Red Widow as a formula series trying desperately not to be a formula series. In the process, it's not very exciting. Or compelling.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 27, 2013
    58
    Red Widow isn't as compelling as Last Resort was in its early episodes. But it's appreciably better than those other two. Still, consumer confidence in Red Widow's staying power should be rightfully suspect at best. And in Sunday's second half, the premise already shows some signs of unraveling on the road to potential ridiculosity.
  8. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 4, 2013
    42
    Red Widow might leave you feeling blue over the waste of time and talent.
  9. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    [A] very silly mid-season drama.
  10. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    ABC's high-aspiring but poorly executed Red Widow.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 1, 2013
    40
    Red Widow has an interesting cast, over all, for a midseason replacement series. Unfortunately, the best performance in the premiere is given by Anson Mount as her husband. Enjoy it while you can.
  12. 50
    Adapted from a Dutch series that was surely better than this, Red Widow is trite and tedious.
  13. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    After two hours of Red Widow, I can tell it’s more watered down than it should be, but not if it’s watered down to the point of uselessness. If it can get at, to any extent, the way being a lawbreaking, badass, antiheroine might be fundamentally, complicatedly different from being a lawbreaking, badass, antihero I’ll keep watching.
  14. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    Executive producer Melissa Rosenberg has crafted an off-putting start to a series that may have worked better in the Netherlands.
  15. 50
    Yet, for all its exciting twists, Red Widow recycles too many gangster-movie cliches.
  16. 60
    Visnjic's smooth and mysterious turn in just a handful of scenes instantly emerges as the best thing Red Widow has going for it. That's either the sign of a series with fundamental flaws, or the roots of a show that will only get better as it goes.
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn inThis is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn in anyway. Compared to a lot of what networks are throwing out there these days, I really think Red Widow is a winner, and wish people would give it more of a chance. Most of the negative critical reviews had to do with the opener, which tried to do a lot and set up a lot with mixed results, but the show has been steadily getting better with each episode. We need more shows like this. Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's.I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's. I can't stand all the superficial reality tv that has become the popular genre. I like watching actors do just that act. Praying ABC gives it a chance. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2015
    8
    This is a great series. This is the "Breaking Bad' before CBS ever wanted to create something from this 'crime' genre. Lee Tergesen, GoranThis is a great series. This is the "Breaking Bad' before CBS ever wanted to create something from this 'crime' genre. Lee Tergesen, Goran Visnjic and Jaime Ray Newman are maybe the perfect actors for this kind of tension. I'm not gonna go through spoilers here but I am giving it a downgraded rating only because it is based on another crime drama, a Dutch one. I have one more complaint, because I believe that they could have executed it better. That's all Full Review »