• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 3, 2013
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Mar 1, 2013
    67
    The thriller elements are mostly nonstarters, but the show does offer some genuine pleasures, thanks to the overqualified cast. [8 Mar 2013, p.73]
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    80
    It’s entertaining and engrossing.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 1, 2013
    63
    Only Visnjic, immaculately groomed and vaguely continental, seems to understand that this over-the-top story requires not only a constant flame to boil the plot but a flirtatious sense of fun. [11 Mar 2013, p.45]
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 1, 2013
    70
    In the light of Monday morning, a lot of what goes on in Red Widow is probably going to seem pretty silly. But shows like this are all about the chemistry, and the chemistry between Mitchell and Visnjic is everything you'd want in an essentially unequal relationship between a recent widow and the megalomaniacal drug dealer who can end her life at any moment.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 4, 2013
    70
    Mitchell’s coolly understated performance makes it all slightly more believable and worth a few episodes to see where it leads.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn inThis is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn in anyway. Compared to a lot of what networks are throwing out there these days, I really think Red Widow is a winner, and wish people would give it more of a chance. Most of the negative critical reviews had to do with the opener, which tried to do a lot and set up a lot with mixed results, but the show has been steadily getting better with each episode. We need more shows like this. Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's.I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's. I can't stand all the superficial reality tv that has become the popular genre. I like watching actors do just that act. Praying ABC gives it a chance. Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    While Breaking Bad excelled at portraying the precarious balancing act between the Criminal and Domestic life for it's protagonist, Red WidowWhile Breaking Bad excelled at portraying the precarious balancing act between the Criminal and Domestic life for it's protagonist, Red Widow fails spectacularly. With a dreadful delivery of a potentially rewarding plot, Marta continually bemoans her situation and lack of a viable means of escape while ignoring every potential way out offered to her by those who would gladly help remove her from her predicament. The only saving grace of Red Widow is the standout performances of Visnjic, Goss, Newman and Šerbedžija, who bring an air of depth to the otherwise bland and uninteresting collection of characters. Full Review »