• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Revolution Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In a post-apocalyptic America, where all technology had ceased to work 15 years ago, people are living under the control of militias and warlords. Charlotte "Charlie" Matheson (Tracy Spiridakos) seeks out her uncle (Billy Burke) and kidnapped brother along with answers to how everything changed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 17, 2012
    83
    The pilot, directed by co--executive producer Jon Favreau ("Iron Man"), poses numerous questions, and to the credit of everyone involved, delivers some surprising payoffs that other shows would hold for weeks, if not seasons.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    80
    The mind reels with possibility, and even hope, which is why we keep coming back to stories like these.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Ambitious setups like this don't always hold up, but Revolution has the potential to be a more disciplined "Lost"--not necessarily more plausible but with any luck less preposterous and pretentious.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    The clash between the callow and the compelling set off an ongoing debate between the hopeful part of my brain, which wants to like a sci-fi-ish show dreamed up by executive producers J.J. Abrams and Eric Kripke, and the scarred part of my brain, which has been burned dozens of times by genre-flavoroed shows that had interesting elements or cast members but also disappointing executions and annoying younger characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    A cool premise can only take a show so far, and there's some work to do on the character front to make the show worthy of using all available technology not to miss.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    There are worse ideas. And far worse shows this fall.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 18, 2012
    40
    On the bright side, no one is in danger of having to watch this inert action show.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 126
  2. Negative: 61 out of 126
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Acting needs to improve but there's too much talent working on this show for it not to be good. I'm predicting it'll become a solid show byActing needs to improve but there's too much talent working on this show for it not to be good. I'm predicting it'll become a solid show by episode five. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    I honestly, really don't know what to do with this show. They keep hitting us with plot twists and MIND-BLOWING storylines that make you yellI honestly, really don't know what to do with this show. They keep hitting us with plot twists and MIND-BLOWING storylines that make you yell out "Oh My God that did not just happen" at each ending of a weekly episode. It's storyline is rich, it's pinch of sense of humor is a charm, and I believe the acting could be better by Elizabeth, Tracy, Zak. Well because you never get through a scene without seeing Elizabeth crying. You never get through a scene where Zak doesn't have that "what on earth is going on?" look. And Tracy is just so ambitious which is one day going to make her fans hate her, however I really praise Billy Burke. Hands down, best NEW show of the season. Expand
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    This show has potential but is held back by bad planning and story line faux-pas. The characters are believable, and the situation one thatThis show has potential but is held back by bad planning and story line faux-pas. The characters are believable, and the situation one that makes for a good show. However the removal of characters after making them seem to be part of the main story, along with the fact that they seem to be getting nowhere as far as the main plot is concerned kind of turns me off.

    Giving it a 7 so far, and hoping it gets better.
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty bad. Characters keep commenting on how well Charlie does in off-screen fights, but all of her action sequences involve her being helpless and someone saving her. All of the characters are unrealistic and are hard to form a connection with except for Aaron; the one believable character who isn't even needed to advance the plot. Monroe obsession with Miles is almost homo erotic. Jason character could be good if he would man up and take out his dad. All main ncharacter motivations are extremely farfetched. Supporting/cameo characters actually have meaningful and believable actions/responses. And ENOUGH with the flashbacks. Just do a prequel season or something. The premise of the show was so good, but got bogged down with love stories and meaningless flashbacks that are made to make the viewer care about the characters, but utterly fail. Focusing less on saving the world and more on day to day survival would make this much more watchable. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2013
    3
    The first episode was predictable and slow, It didn't grab you by the throat, but it was a good idea, maybe for a different time, good tryThe first episode was predictable and slow, It didn't grab you by the throat, but it was a good idea, maybe for a different time, good try NBC. As for entertainment goes, it was not there. Just something, about it, made it dull. I see here it's not worth watching more. Expand
  6. May 8, 2013
    2
    Stunningly bad, considering Eric Kripke is at the helm. I don't have the words to describe how poorly written Revolution is. And the acting?Stunningly bad, considering Eric Kripke is at the helm. I don't have the words to describe how poorly written Revolution is. And the acting? Burke and Esposito are doing what they can with terrible material, but Spiridakos is like a robot an annoying little pouting robot. I gave it most of a season before weighing in, to see if it found itself along the way. But it is as bad as ever sixteen episodes in. What a shame. I really wanted to like this show. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    This show can be technically good but sometimes that's not enough, all the things happen again and again and (i think) that's cliche.EvenThis show can be technically good but sometimes that's not enough, all the things happen again and again and (i think) that's cliche.Even Giancarlo Esposito couldn't save it. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC) Image
    Published: October 9, 2012
    Throughout the next month, we'll be taking a second look at select new fall television shows to see how critics' opinions are evolving. We start today with a re-evaluation of NBC's hit "Revolution."
  2. 2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide

    2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide Image
    Published: August 28, 2012
    Our massive preview has details on the most promising new shows and your favorite returning series arriving during the coming months, from "Last Resort" and "Revolution" to "American Horror Story" and "The Walking Dead." You'll also find schedules for each night of the week, and a look at what the networks have planned for midseason.