Rick & Morty : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Dec 2, 2013
    90
    A blistering, demented animated series.
  5. 80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  6. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 65
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 65
  3. Negative: 3 out of 65
  1. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    maybe a 10 is a bit much but i loved this show. i love a lot of the content that adult swim makes and this was no exception, it was clever andmaybe a 10 is a bit much but i loved this show. i love a lot of the content that adult swim makes and this was no exception, it was clever and hilarious with a lot of witty humour and filled with originality. Full Review »
  3. May 18, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes raunchy, but they're always funny. Whatever your expectations on where an episode will go are, they'll always be wrong. Nothing plays out quite like what you'd think, and every episode keeps you guessing.

    The characters are the strongest part of the show, the slow awkward grandson Morty is lovable, grandpa Rick is an alcoholic uncaring genius (who is still lovable), and the rest of the family all interact wonderfully.

    All the plots that the show create come together in the end somehow, and all matter. There are no meaningless threads.

    Although the show normally has a lighthearted feel, some episodes do get darker and deeper than you'd think. I'll avoid spoilers, but especially the Episode "Rick Potion #9" (also my favorite episode so far). This is not at all a bad thing though, quite the opposite.

    If you're tired of shows that re-use the same jokes or feel the same every episode, then try out Rick and Morty. You won't... *buuurp* r-regret it Morty! You... you won't! Okay, Morty?
    Full Review »