Sarah Silverman: We Are Miracles

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 23, 2013
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    There is plenty of irony in Silverman's presentations, but her title is sincere.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    It hardly needs saying that Ms. Silverman’s material is not for everybody.... But she isn’t spewing things out randomly, hoping to get by on shock value. The execution is fairly intricate.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Ryan
    Nov 21, 2013
    75
    Silverman has never been sharper or seemingly more confident as a comedian and performer, and the laughs are there--just not quite as many as might be expected.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Nov 21, 2013
    75
    Few comics could get away with such an irreverent act, but Silverman pulls it off with her disconnected style that blends vulgarity and vulnerability.
  5. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Nov 21, 2013
    75
    While both these specials boast a fair number of yuks, we won’t repeat any lines.... We don’t have a durable enough dash key on our computer to start regurgitating Silverman's set.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Nov 22, 2013
    70
    A brisk and pleasingly outrageous hour-long set taped before a crowd of 39 people in a very small Los Angeles venue, she shows off her ability to segue from naif to sharp-tongued devil in a split-second.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 22, 2013
    70
    Silverman performs her proudly raunchy set before an intimate 39-seat audience, which is only fitting for someone who is so defiantly in-your-face.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. Nov 28, 2013
    2
    I keep hearing that you either love or hate her comedy.

    Well... for me she does neither. I don't get outraged at her adolescent vulgarity,
    I keep hearing that you either love or hate her comedy.

    Well... for me she does neither. I don't get outraged at her adolescent vulgarity, nor do I find it funny. I'm completely unimpressed at her attempts at cleverness. I watched We Are Miracles last night. Maybe I smiled once or twice and that's about it.

    It left me a little bored, uninterested and without anything to reflect on. Like plain white bread with nothing on it. Tasteless, fills you up while you eat it, no nutritious value what so ever.

    Too bad. I really wanted to like it. I like her when she's not scripted, but that show... just nahhh...
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    4
    Immature, rude, crude, and a little vulgar is how I would describe Sarah Silverman's "We Are Miracles". This wasn't my issue with this HBOImmature, rude, crude, and a little vulgar is how I would describe Sarah Silverman's "We Are Miracles". This wasn't my issue with this HBO comedy special. I'm someone who can respect vulgar humor. My problem with it is that Silverman never manages to turn all of that vulgarity into anything funny. It's like that as she rambles on about random crap that it never occurs to her that she should turn what she is saying into jokes. I also feel like Silverman tries way too hard to be shockingly offensive, instead coming across as just plain irritating. I couldn't find anything to laugh at here and was just all around bored. My personal recommendation is that this just isn't worth watching. Still, I have to give her credit for at least being original. Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2013
    2
    A extremely stiff delivery and same old stuff, dead babies, Jews killed Jesus her self adulation of her own breasts. I'm surprised theyA extremely stiff delivery and same old stuff, dead babies, Jews killed Jesus her self adulation of her own breasts. I'm surprised they could find 39 people that brain dead to find her funny...but hey it is LA. Full Review »