• Network: NBC , CTV
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 7, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 7, 2012
    42
    [Smallville's Erica Durance, Stargate SG-1's Michael Shanks and The Vampire Diaries' Daniel Gillies] should be a winning cast, but the writing and plodding execution are worthy of a quick DNR order.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 6, 2012
    63
    This "Ghost"-meets-"A Gifted Man"-meets-"Grey's Anatomy" has some fun, clever and emotion-stirring moments, but they're handicapped by cheesy montages and one too many scenarios designed to remind us of the importance of having hope.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Brunner
    Jun 4, 2012
    58
    Grey's Anatomy meets Ghost in this soppy supernatural hospital drama.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 6, 2012
    50
    It's not bad so much as tired: sexual tension between doctors, mysterious ailments that are diagnosed at the last possible second, even the hoary old cliché about the patient who needs life-saving surgery that their religious beliefs forbid.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    Unlike "Awake," however, Saving Hope does not have Jason Isaacs, a nifty crisscrossing police procedural at its heart, or anything interesting to say about the various forms of reality.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    While everyone here executes their roles well, Saving Hope never feels very gripping.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 1, 2012
    83
    A sober, intelligent, placidly paced drama as only the Canadians can make.
  8. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    NBC's Saving Hope, another of those Canadian imports with which frugal networks pad out their summer schedules, plays like a very special episode of Grey's.
  9. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    The emotional elements are a little overbaked, the spiritual aspects decidedly undercooked. But as short-term entertainment, this could fit the bill quite nicely.
  10. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 6, 2012
    40
    As far as medical stories go, there's not much in Saving Hope viewers haven't seen before (and better) elsewhere, including on "Grey's Anatomy."
  11. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 6, 2012
    25
    The sloppy sentimentality is cheap and unearned, greasy camera lenses notwithstanding.
  12. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    50
    Saving Hope is pretty easy to watch, despite its abundant potential for eye-rolling.
  13. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 6, 2012
    50
    The medical scenes are competent but forgettable, while the scenes of Charlie's peregrinations are sometimes interesting and funny but surprisingly infrequent.
  14. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    In other words, another uneasy mix of the spiritual and the medical.
  15. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 7, 2012
    67
    Its characters are comparatively compelling even when they're falling a little short.
  16. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Jun 6, 2012
    50
    Aside from what's happening with Charlie, the rest of Hope plays like a stock hospital-set soap.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Jul 7, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. "Saving Hope" only just became interesting in the character aspect with the ortho surgeon( the dude from Vampire Diaries) denying his lover a part on the hand reattachment surgery. Other than that? The character development kind of sucks with the majority of the characters seem to date.

    I wish to see more of the OCD neuro guy and his partner as I find the neuro guy such an interesting character I mean it's rare to see a show where one of the main characters or supporting characters just know who they are and are not afraid to say hey look. I just don't do that. The leading lady is a terrible actor and it seems like she has no idea what she is doing. And with five weeks since Charlie entered his coma... I don't think she will have the skills to pull off the torment that she will need to be feeling with wanting to be by Charlie's side and wanting to live. Michael Shanks, well I love him as an actor but I don't feel that he is being challenged in this series. It's like he stands around with his hands in his pockets waiting for something to happen. Come on writers! Give him something anything to do! Just please do not do the cliche thing of one episode of Charlie where he thinks he wakes up and blah blah blah. That would just be silly. I'm sad to say it, but "Saving Hope" has very little going for it other than there is nothing else to watch in that time slot.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    I like this show, its incredibly interesting. I want Charlie to wake up and I think the cast is excellent. It deserves another season ofI like this show, its incredibly interesting. I want Charlie to wake up and I think the cast is excellent. It deserves another season of wonderment. It made me feel someone - most tv doesnt. Full Review »
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    2
    Charlie