• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 2, 2013
    33
    Sean Saves The World is almost completely devoid of laughs.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 2, 2013
    33
    The strange alt-reality of Sean Saves the World, where a hundred bits of TV past--floating aimlessly in our memories--have coalesced into a cultural artifact that feels as antediluvian as a Walkman.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    The good news is that Hayes has been given a serviceable supporting ensemble.... The bad news is that Hayes isn't so much gay as he is neutered. And Sean Saves the World has the archaic look and feel of an '80s show.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 3, 2013
    30
    This isn't so much a comeback as a case of go away and try again.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 2, 2013
    30
    The show is so manic, particularly Mr. Hayes’ performance, that it’s clearly trying too hard--and painfully obvious set-up dialogue.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 30, 2013
    30
    There’s simply precious little here worth seeing.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    20
    The rhythms, the "jokes" and the pace are all stiff and overwrought, and priority seems to be giving Sean Hayes a huge number of opportunities to mug for the camera.
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Basically, no cast has ever meshed less successfully than this one.... The situation set up for the comedy is all over the map and indecipherable, never more so than at work. The home-life scenes just have "Fake Sitcom" spray-painted all over them.
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Great Show, very funny, love the cast and especially Elle
    Must see I can't wait till next week. Sean is such a great actor,
    Linda is a very
    Great Show, very funny, love the cast and especially Elle
    Must see I can't wait till next week. Sean is such a great actor,
    Linda is a very special part of this show. All the cast has such great timing
    My favorite new show of the season
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    Week One was a little less than I was hoping for, however
    Week Two was vastly improved.
    Hang in there and continue to improve--this will be
    Week One was a little less than I was hoping for, however
    Week Two was vastly improved.
    Hang in there and continue to improve--this will be excellent for Sean and his many fans.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    1
    I've always felt that Sean Hayes was a talented actor and an apparently pleasant person. Despite this show, I suspect that he may still be.I've always felt that Sean Hayes was a talented actor and an apparently pleasant person. Despite this show, I suspect that he may still be. What little positive I can see in this show would be greatly helped by Mr. Hayes toning down his mugging (i.e. acting). I didn't check the "spoilers" box since there is little I could say to spoil this show. Full Review »