User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 119
  2. Negative: 40 out of 119

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StephenD.
    Oct 10, 2009
    8
    I thought the show was super funny and the girls super hot. The 2 main characters cracked me up and the psycho girlfriend mandy is awesome!! Can't wait for the next episode.
  2. johnL
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    the format of the show pulls you into the show. it makes me feel like im there. the humor is with the "now'. this is the kind of humor that people like now. me and my 5 brothers and sisters watch this show together we all love it.(yes, even my sisters). we all wanna know whether where gonna see a season 2.
  3. NoraR
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    So far I've only seen dudes comment on this show, and the stats pretty clearly say that almost everyone hates it and a few people LOVE it. I've actually never seen this site before. I looked for reviews of secret girlfriend, just to find out if I was the only one suffering. I'm glad to see it's not just me. Because if there was enough people out there watching to So far I've only seen dudes comment on this show, and the stats pretty clearly say that almost everyone hates it and a few people LOVE it. I've actually never seen this site before. I looked for reviews of secret girlfriend, just to find out if I was the only one suffering. I'm glad to see it's not just me. Because if there was enough people out there watching to justify this show's continued existance I would have taken a f...ing gun to my head and pulled the trigger. I don't know if I can forgive CCentral for doing this to me. It will take time, and healing, before I rely on them for anything other than South Park. (BTW- Did you know the producer of secret girlfriend is a woman? It's a kicker, ain't it. I sent her an email begging to appeal to her better nature, but it hasn't worked.) Expand
  4. BritneyW
    Oct 21, 2009
    0
    Why does comedy central forget completely disregard the female audience. I love comedy central but just because of this hideous show i may never be able to forgive them. What the hell were they thinking? This is not a mans world women like south park too. And i watch the daily show religiously. How dare they.
  5. TalaberE.
    Oct 7, 2009
    1
    Dude!! Horrible, just horrible! Comedy Central have nothing better to put on? SAD.
  6. MattR.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Great one liners!! Love the idea of seeing things through the eyes of the friend who always gets the girls.
  7. DanaC
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    I thought that Secret Girlfriend was hilarious and I am a chick. I love the humor, I think its hilarious cause believe it or not this shit DOES happen and my husbands friend are just like this and its hilarious to see it on television...I love the hot chicks too ;)
  8. JeffreyT
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    I don't know about you guys, but i thought Secret Girlfriend was a great show with great humor. The show made me laugh and the "chemistry" you have with Jessica is believable. Obviously not everyone likes this kind of humor but come on, just let go of all your thoughts and watch this show. Secret Girlfriend is a simple fresh concept of a show. I personally like the first person I don't know about you guys, but i thought Secret Girlfriend was a great show with great humor. The show made me laugh and the "chemistry" you have with Jessica is believable. Obviously not everyone likes this kind of humor but come on, just let go of all your thoughts and watch this show. Secret Girlfriend is a simple fresh concept of a show. I personally like the first person perspective also, i don't know why people dislike it so much. I think all the haters out there think they are either too "mature" or "educated". Secret Girlfriend is an awesome entertaining show! Expand
  9. JackO.
    Oct 10, 2009
    0
    Weird porn with no center. attempt at laid back buddy jokes falls flat.
  10. EvanW.
    Oct 12, 2009
    1
    Sexist, unrealistic, piece of crap. I would never have friends like those morons.
  11. JustinB
    Oct 14, 2009
    0
    One of the worst shows on Comedy Central since Mind of Mencia.
  12. johnl
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Refreshing, with lots of potential.
  13. AlanG
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    You people do not understand the simple humor in this show. It does not strive to be anything other than what it is, the television equivalent to a drunken night at McDonalds. If the show is meant for you, you'd think it was funny. And if you don't like it, you're obviously not the intended audience. Go home and shut your mouths. Especially Dustin C. who has the unfortunate You people do not understand the simple humor in this show. It does not strive to be anything other than what it is, the television equivalent to a drunken night at McDonalds. If the show is meant for you, you'd think it was funny. And if you don't like it, you're obviously not the intended audience. Go home and shut your mouths. Especially Dustin C. who has the unfortunate pleasure of being the first thing I see on my browser right now. Going so far as to say that "every '10' you see here is from a Comedy Central lackey." As if that were a bad thing. Hey Dustin and all of your fellow S.G. disapprovers, I've noticed that most if not all of you who dislike secret girlfriend are simply frustrated with your own inadequacies and repressed homosexuality that you strive to slander a perfectly good show. But ultimately and simply, if you're not in college and are over the age of 30, this show is for MY generation and not YOURS. Gtf out of dodge you ornery senior citizens and repressed alcoholics. And yes, I am talking about you. You know I'm right. Expand
  14. MotafajirJ.
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    The format doesn't allow for any development!! it gets repetitive after 10 minutes.. terrible.
  15. LeonardR
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Next to Lost, South Park, Wipe Out and anything on the Military Channel, this is the best show on television. Funny, tons of hot chicks, straight guy humor - everything a growing boy needs.
  16. JamesS
    Oct 25, 2009
    7
    The first person view adds an unique perspective to things and the show has a lot of potential.
  17. NateO
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I haven't seen a show that made me want to be in it any more than this one did, anyone can relate to this and many guys still mentally live in this world. The overall idea of the story is cool and unique, many people aren't used to this kind of change and that's why they don't enjoy it. While it is true that you have to have a 20-something's sense of humor, there I haven't seen a show that made me want to be in it any more than this one did, anyone can relate to this and many guys still mentally live in this world. The overall idea of the story is cool and unique, many people aren't used to this kind of change and that's why they don't enjoy it. While it is true that you have to have a 20-something's sense of humor, there is no reason to write it off as filth when there's plenty worse shows getting great reviews for being "witty." The humor is gross, true, but if you can lighten up a bit and allow yourself to laugh at the obscenity, then you might find you actually like this show. Expand
  18. MikeF.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Hot chicks, and funny story. If you're watching South Park this is a great follow up show. Oh an boobs n ass everywhere.
  19. RichieW.
    Oct 8, 2009
    0
    Horrible worst show i ever saw, i tried watching it, I really did i got through about 15 minutes without realizing that the directors could not develop both a plot or a main character. The humor was completely missing, I honestly was contemplating committing suicide. The girls in the show were ridiculously attractive but they would never and i repeat never even look at these guys so Horrible worst show i ever saw, i tried watching it, I really did i got through about 15 minutes without realizing that the directors could not develop both a plot or a main character. The humor was completely missing, I honestly was contemplating committing suicide. The girls in the show were ridiculously attractive but they would never and i repeat never even look at these guys so unrealistic, and oh your "Girlfriend" i did not believe that there was any way that a comedy show could not perform crazy to the funniest potential but this show was just like this is what crazy people are like and it wasn't realistic. Comedy Central should be ashamed to put this on their channel. To be honest I believe it was meant to be a pg porno, oh but you know what is very easy to find a real fucking porno. Expand
  20. BrianM.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    I haven't laughed this hard at a show since Arrested Development.
  21. DavidQ.
    Oct 8, 2009
    1
    I believe the way the viewer is put into the shoes of the protagonist is what limits the capacity for all viewers to relate. It's not engaging enough for the audience, in a way its almost creepy. If the story was told in a more generic point of view I think the jokes could be funnier and more relevant to what we want to see. Hot girls doing awesome things. And it isn't even I believe the way the viewer is put into the shoes of the protagonist is what limits the capacity for all viewers to relate. It's not engaging enough for the audience, in a way its almost creepy. If the story was told in a more generic point of view I think the jokes could be funnier and more relevant to what we want to see. Hot girls doing awesome things. And it isn't even original the format they are playing with. The acting is mediocre, borderline horrible with some of the actors. Expand
  22. EliotF
    Oct 11, 2009
    2
    I guess the target audience would be guys who are desperately starved for conversation and female attention? It's not so much a comedy as this porny vicarious life sort of thing. There are a few funny jokes I guess, but the humor gets completely overshadowed by how creepy the format is.
  23. ChrisS
    Nov 14, 2009
    0
    This show is completely unwatchable. I would tune it for a few seconds here or there and immediately become repelled by the cheap "girls gone wild" idiot mentality that was getting spewed all over my clothes. The first person character idea has not been done in awhile because it is just a rounded-out bad concept that doesn't work. The acting is consistently phony and reeks of sewage
  24. KeithW
    Nov 15, 2009
    8
    It's not the best show out there, but the premise and unique camera work gives it a really original feel. I hope it has a second longer season.
  25. WilliamW.
    Oct 10, 2009
    1
    Horrible show. I found it incredibly hard to actually picture myself as the main character. Also, women seemed to just fall from the sky for these losers, which was also unbelievable. ... and when "I" was having sex, it was just awkward.
  26. JayT
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    This show is probably a love/hate kind of thing and personally I love it. I greatly enjoy the first person experience, the comedic value your two in show friends provide, and the plethora of beautiful women doesn't hurt at all.
  27. Michaelcf
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    looks like you either love this show or hate it. obviously, given my score, I love it (as does my wife believe it or not). The humor is current and can be quite clever and the characters are very entertaining, it never has a chance to get old as each episode is separated into 10 minute segments. I also have to mention the woman.. they're all gorgeous.. wow! Most of the complaints looks like you either love this show or hate it. obviously, given my score, I love it (as does my wife believe it or not). The humor is current and can be quite clever and the characters are very entertaining, it never has a chance to get old as each episode is separated into 10 minute segments. I also have to mention the woman.. they're all gorgeous.. wow! Most of the complaints from people here about secret girlfriend are reasons I like the show. Those people would have you believe that only a complete moron would enjoy it, but I like my fair share of sophisticated humor too.. I enjoy the full spectrum of comedy. the show reminds me of the good old care free days I spent goofing off with my friends and chasing girls around. if I were to compare the humor here to a more mainstream sitcom it would be "That 70's show" with a dash of virtual soft core porn. and there's nothing wrong with that. :] cheers mcf (my actual score would be an 8 but i gave it a 10 to help balance out all the zeros given out by all those zeros) Expand
  28. ChrisF
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I dont think the people giving the show "0" know that they are talking about. The comments from those ratings show it pretty well. Obviously some poeple haven't seen enough of the show to get to know it. However, I have watched all the episodes that have come out, and I have to say that this is one of the best shows that I have seen to come out on Comedy Central for a long time. The I dont think the people giving the show "0" know that they are talking about. The comments from those ratings show it pretty well. Obviously some poeple haven't seen enough of the show to get to know it. However, I have watched all the episodes that have come out, and I have to say that this is one of the best shows that I have seen to come out on Comedy Central for a long time. The very first 5 seconds I say of this show made me laugh, and I have looked forward to every episode since. Expand
  29. GrantS
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    Wow, people are so uptight. Look -- the characters on this show aren't supposed to be realistic. It's a comedy! The two main best friend characters are supposed to be over-the-top douchebags. The ex-gf character is over-the-top crazy. And once you understand this you can appreciate how funny it is. I think people are way to hard on this show. Yes there's alot of skin, but Wow, people are so uptight. Look -- the characters on this show aren't supposed to be realistic. It's a comedy! The two main best friend characters are supposed to be over-the-top douchebags. The ex-gf character is over-the-top crazy. And once you understand this you can appreciate how funny it is. I think people are way to hard on this show. Yes there's alot of skin, but the jokes and premises are actually very funny. None of the characters and situations are any more farfetched than you would see in a typical episode of Seinfeld or It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia. The pilot doesn't do this show justice. Watch the first four episodes and I'm sure you'll agree it's very entertaining. People automatically slam anything new and different, it can be very polarizing. This show isn't really a tradition sitcom, as it's all shot in first-person and you are the (mute) main character. It has great potential. Give it a shot. Expand
  30. steeleW
    Oct 13, 2009
    0
    MY GOD! This is the worst garbage I have ever seen. The format does not work. I do not want to be one of the characters, especially a duder bro loser, which is what all of the male characters are. The humor..... there is none. Unless you think your drunk frat buddy is hilarious then you will think it is very funny. This is the equivalent of their humor "oh bro you cheated on cynthia? YEAH MY GOD! This is the worst garbage I have ever seen. The format does not work. I do not want to be one of the characters, especially a duder bro loser, which is what all of the male characters are. The humor..... there is none. Unless you think your drunk frat buddy is hilarious then you will think it is very funny. This is the equivalent of their humor "oh bro you cheated on cynthia? YEAH BRO, OHHH schwing" then a round of high fives. It feels like a juvenile version of entourage for 14 year olds. Guys go out and have generic "dude's night out" to the extreme. Extremely uninspired, unlikable characters, weak storylines, and capped off with terrible generic frat boy acting. Long story short; after South Park do yourself a favor and reach for your clicker. Comedy Central should pull the plug immediately, and send all of the actors back to sigma phi alpha where they belong. P.S. I have never written a review here, and I'm sure it shows. I just felt that this show is SOOOO unbelievably bad that the general public must be warned. Expand
  31. TheDood
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    Let me get this straight, we're supposed to believe you, the main character, are awesome, cool, funny, and irresistible to women, but you never say anything clever or charming. You never say anything at all. All the interactions between you and the perfect tens throwing themselves at you in every scene are completely implausible. Both of your best friends are fat loser douchebags Let me get this straight, we're supposed to believe you, the main character, are awesome, cool, funny, and irresistible to women, but you never say anything clever or charming. You never say anything at all. All the interactions between you and the perfect tens throwing themselves at you in every scene are completely implausible. Both of your best friends are fat loser douchebags supposedly in their early 20s who look like they're in their late 30s because they're so fat and scuzzy. Your loser friends are supposed to be funny lovable guys getting laughs by being dumb and doing dumb guy things but they aren't "funny" dumb, they're just "dumb" dumb. The women are all portrayed as hot, dumb, and crazy. It's like watching the sex filled daydreams of some fat schleppy turd who's still living in his mom's basement and has never been laid. The POV softcore porn persepctive is lame too. If I want to watch POV porn I'll turn off this stupid show and get on the internet and watch the real thing. This show is totally unfunny, unwatchable, and definitely ranks as one of the absolute worst tv show concepts in the history of television. Expand
  32. AdamS
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    Me and my friends love to watch this show. It's pretty stupid, but it's very very funny. I don't think it matters that characterizations between the 'you' character and the others is impossible. You get to use your imagination. Of COURSE 'your' luck with women is ridiculous, it's supposed to be over the top humor, and it is. it's like watching Me and my friends love to watch this show. It's pretty stupid, but it's very very funny. I don't think it matters that characterizations between the 'you' character and the others is impossible. You get to use your imagination. Of COURSE 'your' luck with women is ridiculous, it's supposed to be over the top humor, and it is. it's like watching half an hour of the funniest college humor videos with more budget a hot chicks. Expand
  33. JeremyW
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Secret Girlfriend is one of the best new shows this year. The characters are hilarious and the timing is absolutely perfect. I love a show with no shame at all. Too many shows are uptight and serious on tv nowadays. We need less reality tv show "Drama" and more "take-no-prisoner" shows like Secret Girlfriend.
  34. RobT
    Nov 8, 2009
    6
    The viral video concept is awful and has to be dropped. That being said, if you toke up before you watch it, it goes from a steaming pile of garbage into an awesome experience... Sober, I would rather be watching the Discovery Channel
  35. DavidN
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Freaking Funny show, perfect brand of stoner humor mixed with tons of smoking hot females
  36. MatthewS
    Oct 21, 2009
    0
    I could go on and on about the awful concept and the juvinille dialogue. I could write a social commentary as to why I think the pinheads at comedy central approved this show. But as for a review I need just three words. Piece. Of. Crap.
  37. JasonP
    Dec 1, 2009
    8
    I think the approach is unique and I like it. Certainly the humour, the characters experiences, are not something that everyone can relate to. But I think that there's an audience of 18-30 year old men who for an episode lives nostalgically through the character "you" or wishes that they had the oppurtunity. Worth watching.
  38. WillM
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    What's with drinkin all the Haterade, people? This show is funny and pretty inventive. These guys are supposed to look like dumbasses, and the first-person guy's ex is actually more creepy than funny. OK the guy whose view this is supposed to be from not ever talking is pretty weird but altogether I was pleasantly surprised with this show. I expected garbage but actually quite What's with drinkin all the Haterade, people? This show is funny and pretty inventive. These guys are supposed to look like dumbasses, and the first-person guy's ex is actually more creepy than funny. OK the guy whose view this is supposed to be from not ever talking is pretty weird but altogether I was pleasantly surprised with this show. I expected garbage but actually quite enjoy Secret Girlfriend. Expand
  39. anonymous
    Oct 20, 2009
    3
    I tried watching the pilot of this show, and I just couldn't get through it. Not funny, unnecessarily pervy (and technically implying that I as the viewer am unnecessarily pervy), and just generally a waste of time when there's so much good TV out there. And while the whole "the viewer is the main character" gimmick is interesting, I think it's a little hard to make I tried watching the pilot of this show, and I just couldn't get through it. Not funny, unnecessarily pervy (and technically implying that I as the viewer am unnecessarily pervy), and just generally a waste of time when there's so much good TV out there. And while the whole "the viewer is the main character" gimmick is interesting, I think it's a little hard to make something like that actually work out well. I mean, the main character can't even speak. That's a bit of a problem. Expand
  40. Heather
    Oct 22, 2009
    0
    This show is a total piece of crap! I could hardly make it thru the first second let alone 10 minutes. The guys are pigs who aren't even funny, who in the world would really act like that? I mean come on!!! It's nothing more than soft pron that should be taken off the air! I am sickend! What is our world coming to?
  41. AnonymousMC
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing show. Extremely funny, full of hot girls. Love it! Love the first person POV, everything about it. Great job! Keep this show on TV!
  42. BenM
    Oct 25, 2009
    9
    I do not get these reviews, this show is really funny! The First Person is unique (not terrible) and I don't think it's that weird that you are "silent". It's obviously targeting a male audience but I have a female friend who also finds it really funny. I've had a lot of laughs at "your" crazy ex-girlfriend Mandy. The actress plays the part really well (including I do not get these reviews, this show is really funny! The First Person is unique (not terrible) and I don't think it's that weird that you are "silent". It's obviously targeting a male audience but I have a female friend who also finds it really funny. I've had a lot of laughs at "your" crazy ex-girlfriend Mandy. The actress plays the part really well (including really convincing crazy eyes!). I do not understand these near violent user reviews, but I guess you either get it or you don't... Expand
  43. KolstiN
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    This show was flat out terrible. It is soft porn with filler and fart jokes. Comedy Central should be ashamed!!!
  44. JimBrooks
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    This is mindless pleasure. It's a lot of fun and Jessica is the coolest chick on television.
  45. BobR
    Oct 28, 2009
    4
    The only thing worth in this show is the hot chicks, other than that, it's a worthless plot with two stupid guys who have nothing else to do but act like womanizers.
  46. WF
    Oct 29, 2009
    0
    I am so glad that I read all of your reveiws. I thought that maybee I was turning into a fem nazi because this show pissed me off that much. But it really is that sexist.
  47. MichaelC.
    Oct 7, 2009
    0
    The first-person format just doesn't work for an entire episode. And it's not funny. At all.
  48. SeanF.
    Oct 7, 2009
    1
    Horrendous. Terribly unfunny. A weak excuse for very softcore porn. All of the characters are tremendously unlikable. Including "me". This is the first show that has ever caused me to hate myself, so congrats for that, I guess.
  49. RobD
    Oct 8, 2009
    1
    An interesting concept for maybe a porno.
  50. PatrickW
    Oct 9, 2009
    1
    Secret Girlfriend is like watching a half hour long Girls Gone Wild "COMERCIAL" (Very attractrive women, NO nudity) with the Occasional "FART JOKE" (Make you giggle slightly but you feel bad for doing it). In no way should anyone watch this show. Perhaps the budding Douchebags of America as that seems to be the type of character that the viewer is forced to portray. 1 out of 10.
  51. JohnS
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    Take this show for what it is... goofy and original. It's fair to call it soft-core porn without the sex scenes... but Secret Girlfriend doesn't try to be anything more than the original formula that got it picked up in the first place. I think its pretty funny ... and don't mind the hot girls, either. Anyone else who complains is too prude to get it, or to uppity to care. Take this show for what it is... goofy and original. It's fair to call it soft-core porn without the sex scenes... but Secret Girlfriend doesn't try to be anything more than the original formula that got it picked up in the first place. I think its pretty funny ... and don't mind the hot girls, either. Anyone else who complains is too prude to get it, or to uppity to care. Leave my SG alone! Expand
  52. JimN
    Nov 11, 2009
    0
    Holy shit this might be worse than Mind of Mencia....honestly did they even pilot this show? And now I just saw a preview for hte Jeff Dunham show...wow Comedy Central are you trying to get excluded from cable? But back to this show, what the hell were they thinking....who screened this and was like "yea people will love this"....what a joke, stick to southpark, reno, and the dialy show Holy shit this might be worse than Mind of Mencia....honestly did they even pilot this show? And now I just saw a preview for hte Jeff Dunham show...wow Comedy Central are you trying to get excluded from cable? But back to this show, what the hell were they thinking....who screened this and was like "yea people will love this"....what a joke, stick to southpark, reno, and the dialy show comedy central. I bet the idiots at the top turned down Always Sunny. What a joke, if this network ever loses Southpark they might go under Expand
  53. MontyT
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    I was very skeptical about this show before the season. It looked like just another pathetic attempt by comedy central to create a new show. But I was pleasantly surprised. Granted, this show is only entertaining to the right audience. All my friends love it and look forward to it every week. The humor is direct and sexual. A good, solid, dude show.
  54. HeathB
    Nov 11, 2009
    8
    "Worst show in history of television"? "Funding terrorism of the human soul"? "Comedy Central should be ashamed"? WOW. Tough crowd. I personally loved this show and hope it comes back for another season. It was funny, refreshing, and all around a good time. It's no Seinfeld to be sure but fun? **Definetly.** Hope to see more episodes soon!
  55. MikhailM
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    An excellent show. Sure, the format sucks. Sure, the acting is sub par, but the girls are hot and the jokes are great if you're into college humor.
  56. BradleyE
    Nov 12, 2009
    9
    I like this show. I enjoy the way that it works, you being the star of the show. I think that the story could use some tweeking but it's otherwise pretty awesome.
  57. StacyT
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    This show is hilarious! They say and do all the things most guys say and do. If you can watch it from a guys perspective you'll adore it. The one liners are scrumptious and the chicks are gorgeous! Any "dude" guy will love it.
  58. MattT
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    It looks like either you love secret Girlfriend, or you hate it. Personally, I love it. The ideas are all original, and the characters are rediculous (in a funny way, like all comedy characters should be). The greatest flaw I see in the show is that it should be aimed more toward women as much as men. Other than that, this is a wonderful show.
  59. EmoryH
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    Most uninspired excuse to objectify women I have ever seen. This is seriously, the worst show EVER made in the history of television. Whoever approved this show to be funded and aired should be shot in the back of the head. After 10 minutes of watching I could feel all decency in my soul being sucked out. If you watch this show, you are funding terrorism of the human soul.
  60. DustinC
    Oct 16, 2009
    0
    every "10" you see here is from a Comedy Central lackey. I've never voted a 0 on Metcritic before, but this show has truly earned it. Utter unfunniness packaged in a terrible first person, beta-male-as-cooler-than-cool package. Just. Awful.
  61. JoshV
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    your ass looks fat in those jeans...I'm gunna get you pregnant while you make me dinner... Best show ever, don't chirp it if your not within the target audience
  62. Kyle
    Oct 25, 2009
    4
    Most of the time, it really wasn't that funny. It gets 2 points because I'm not a woman and I'm not gay (the girls are attractive) and 2 points for being mildly entertaining. The fat guy kinda reminds me of Jonah Hill
  63. matts
    Oct 26, 2009
    0
    lolz, never voted/critiqued anything like this before, but when I found out that there was no way to get my 30 minutes back from comedy central, I had to complain to someone. This was the single least inspiring thing I've ever seen on television. ever.
  64. RyChe
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    This show is funny if you're a guy and under 30 plain and simple. If you're a guy under 30 and don't like the show you are either a, too serious about life or b, a douche! To anyone else who watched the show and felt the need to take time to rate and review it so low: you are CLEARLY not the target audience so why rate at all?!?!
  65. CoreyW.
    Oct 26, 2009
    1
    I've only seen one episode and I can't wait until this show is cancelled. The tall friend has something of a personality, but the fat friend is a Jonah Hill rip-off. End this show, NOW!!!!
  66. MattS
    Oct 28, 2009
    0
    You know that feeling when you become embarased via someone else's embarassment? The Germans have a word for it I believe. In any case, that is the feeling I get when watching the "characters" on this show. "Secret Girlfriend" is just awful. Someone at CS must have been blackmailed into making it. Just. Terrible.
  67. TyB
    Oct 29, 2009
    8
    Better than the same crap thats on the other channels. Interesting view point.
  68. EvanS
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    I actually enjoy the show. It's pretty obvious that a Comedy Central show doesn't care about character development. Its funny, has good looking women, and fits between South Park and The Daily Show nicely. Obviously geared toward a college age, male audience, the show delivers.
  69. marlas
    Nov 15, 2009
    0
    It's like less funny, less unique, less engaging, less modern-feeling "chew it over with twix" commercials stretched out into 11-minute helmet-cam shorts. For Comedy Central to be airing both this and Colbert/Daily Show/Michael and Michael Have Issues makes me feel, demographically speaking, like I'm being cheated on by Comedy Central with a D-cupped bulimic and we might need to It's like less funny, less unique, less engaging, less modern-feeling "chew it over with twix" commercials stretched out into 11-minute helmet-cam shorts. For Comedy Central to be airing both this and Colbert/Daily Show/Michael and Michael Have Issues makes me feel, demographically speaking, like I'm being cheated on by Comedy Central with a D-cupped bulimic and we might need to break up. Appropriate. Collapse
  70. TylerD
    Nov 22, 2009
    3
    I've seen worse shows, but this is still pretty bad. It was a cool idea in my opinion but they just couldn't pull it off. The humor only makes the audience "giggle" but never a crack up like in south park. The two male actors seem like they have some potential, but the show will most likely kill their career
  71. RonG
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    There are definitely people whom are taking the show too seriously. Yes, there is a lot of skin (what show starting out hasn't tried to mix in some skin somewhere...honestly). I think the show is actually less about "you" as much as it is about "your" friends and the experiences all of you have in your 20s. The scenarios are cartoon-like at times so you do have to try and use your There are definitely people whom are taking the show too seriously. Yes, there is a lot of skin (what show starting out hasn't tried to mix in some skin somewhere...honestly). I think the show is actually less about "you" as much as it is about "your" friends and the experiences all of you have in your 20s. The scenarios are cartoon-like at times so you do have to try and use your imagination a little which I think is part of the genius of the show. It's definitely quick hitting...i can see how it blossomed from the web. I HOPE they bring it back for a second season. It's nice changeup from the scripted comedies, straight cartoons, and stand-up. Expand
  72. DandaMan
    Dec 26, 2009
    2
    Hot girls, yes. Make and break the show at the same time. Shallow as hell, and makes us guys look like complete idiots.
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. 50
    Secret Girlfriend could add up to something worthwhile, with more of that kind of elliptical character revelation and fewer generic dirty-boy adventures. Ultimately, I want to know more about “you,’’ not them.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    75
    The humor is fast and often beer-related.
  3. Reviewed by: Josh Wolk
    25
    The acting is terrible, the crude dudespeak unfunny; perfect only for fans of everything in soft-core porn flicks but the sex scenes.