Seinfeld : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 5, 1989
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Feb 21, 2013
    100
    This is just the kind of amusingly off-center comedy now missing from NBC's lineup, one of those rare, delightful meshings of concept, cast and execution, with producer Tom Cherones providing inspired direction. Nothing is forced. [31 May 1990, p.F9]
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 21, 2013
    83
    The weakest aspect of Seinfeld is a wacky next-door neighbor played by Michael Richards. Richards is doing little more than an impersonation of Christopher Lloyd's Jim on Taxi, and he ought to cut it out.
  3. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Funny. The characters, even the hip comic star, become likable very quickly. Despite yourself, you'll be laughing before the first commercial. [31 May 1990, p.C11]
  4. Houston Chronicle
    Reviewed by: Ann Hodges
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    It works. It's different. It's fun, offbeat and charming. [31 May 1990, p.5]
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    One weak link is fellow stand-up comic Michael Richards as Seinfeld's wacky neighbor. He isn't wacky or neighborly enough; it just doesn't work. But he's in the minority where "Seinfeld" is concerned. You may not convulsively guffaw, but you're bound to convincingly smile. Here's one that worked out just right.
  6. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Ben Kubasik
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    Seinfeld's gentle humor is easy to take. Unlike other current comedians, such as Andrew Dice Clay or Sam Kinison, Seinfeld isn't angry: He's more awed by the wonder of it all. [13 May 1990, p.13]
  7. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Engstrom
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    The writing - so thankfully different from the hammering rhythm of most sitcoms - comes from Seinfeld and Larry David ("Saturday Night Live"). [31 May 1990, p.C5]
  8. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Rick Kogan
    Feb 21, 2013
    80
    There are some who might be jarred by the format, seamless as it is. And still others might be compelled to argue that with this format one gets neither a sitcom nor a comedy show, but insufficient portions of each...But there is an intriguing honesty to this method, and, in its fashion, it shows how life's tiny travail can work its way into comedy club laughs. [31 May 1990, p.C4]
  9. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 21, 2013
    40
    Lacking much in the way of attitude, the show seems obsolete and irrelevant. What it boils down to is that Seinfeld, likable as he may be, is a mayonnaise clown in a world that requires a little horseradish. [31 May 1990, p.3D]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Funniest show I've ever seen, bar none. I can still watch the re-runs over and over. I use a phrase or analogy from the show it seems likeFunniest show I've ever seen, bar none. I can still watch the re-runs over and over. I use a phrase or analogy from the show it seems like every day at work. I think an under-appreciated aspect of this show is all the star (or at the time soon to be star) cameos. Courtney Cox, James Spader, Jane Leeves, Kathy Griffin and Teri Hatcher to name a few. Also hardly any cussing needed so can even watch with kids in the room without cringing too much. Most of the sexual humour while obvious was subtle at the same time. Full Review »
  2. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    This show is the best show ever! (That is not animated). Also their jokes are SO halarious, I needed to buy more seasons of this show!! EvenThis show is the best show ever! (That is not animated). Also their jokes are SO halarious, I needed to buy more seasons of this show!! Even the theme song is entertaining!! I need to see it more and more! Even though the show is about nothing, it means everything to everybody! A BEST SOLID 10/10! Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2013
    9
    seinfeld & friends are the best tv show i have watched, and I have watched over 60 shows