Shake It Up! Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Best friends, CeCe Jones and Raquel "Rocky" Blue, make their dreams come true when they become background dancers on the most popular teen dance show, "Shake It Up, Chicago." Their new found status, dance skills and antics will test their friendship.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    Shake It Up doesn't shake up the kid-com formula one bit, but it's something more than the usual shiny-sparkly cuteness. [20 Dec 2010, p.44]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 25 out of 34
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This show is GREAT. Bella and Zendaya (CC and Rocky) are funny and great dancers. Flynn and ti and a funny element to the show. It also teaches kids that if you try hard enough you can definitely achieve it. Keep on Watching!! Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    This came out in the second half of 2010 also known as "The Downhill of Disney". However I will say this the show is straight forward a kid show about dancing, decent believable. Bella: Uh.. she acts like the "I deserve this Im great person", but watching this Ive noticed she can't dance, she can't sing, she is only a decent comedian. If it weren't probably for her likableness she wouldnt be on the show. Zendaya: She seems to be the girl with the actual talent. Professional dancer (And good, saw her on Dancing With the Stars amazing), she actually can sing no surprise that Disney singned her and not the other. But she seems to be more of a Drama/Horror/Thriller/Action you know those type of films or shows. Caroline: I mean her character is dumb (not actually just the way they thought her up). Caroline can act, she can sing, she is a better dancer then Bella. (Another example of them not giving the peole with actual talent, dancing, and singing abilities the higher spot. Kenton: Didnt really care for the character. Flynn: I guess they come up with snappy lines from time-to-time but overall poor job. Roshon: He can rap, sing, dance, and act but his character I don't know unless his character is with his sister Rocky (Zendaya) then he isnt really funny. Deuce: Same as Flynn snappy line from time-to-time but overall poor. Georgia: What can I say she's funny every TV comedy that has a mom I usually end up loving them (Are We There Yet/Everybody Hates Chris/Good Luck Charlie). The music lets say the 1st CD for example had 16 songs maybe 8-10 were actually good. Twist My Hips, Not Too Young, Breakout, It's Alive, Bling, Bling, All Electric, Watch Me, Just Wanna Dance, We Right Here, and Dance for Life. Acting: Zendaya (B+/A-), Georgia (The Mom) (A+), and from time to time Roshon (B-) and Bella (B+), Adam (B-), Kenton (C+), Caroline (B+/A-), Davis (C+/B-). Dancing: Roshon (A+), Zendaya (A+), Bella (B-/C+). Story/Plots eh from time to time. Music (B-). In season one (C+), Two (A-), Three (B-/B+). Me I only watch new episodes if I watch a rerun it better be a good episode like "Reality Check It Up", and not bad like "Fire It Up". Expand
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    We all know, Disney can't keep a good show, but it's just ridiculous how fast this show wore off. I was really optimistic, after seeing the pilot, and was impressed by the second episode, but after that, the show, I thought just went down the drain. the only 3 disney shows of the decade, I liked throughout the whole series, was Even Stevens, That's so Raven, and Suite Life. But both Raven and Suite Life of Zack and Cody, were ruined with their spin offs. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    I thought Disney Channel hit rock bottom with the show Hannah Montana showing kids to be someone their not. This show is far worse. Showing the complete opposite of what fate does. With the dancing they used to try out for the show they would not have made the show. Also if Cece just joined the show because of Rocky might as well just let everyone join! Also when they dance they make it as if they are just magically in sync. Real dancing takes weeks to rehearse. The worst actor on the show is Davis Cleveland. Yes he's little, but with the experience he should have with acting by now he should know how to put on a better performance. All and all this show is not that good. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Where is the BARF BAG!!! Disney must be desperate to air a show that has kids on there who can't act, dance, or sing. THIS MUST HAVE BEEN THE BOTTOM OF THE BARREL PICK OF KIDS! The hispanic girl is talented and humorous, but the one with the bangs is terrible. How did she even make it through the audition process I wonder??? She is like 12, but looks, acts, and dresses like she is 21! TROUBLE -TROUBLE-TROUBLE. Disney seems to pick kids that end up drinking, on drugs, or pregnant! Nice role models for our kids to admire. HOPE THIS SHOW ENDS SOON... Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    I enjoy Disney Channel, I can watch it all day and I'm 20 years old. They got some great shows like good luck charlie and Phineas and Ferb. NOW SHAKE IT UP is a total mess. Acting and dancing are bad. Why couldn't they put some girls that could at least shake it up? there are a lot of talented teens that would do better than those 2. And The show is kinda stupid. I know they trying to be funny but it's not working. Why is the show still on anyway? shake it up is a BIG no no. I have watched it once and I regret cause I wasted my time. Collapse
  7. Dec 12, 2010
    0
    This show is so stupid! Along with Fish Hooks, one of the worst Disney shows ever. The dancing and acting is horrible. Seriously, how did it get THIS bad? Disney made cartoons, not little slutty girls dancing their little slutty asses off. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews