Skins (US) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
Skins (US) Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    75
    What keeps it from being exploitative--just--is the sense that these kids know such dangerous exhilaration won't, can't, lead to the happiness they're looking for. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Dalton Ross
    Jan 14, 2011
    75
    While it may lack the charm (and perfect casting) of the British show, it's still worth a gander.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jan 18, 2011
    70
    Really, though, you don't have to know anything about the British Skins to get into the remake.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 17, 2011
    50
    Assembled through an open call, the cast (many of whom are 17 or 18) is extraordinarily natural. Where Elsley stumbles--especially in the opener--is the exaggerated dialogue, often more borscht-belt comedian than actual kid.
  5. Reviewed by: Paul Schrodt
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    Skins is, alas, many types of teen drama to many types of teens--a raunchy good time and an Afterschool Special on The Way Youth Live Now rolled into one. It's a viewing experience akin to going to a coke party only to be given a lecture. Where's the fun in that?
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 17, 2011
    50
    Plopped down in Baltimore, the loose-living adolescents in MTV's seemingly line-for-line version don't actually feel American, no matter what their accents are, and the plots that always struck me as more teen movie than teen reality seem no more realistic than, say, "Gossip Girl."
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 17, 2011
    40
    Skins is so determined to relate to hardened kids--without sermon, theme or context--that it accidentally discovers a new frontier in phoniness and filth. Even if I could warp time and watch it as my teenaged self, I'm pretty sure I would have been bored by it back then, too--even with all the sex.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This series is just as better as the United kingdom series. The Acting Is Good. The Story lines are really good & The series is being plannedThis series is just as better as the United kingdom series. The Acting Is Good. The Story lines are really good & The series is being planned out for 10 episodes Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This was the best show on MTV until they pulled the plug. Worst move ever by MTV. Even though it didnt have good ratings what other show onThis was the best show on MTV until they pulled the plug. Worst move ever by MTV. Even though it didnt have good ratings what other show on mondays @ 10PM was better than SKins? NONE. I WISH IT WAS STILL ON MTV Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2017
    9
    Out of all the teen dramas there are on American television, Skins US was a British remake that depicted the most realistic way teenagers liveOut of all the teen dramas there are on American television, Skins US was a British remake that depicted the most realistic way teenagers live today. Airing in 2011, this show had real teenage actors playing teenage roles which included them simulating doing drugs, drinking alcohol, having sex, and partying. MTV cancelled early after one season due to advertisers backing out of commercials and the constant criticism from the Parents Television Council. But, I found this show to be amazing because it was the opposite of Gossip Girl or some other "high school" drama where all of the actors are twenty or older and have the non-achievable and unrealistic appearance of a super model. This perfect depiction of teenage adolescence has an awkward, extremely lazy, peculiar boy with long blonde hair named Stanley that is perpetually tortured by his better looking and more popular best friend, Tony, who has a girlfriend that Stanley is in love with. One of the characters Cadie, portrayed by Britne Oldford, is a tall, skinny, mixed girl with fluffy hair and huge eyes that give you an eerie and mysterious feel as you look into them. With the cast being as young as 15 years old the show reached huge criticism and backlash. Even before the show aired many fans of the original British version refused to even give the American version a chance. If the viewers and adults would have been more accepting of the most realistic teenage show yet to be made maybe there could have been more seasons to follow. And for those reasons I rate this show 9 out of 10 stars and recommend it mature teenagers to watch. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2011
    5
    Cannot be compared to the genius that was the original Skins (UK), but it's getting there, well somewhere. Too bad the strict US TV laws don'tCannot be compared to the genius that was the original Skins (UK), but it's getting there, well somewhere. Too bad the strict US TV laws don't let it reach its potential. Could have ben much worse though. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers. I too had the pleasure if watching seasons 1-4 this past fall and instantly fell in love with the charm and troubles of these groups of teens from the UK. Then I had the intense displeasure of tuning to MTV tonight only to see one of the best depictions of teenage angst be transformed into something with the depth and emotion of watching paint dry. Dialog that came off as fresh and clever on the original appeared stiff and emotionless in the American version. And then there's Maxie. Apparently, Maxie is now a girl who, if the commercial for next week's episode is any indication, will only resemble Maxie in her sexual orientation. All in all, the U.S. Skins is a hollow shell of the original. If anything, this Skins only serves to increase my excitement for the return of E4's Skins series 5 at the end of this month. Collapse
  6. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    Unfortunately the recycling of characters, dialogue and plot hasn't worked. Transplanting these British characters into an AmericanUnfortunately the recycling of characters, dialogue and plot hasn't worked. Transplanting these British characters into an American environment leaves me feeling confused as to their identities, as their interactions feel forced and out of place. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I haven't watched and don't plan to. This is just another example of how British shows don't always work when America waters it down. (I haveI haven't watched and don't plan to. This is just another example of how British shows don't always work when America waters it down. (I have to write more than 150 characters so yeah that's what I'm doing here, IGNORE THIS) Expand

See all 20 User Reviews