Sleepy Hollow : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 16, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Sleepy Hollow Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) wakes up 200+ years in the future and meets Sleepy Hollow police Lieutenant Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie). Together they aim to stop the headless horseman, who is the fourth horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Sep 15, 2013
    91
    Sleepy Hollow works because it approaches everything with a relatively straight face, yet never seems to be taking itself too seriously.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    It’s fun, it’s entertaining, it’s got some scares and some action and plenty of secrets to unveil.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 10, 2013
    75
    Suspend disbelief, not to mention your knowledge of Washington Irving's classic tale, because the illogical hodgepodge of myth premiering Monday night is great fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Cultural commentary mixed with the mystery, along with lavish production values, gives Irving’s tale a clever twist. The hour is trying to cover a lot of bases, but it may find its focus.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    63
    Sleepy Hollow has an interesting premise and some terrific CGI effects (re: the Headless Horseman), but I didn’t buy into the show’s mystical/mythological/sci-fi overtones, a mishmash of history, witchcraft and muddled Biblical prophesy that left me confused instead of intrigued.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Success is the exception for shows that try to weave mythologies this complex, and Sleepy Hollow falls back early on predictable conventions like having Abbie’s deceased ex-boss leave copious files on mysteries he could never solve.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Lucas
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    This could be a watershed moment in TV's long and inglorious history of idiocy, a drama that unintentionally almost matches Arrested Development for laughs.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 5 out of 45
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love, the show it keeps me wating more. I love how it reference the bible. The actors are great and I think they have greatI love, love, love, the show it keeps me wating more. I love how it reference the bible. The actors are great and I think they have great chemistry it makes you believe the story. I look forward to more seasons Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    An interesting show that adds an interesting twist to The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. It adds many interesting twists and fun "inaccuracies" likeAn interesting show that adds an interesting twist to The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. It adds many interesting twists and fun "inaccuracies" like referencing the Bible, adding twists to history, and even adding crazy twists to George Washington and Benjamin Franklin. This show has action, suspense, a few laughs, interesting plots, and simply the feel of Sleepy Hollow. If you like mystery, comedy, and monsters in present time, this is the right show for you! I mean what other show would depict the headless horseman with shotguns, or Ichabod Crane working for the police, or seeing Frankenstein face off against the headless horseman?!? Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    Great show. The season is very good with a lot of suspense, action, drama, character development, and surprises. The end of season left meGreat show. The season is very good with a lot of suspense, action, drama, character development, and surprises. The end of season left me wanting more. However, I was confused during some parts of it, but everything is explained as the series progresses. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    Watched the first episode concerned it was going to be like Grimm, an interesting premise that never came close to working for me. I wasWatched the first episode concerned it was going to be like Grimm, an interesting premise that never came close to working for me. I was pleasantly surprised. While not great, a few holes in the characters and plot that weakened this episode, I found myself drawn to the show, and I am looking forward watching it again next week. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Sleepy Hollow is a wildly-entertaining adventure series that has plenty of likeable characters who have a nice chemistry between them,Sleepy Hollow is a wildly-entertaining adventure series that has plenty of likeable characters who have a nice chemistry between them, especially the leads. This series gets better with each episode, but there are certainly flaws. Since it is a free-to-air network television series, the budget restraints are certainly noticeable through to cheesy special effects and what not, there are also some really cheesy lines of dialogue as well and is rather silly at times. Overall, Sleepy Hollow is a great and fun cult show and I am certainly looking forward to the next season. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    Do you like Teen Wolf (TV), True Lies, Vampire Diaries kinda shows? If so, then you won't mind this. Nothing original...just another way toDo you like Teen Wolf (TV), True Lies, Vampire Diaries kinda shows? If so, then you won't mind this. Nothing original...just another way to pass a hour or so without feeling like watching a Duck Dynasty re-run. I wonder if it would last more than 2 Seasons though.... Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2014
    0
    Buffy the Vampire slayer reboot. The overacting and typical...two people talk, action scene, three people talk, multiple two people talk,Buffy the Vampire slayer reboot. The overacting and typical...two people talk, action scene, three people talk, multiple two people talk, action scene formula is so friggin tired....only people of lesser intelligence watch this show. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 10, 2016
    Get the latest renew/cancel predictions for 40 TV shows still on the bubble, including Agent Carter, The X-Files, Elementary, Grimm, iZombie, Nashville, American Crime, and more.