• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 121
  2. Negative: 21 out of 121

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jrb
    Feb 14, 2012
    1
    I don't know what show that the positive reviewers are watching but it sure isn't this one. I gave it a second week and that episode was worse than the first. The acting is absolutely horrendous. The cast seems to be either bored with their part and walking through it or overdramatizing a dull storyline. Huston an example of the first; Messing the second. I can't tell you how disappointed I am as I was really looking forward to this as a vehicle for McPhee who is a wonderful talent. The plot is absolutely unbelievable, the characters unlikable, just awful. BTW, Glee works most of the time because it doesn't take itself too seriously. NBC should be ashamed and I'm done with it! Expand
  2. Mar 3, 2012
    0
    One of the worst shows ever!!! This form to intent do glee is terrible, because the numbers are awful, the cast is very regular, I prefer the losers and not this winners.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    3
    I initially gave this show a 9, based upon the Pilot, and subsequently dropped that to a 5 after viewing episodes 2 and 3. I have now watched episode 4, and yes folks, it gets worse. Nick Jonas? Are you kidding me? I've gone from questioning the writing and direction of this show, and now, the casting. I would love to know what all the favorable reviewers who lauded this show after its Pilot now think. They can't possibly think it's as good as they initially thought. I'm settling at THREE and never watching this show again. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    2
    If this show is supposed to be competition, I doubt Glee has anything to worry about.. Glee has had more misses than hits lately, and my wife and I were hoping that Smash would be a good alternative. The characters were annoying, the story contrived and the numbers mediocre. Good thing this show really fictitious. It would never make it out of workshop. Probably won't make it past this season if the Nielsen's are any indication. Last many of their viewers, we quit watching halfway through it. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    2
    I was hoping my first review here would be a more positive one. Unfortunately its not going to be. The plot is going downhill since the pilot. I see no future for this show.
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    Gag! ... 'nuff said. Yet another struggling actress, or writer, or singer... How about a story that might matter?
    If I never have to watch another show about show business it will be too soon.
  7. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    This show is complete and utter CRAP! The acting is bad, the singing is bad, the show is bad. It's all bad! It even has a stupid name. Smash.....so incredibly stupid! Who would name a TV show 'Smash'? A funny Alpaca maybe? Nah, Alpaca's are cool. They won't make up crappy crap like this show. Don't bother wasting your time. It's CRAP!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Don Aucoin
    Feb 7, 2012
    70
    The show works much better when it gives us a glimpse into its distinctive milieu.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    The cast, from Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty to Debra Messing and Angelica Huston, is superb. The subject matter is a carefully blended mix of artistic and accessible.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Smash is a triumph.