• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Smash Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Songwriters Julia Houston (Debra Messing) and Tom Levitt (Christian Borle) create a musical about Marilyn Monroe and must decide whether the veteran Broadway actress Ivy Lynn (Megan Hilty) or newcomer Karen Cartwright (Katharine McPhee) should play the blonde legend.
  • Genre(s): Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Smash is a triumph.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 3, 2012
    91
    The real joys of Smash are its performances and production numbers, some fantasized, others part of the bare bones auditioning process.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 6, 2012
    90
    They're fully realized characters, not freakishly talented pawns, and their stories--and choices--reflect a real-life awareness I only wish "Glee" could muster.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 6, 2012
    80
    The first few episodes after tonight's sensational pilot struggle to find the right balance between the musical and the dramatic, but by the fourth hour, as the new leading lady makes things difficult for the also-ran during the tense rehearsal process, Smash finds its footing.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 30, 2012
    75
    The stereotypes slow down in subsequent episodes, which grew more entertaining with each of the four I watched.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Feb 6, 2012
    70
    If Smash lacks the benefit of Aaron Sorkin's hyper-literate and unmistakable dialogue, it follows Studio 60's format, observing the producers, writers, and actors who collaborate on a show, particularly what happens backstage.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Feb 6, 2012
    40
    The way things are going, I would pay $100 if the purchase exempted me from having to watch any more of the show itself.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Fantastic. The dance numbers are fantastic! The Ballads are a little too "American Idol" for my taste. Anjelica Huston? Magnificent. Debra Messing? Wondrous. Uma Thurman? In a Musical? OMG she's utterly great. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Pilot definitely impressed. I've been reading NBC shelled out tons of money on this show, and yeah, it was well worth it. I'll be a continuous supporter of the show as long as they keep doing things like having Katherine McPhee impress all in her cover of Adele's "Rumor Has It". Don't get left behind - catch the video here: http://www.nbc.com/smash/video/rumor-has-it/1384854 Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    I remember watching a sneak peek at this and thought they were just trying to copy Glee. Then I watched the pilot episode, and I completely fell in love with the show. Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty are great actors and wonderful singers. Plus, they're backed up by wonderful actors such as Debra Messing and Anjelica Houston. Expand
  4. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    I am not a fan of Glee at all. I have never found it entertaining. And yet, people seem to compare the two simply because they both have music. They need to stop trying to see similarities and just give this show a shot. It's AMAZING! It's so in depth and interesting. The characters are witty and intriguing. I've noticed that people watched the pilot but then stopped there. I think that was a mistake. This show is good. It definitely has some growing to do but I'm hooked. I'm just waiting to find out what happens next. Collapse
  5. dzy
    Apr 24, 2012
    8
    Never watched a musical themed show before, but I thought I'd give it a shot. Overall its a solid show. It has some great music written for it, nice bits of drama, and a solid story. The two lead actresses are great, I pretty much enjoy every song they sing. The show does has its ups and downs, but not bad enough to stop me from watching. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    6
    After watching the first 3 episodes, I'm really enjoying this show. Some of the side stories are a bit shaky and I'm not fully sold on the actress playing the lead role (Catherine McPhee), but the overall cast is pretty strong, so it doesn't matter that much. If you like Broadway, you'll enjoy the musical numbers, which are well-executed. Also, the only thing that this show has in common with Glee, is that they both have music and dance numbers. Otherwise, the plots are completely different. Personally, I prefer Smash, which has more of a believable plot. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    This show is complete and utter CRAP! The acting is bad, the singing is bad, the show is bad. It's all bad! It even has a stupid name. Smash.....so incredibly stupid! Who would name a TV show 'Smash'? A funny Alpaca maybe? Nah, Alpaca's are cool. They won't make up crappy crap like this show. Don't bother wasting your time. It's CRAP! Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.