• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 3, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Sons of Anarchy Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jax tries to balance his life with SAMCRO and being a good father to his son.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 10, 2013
    100
    Sons is on track to stand among the best TV shows of our current golden age, and we have two more seasons to watch it get there.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Burk Vasquez
    Sep 10, 2013
    90
    The show doesn’t only deliver fast-paced action and fine performances, but also, increasingly, poses questions concerning responsibility.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 9, 2013
    83
    The acting is first-rate, and so is the writing, but the violence is appalling, and not just appalling, but creatively appalling.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 4, 2013
    75
    At this point, Jax is so wishy-washy, it's hard not to root for the bad guys, especially since Lee has become the show's most entertaining villain. SOA always wrenches great comedy from gross-out violence, and Logue masters that art.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 4, 2013
    70
    The series remains an immersive experience, and the cast has been gradually upgraded with the addition of players like Jimmy Smits.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 10, 2013
    60
    What feels so tightly focused and earned in Breaking Bad too often comes off as forced and unconvincing in the land of the soulful bikers.... Still, Sons has a propulsive allure as it dramatizes Jax's attempts to take the gang legit (though he still condones murder when it's convenient) while battle lines continue to be drawn between the show's ferociously impressive leading ladies.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Sep 3, 2013
    38
    There's too much meandering without meaningful payoffs.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    the best tv show since the Sopranos fantastic drama fantastic story........................................................................................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    This show has it all--flawed characters, great acting(Katie Sagal is AMAZING), lots of action, and an ever growing number of major story lines! So far, almost every episode of Season 6 feels like a season finale, and provides crazy action and drama as this saga takes all kinds of twists and turns. I am so far from biker culture, I thought I wouldn't be able to get into this one…but who knew an MC and its members could be so interesting! Now that Breaking Bad is over, this is the show I look most forward to seeing every week! Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    Continues to be my favorite show. Have yet to give this less than a perfect 10 and this season won't break that trend. Sons of Anarchy is the best show on TV. Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    I agree with the below reviewer about flawed characters. Ever since Dexter ended I needed a new show so I got into SOA and the character flaw-ness/depth-ness has thus far lived up to Dexter a lot. So much going on and intersecting/overlapping plots. It really is a great show. This season is the best one yet. Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    5
    The first few series were OKAY, it relieved boredom from time to time but the 6th series is the worst yet. I'll watch the last episode because you sort of have to, but it's not a series I would ever watch a second time. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    I cannot believe that this show is still going on. Utter garbage. I can't believe that it has made it to six seasons of an utter pointless and trashy snoozefest. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    This show has turned from gold to garbage a steaming pile of hollywood dog crap with no understanding of bike club values and loyalty. So disappointing from such a great start. Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Notable Cable & Streaming Shows Image
    Published: September 4, 2014
    We preview the most notable new and returning shows headed to cable networks and streaming services this fall, including new seasons of The Walking Dead, American Horror Story, and Sons of Anarchy and newcomers such as Transparent, The Affair, Star Wars Rebels, and Ascension.
  2. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  3. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: December 5, 2012
    The fifth season of FX's biker drama has been a step up from the fourth, but did last night's season finale avoid the mistakes of last year's season-ender? Find out what critics are saying this morning.
  4. Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Sons of Anarchy Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: December 7, 2011
    What did critics think of last night's Sons of Anarchy season finale, and of the fourth season as a whole? Find out inside.