User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 3 out of 42

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This season is when the show got really good. with new animation, the show looked better than ever, and the staff of writers are tremendously funny. I think it's the best season of them all.
  2. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Less blurry animation and terrific writing make this one of the best seasons of the show. The best episodes include:
    "Something Smells", where Bob's bad breath is mistaken for ugliness.
    "Dying for Pie", which feels like a Simpson episode, where Squidward can accidentally given Bob an exploding pie. "Wormy", the hilarious episode which shows how stupid the town can become when a small
    Less blurry animation and terrific writing make this one of the best seasons of the show. The best episodes include:
    "Something Smells", where Bob's bad breath is mistaken for ugliness.
    "Dying for Pie", which feels like a Simpson episode, where Squidward can accidentally given Bob an exploding pie.
    "Wormy", the hilarious episode which shows how stupid the town can become when a small butterfly comes to town.
    "Grandma's Kisses", with guest star Marion Ross.
    "Life of Crime", centered around Free Balloon Day, sort of.
    "Christmas Who?", the classic Christmas episode that marks the debut of Patchy.
    Those are just 6. But "I'm Your Biggest Fanatic", "Mermaidman and Barnacle Boy III", "The Smoking Peanut", "Shanghaied", "Welcome to the Chum Bucket", "Band Geeks", "The Graveyard Shift", "Procrastination", "Sailor Mouth", "The Fry Cook Games", Squid on Strike", and the immortal "Patty Hype" add on to the fun of SpongeBob SquarePants: The 2nd Season. Are you ready? Because everyone else is ready.
    Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    After season 1 of Spongebob, or as I call it, the Nick era, Spongebob got just enough ratings to be renewed for another season. Now, with a higher budget, Paint and Ink animation, top notch writers and a pot full of ideas, The Great era of Spongebob was about to begin and shake the world forever. While season 1 of Spongebob started up the show, it refused to set itself apart from the otherAfter season 1 of Spongebob, or as I call it, the Nick era, Spongebob got just enough ratings to be renewed for another season. Now, with a higher budget, Paint and Ink animation, top notch writers and a pot full of ideas, The Great era of Spongebob was about to begin and shake the world forever. While season 1 of Spongebob started up the show, it refused to set itself apart from the other Nicktoons airing at the time Soimething just didn't feel right. But there is a reason Spongebob is known today, and this is why: seasons 2 and 3 of spongebob squarepants gave spongebob the right to be not only the best cartoon on Nick, but one of the greatest cartoons ever made, winning several awards and winning several hearts of fans. First off, season 2 and 3 look a whole lot prettier than season 1. In this era, they switched to paint and ink animation, and it certainly show. Colors and backgrounds seem a whole lot more brighter, balanced, and seem to pop off the screen. Nothing looks out of place. second, the writing is ten times better than any show on Nick. And to this day, I don't know anyone who hasn't quoted a line from a spongebob episode. 5 year old kids constantly re-enact the lines by heart. Why? because the writing is memorable and impossible to forget. The events in the show are just so iconic and unforgettable, it's amiazingly fun to watch. Who can forget moment like when Spongebob sang "sweet Victory", or when Manray tried to give Patrick back his wallet ("It's not my wallet")? These are the moments that define childhoods. Not Pearls 16th birthday, or Spongebob surfing on "The Big One", or sining mermaids that summon fog and take your stuff or karate island, what defined our childhoods were lines like "It's an Alaskan Bull Worm!" and "Big Meaty Claws" and "Chocolate?...did you say chocolate?!!" In fact at this time, Spongebob was so good, a movie was released in therters about him. Stuff like that doesn't happen today. Needless to say that the only reason spongebob is still airing, the reason spongebob is still going strong, the reason those terrible peices of garbage posing as cartoons air today is becaus of these two seasons. If there was one show that I had to watch now until Dec. 21 comes around and we all die, it would be The Great era of Spongebob SquarePants. Here you go season2/3. A perfect 10. You earned it. However, not all stayed pretty. Go to my season 4 review to see where it all went wrong somehow Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    SpongeBob Season 2 is DA BOMB! Some of my favorite episodes include Christmas Who?, Sailor Mouth, Patty Hype, Something Smells, and Band Geeks. My favorite character of this season is Squidward by a longshot. My favorite joke is the Ugly Barnacle Story.
  5. Ike
    Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Dear Stephen Hillenburg,
    Thank you for SpongeBob. Thank you for season 2. Amen.
    I love SpongeBob season 2. Not only is it the definition of SpongeBob, but one of the best seasons of any TV show ever. Each episode is toasted to near perfection. I have few to no microscopic flaws with this season. Where do I even begin? I guess I should start out by talking about what it fixes what season
    Dear Stephen Hillenburg,
    Thank you for SpongeBob. Thank you for season 2. Amen.
    I love SpongeBob season 2. Not only is it the definition of SpongeBob, but one of the best seasons of any TV show ever. Each episode is toasted to near perfection. I have few to no microscopic flaws with this season. Where do I even begin? I guess I should start out by talking about what it fixes what season 1 failed at. First off, the animation. The animation looked a little rough in the early season 2 episodes (notably Squid's Day Off) but soon massively improved to give us stuff like the great animation with a realistic background in Band Geeks. Next off, the story and characters. Season 2 is not only hilarious, but the stories are way more interesting and the characters are hilarious. They dive much deeper into the characters like the Flying Dutchman and even introduced new characters like Bubble Buddy, Mama Krabs, and one of my personal favorites, Scooter! The stories are much more interesting. Tell me which you would rather watch: SpongeBob and Patrick opening up a Bubble stand, or Squidward rallying up a marching band to play at the Super Bowl? SpongeBob not being scary on Halloween, or Squidward telling him a scary story, and SB believing it's real? I've got many more examples. My favorite episode of this season, surprisingly, isn't Band Geeks, but Sailor Mouth! I love this episode so much! It's so well written and SpongeBob and Patrick cuss! It's so funny just like the rest of this season! Some of my other favorites include Band Geeks (duh!), Dying for Pie, Bubble Buddy, Graveyard Shift, Shanghaied, The Secret Box, and I'm not sure if the Fry Cook Games is a season 2 or season 3 episode, but if it's season 2 you better believe it's near the top of my list. There is hardly anything bad I can say about this season. The only episode out of what, 40, I feel is a tad lesser is I'm With Stupid, because Patrick is a real jerk to SpongeBob, and even then, I think that episode is still okay because the parents are super funny. All in all, season 2 is phenomenal. It has great characters, great stories, episodes 2 times as funny, and the will to take risks. All I can say is, if you don't watch SpongeBob, you're really missing out.
    Expand
  6. Oct 9, 2014
    10
    It's not easy to make an awesome show and keep it that way for nine long seasons, with a tenth one coming soon, Nickelodeon managed to pull it off, and because of that, it's by far the most popular show on the channel. Good job, keep it going with new episodes, Nick!!
  7. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    The first three seasons of this show were truly fantastic. Season two is perhaps the strongest of these early runs, with improved animation and funnier character situations. The gags come thick and fast, cleverly devised to interact with chemistry and to further the plot. It succeeds in all areas that a cartoon should; it is colourful, universal, light hearted and most importantly,The first three seasons of this show were truly fantastic. Season two is perhaps the strongest of these early runs, with improved animation and funnier character situations. The gags come thick and fast, cleverly devised to interact with chemistry and to further the plot. It succeeds in all areas that a cartoon should; it is colourful, universal, light hearted and most importantly, down-right funny. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Kids are drawn by the show's loopy slapstick, grownups by its dry (so to speak) wit.