• Network: Cinemax
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 12, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    One of the most refreshingly enjoyable TV series I've seen in years. Think Homeland - with added sex and violence - and personality from the lead actors. Sure, there's a place for intense, ponderous TV, but Strike Back is FUN!
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    Fan of 24? Watch Strike Back. It might be the next best thing. Strike Back is an adult drama on Cinemax about a British Delta Force team known as "Section 20" Together, Damien Scott and Michael Stonebridge enter foreign countries filled with terrorists to stop threats to national security. The entire show takes place about. The show almost always takes place outdoors, and every episode contains at least 3 massive gun fights and 20 deaths. Start to finish, each episode is exciting, action packed, sexy, thrilling, suspenseful and extremely well made. The series isn't heavily advertised, but it's had 3 seasons and is now getting it's own Spinoff series called Strike Back: Origins, so just because you may not have heard of it, doesn't mean it's not great, and doing well. Check out this series, there is none like it, and each episode feels like a movie. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2014
    9
    If you like non-stop action and an interesting plot then you should watch this show. It's got interesting characters, and at times it can be dramatic along with the action. The first season was good, but I like the new characters brought in after that first season as I think they played the military role much better. This is a great TV show so I wouldn't pass up on a chance to watch it. Oh, and did I mention it has a lot of nudity? That's only a perk too, lol. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    Strike Back is great. It does not mess around, straight to the point, fast paced and well written. There is no ridiculous plot ala 24 and is clearly written to be as real as possible, through the eyes of the two main soldiers. This is polished action at it's best so don't expect something complicated. Though at the same time don't take that negatively. It's intricate in it's simplicity and you are there for the ride. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Hip haray Hip hip haray for there will be another season, I Love this stuff great acting good plots and great entertainment Person of Interest was my favorite until Strike Back moved in and I hope there will be a 3rd season Go America and UK .
  6. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    This is what "the Unit" was supposed to be, but never was. Action, guns, terrorists, no "family crap story" (Ok, just a 4% of that) and it is credible, people die. Good guys aren't a 100% good and bad guys neither. So, it is extrictly recommended for those that do not like CW kinda shows. YES, it won't make us to forget 24, but who cares? move on. :-)
  7. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    Too much sex? Hmmmm....In 10 episodes or so, maybe...just maybe there may be two or three scenes (less than 3 minutes) of some T and A. Who complains about T and A? Geez!

    Show's got lots of action, some hot women, good story and different locations every season....what more can you ask for if you are a guy? This ain't who's smarter than a 5th grader...so stop your whining and enjoy it
    for what it is...an action packed series! Expand
  8. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    I've watched the first 2 episodes and thought they where great. A real adult, action, spy series. If you liked 24, Spooks, The Unit or the Bourne Movies then this show is for you. Lots of twists and its hard to tell who will survive for the next 5 minutes let alone the episode. Yes its shocker for those that have seen the first series "Strike Back" or read any of the Chris Ryan novels but that just added to the wow factor for me. Really looking forward to the rest of the series. Expand
  9. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    First season was totally British. I loved that.

    I stopped watching at season 2: too much blood, pornography and unexplainable act of characters. Couldn't enjoy anymore.
  10. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    Strike back when looked at on its own merits is a fun action thriller. It is well acted the main characters are likable and is a lot of fun. Not every show needs to have the depth like game of thrones some times its ok to just enjoy the action and the close to real life tactical maneuvering of to bad asses.
  11. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    this is a man's wet dream of violence and awesomeness! its an adrenaline rush every episode. the dichotomy of Scott and Stonebridge is fantastic. they compliment each other is incredible.
  12. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    its unapologetic,balls out and just fun love it. both leads work well together .the locales are great and the supporting cast fit perfectly. this show can't help but be great .the writing is smooth and is seamless. just wish they promoted the show in North America more definitely can get lost in and episode
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 12, 2011
    63
    There isn't anything too deeply intellectual here because the action moves the plot. And "Strike Back" has action to spare.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 12, 2011
    58
    This is dumb, not-so-much fun shoot'em-ups.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 12, 2011
    70
    Strike Back unfolds quickly and confidently with brilliantly choreographed fight sequences and the exotic locales. But nothing trumps the friendship of the two male leads.