• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Take The Money and Run Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contestants are given an hour to hide a suitcase full of money before being interrogated by a detective and prosecutor. If the detectives cannot find the money after 48 hours, the contestants get to keep the money.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Aug 1, 2011
    70
    This sometimes gripping show isn't so benign. First, the adversaries are worthy.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 1, 2011
    60
    The show (slated for a six-episode summer flight) represents a breezy diversion, with obvious potential to return and plug a gap left by a canceled series come fall.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jul 29, 2011
    50
    It's a relatively interesting premise, but once the interrogations start, it turns silly very fast.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 2, 2011
    50
    Keep the money and run like hell if you're tired of reality shows that border on surreality.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 2, 2011
    50
    CSI producer Jerry Bruckheimer and Amazing Race producer Bertram Van Munster combine the worst elements of their shows for this six-episode time-killer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    I really looked forward to this new show after having seen the previews and advertising but both episodes to date have been a big let-downs.I really looked forward to this new show after having seen the previews and advertising but both episodes to date have been a big let-downs. Whimpering men falling to pieces after a day and a half in solitary confinement have been the downfall of both pairs of contestants. What's up? I mean really! I have to assume that the interview process has given ABC a list of psychological train wrecks to choose from. This evening I got to watch some guy crumbled into a heap on the floor crying that he can't take it any more and that someone took his tooth brush. Maybe $100K isn't enough money. They do after all live in Chicago. Am I the only one who feels this way? Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    I really like this show. It is funny, and very unique. The way the detectives work is very neat to watch, and it is great to see the twoI really like this show. It is funny, and very unique. The way the detectives work is very neat to watch, and it is great to see the two different "criminals" and how they deal with being interrogated. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    Although not perfect, the show provides an entertaining hour (especially during the "hide" stage) based on an exciting premise. The mainAlthough not perfect, the show provides an entertaining hour (especially during the "hide" stage) based on an exciting premise. The main problem with the show was most obvious in the first episode--an over-emphasis on interrogation vs. detective work. In the episodes that followed; however, we saw that if the detectives put more effort and creativity into solving the puzzle, it made a more entertaining and nail biting hour of television. I would still like to see less of an emphasis on interrogations--but that is difficult to remove from the show. The producers should take care, though, to pick investigators willing to go the extra mile to find the case, otherwise, the show will go bland. Collapse
  4. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    OK so it's quite hard to hide a box of cash in an hour. But I'm surprised, I mean really surprised that these contestants fall to piecesOK so it's quite hard to hide a box of cash in an hour. But I'm surprised, I mean really surprised that these contestants fall to pieces during their 48 hour lock up. They go in knowing it isn't for real and what the payoff will be but they go all flabby and start whingeing about it being so HARD to endure the interrogative part of the show. I mean, go to sleep already and keep your mouths SHUT. How hard can it be? Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    Maybe an idea is great, but Take The Money and Run is just too boring. Great series for detectives lovers, but it's nothing special for a restMaybe an idea is great, but Take The Money and Run is just too boring. Great series for detectives lovers, but it's nothing special for a rest of human population. By the way- Is it necessary to have a family member with cancer to get into the show? Expand