• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 16, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 5 out of 38

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RollieD
    Feb 15, 2009
    1
    One of the most excruciating hours on tv. It is so painful to watch: the host is unfunny, he does not interview well, let alone have any interesting guests that are above the D-list, and his skits are simply not funny. The only reason this show gets a 1 instead of a 0 is because he now has Olivia Munn providing funny skits to his show. Otherwise, standing in a dmv line for an hour will One of the most excruciating hours on tv. It is so painful to watch: the host is unfunny, he does not interview well, let alone have any interesting guests that are above the D-list, and his skits are simply not funny. The only reason this show gets a 1 instead of a 0 is because he now has Olivia Munn providing funny skits to his show. Otherwise, standing in a dmv line for an hour will give you more laughs than this so-called "talkshow." Expand
  2. BryanqC.
    Feb 7, 2009
    2
    No talent, unfunny hack. The show is not even remotely clever. Why must he remind us every show how cheap the show is? Paper coffee cups.....yeah, we get it, Spike. I'm reminded of the phrase, "Couldn't ad lib a fart at a bean-eating contest."
  3. marinat.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    i love spikes sense of humor and make a point to watch his show every saturday. i dont think the critics know a good show when they see one. I think spike is great on camera! i enjoy his show very much!
  4. charlieh.
    Nov 11, 2007
    0
    This show is absolutely terrible. There is nothing funny about it. Just knowing it's still on tv actually pisses me off.
  5. bobm.
    Sep 10, 2007
    3
    Not good at all. May appeal to a college or high school crowd.
  6. HDB
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    I dont like Mad TV, kind of a shame i missed this show all this time (just watched it on Saturday for the first time)
  7. WilsonH
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    This show rocks. Finally some thing a substitute for SNL which is now the crap-shoot right now. 30 minutes is a bit short. Need to be longer.
  8. bryane
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    This show definately needs to be longer - 30 minutes does not do justice to what this show could possibly be. Which leads me to ask - where the heck has this guy been for the last ten years and why was he only writing? He's great on screen too!
  9. miket
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    this show would be a lot better if it was longger than 30 min
  10. AdamK
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    I guess the critics didn't get the point. The show's really funny.
  11. EmilioR
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    I seriously think its great. I'm telling all my friends about it.
  12. NancyW
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    My new favorite!!!I I like it better than the Daily Show, if that's possible...
  13. BillO
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    TALKSHOW is hysterical. Me and my wife were laughing our butts off. It's about time that a show like this has come along.
  14. JennaL
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    My new fave!!! Nice job Fox!!!
  15. MarcyT
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    Love the show. Idiot paparazzi is so funny.
  16. SandyP
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    I really love TALKSHOW I wish it was longer than a half hour. Can't wait to see the one with jerry Seinfeld.
  17. JordanT
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    I've never laughed so hard in my life when I saw Electric Lincoln. I'm hooked. TALKSHOW 4 life!
  18. teresam
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    Talkshow is the most awesome show. It is totaliy hilarious
  19. DarnellJ
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    This show is soooo funny! I'm a huge Conan fan, and I never thought I would like another talk show as much. The Spike show is my new favorite!!!
  20. MattZ
    Oct 11, 2006
    10
    I see Talkshow and I see the future. In an age of mile-a-minute entertainment and a thousand television channels it's easy to see what a daunting task it would be to find and sustain an audience. Talkshow is taking this challenge head-on, filling up a very easily watchable run time of 30-minutes with live comedy, sketch comedy and special guests while still leaving just enough air I see Talkshow and I see the future. In an age of mile-a-minute entertainment and a thousand television channels it's easy to see what a daunting task it would be to find and sustain an audience. Talkshow is taking this challenge head-on, filling up a very easily watchable run time of 30-minutes with live comedy, sketch comedy and special guests while still leaving just enough air for spontaneity to keep both the standard and undomesticated audiences engaged and entertained. This show comes from the pedigree of TV you've fed yourself and your pets for years, and I think you'll find in time Talkshow will be scientifically proven to improve your entire quality of life. Keep it up Talkshow and we'll keep watching!!! Expand
  21. DonJ
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    I'm totally hooked. I didn't think it's possible, but the show's funnier than Conan. Long Live TALKSHOW!!!
  22. JoeM
    Sep 26, 2006
    9
    TALKSHOW with Spike Feresten was a total breath of fresh air to late night tv. The show is smart and funny, that's the only way to describe it. Finally, Fox has seems to get it right.
  23. RalphieM
    Sep 26, 2006
    8
    This is one of the funniest shows to come out in a while. It's subversive, not meant for someone who wants to watch a monologue. It's making fun of all the late night staples that we're all sick of.
  24. JenR
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    Maybe it's just our sensibilites, but my husband and I honestly thought this was the funniest and freshest show we'd seen in a long time. It suits our senses of humor exactly and we loved the low-rent, prankster feel of it. I think if Spike is given the chance, there is definitely room in late night for his kind of humor. I do see the similarities to Conan, but as much as I Maybe it's just our sensibilites, but my husband and I honestly thought this was the funniest and freshest show we'd seen in a long time. It suits our senses of humor exactly and we loved the low-rent, prankster feel of it. I think if Spike is given the chance, there is definitely room in late night for his kind of humor. I do see the similarities to Conan, but as much as I adore Conan, so many of his wacky characters are stale, contrived, and pointless, while at least Spike gives Electric Lincoln a purpose (to entertain stoned people). (Conan's writers seem to just choose 1 adjective, 1 noun, and 1 action at random and call it a character. Funny the first few times, but now it's just lame.) I am really looking forward to seeing what Spike does next, and I think when he finds his audience, he will be a huge hit. Expand
  25. EricM
    Sep 18, 2006
    7
    I think a lot of the professional critics didn't get the joke. It's not a talk show -- in fact, it was 2/3 taped segments. "Talkshow" is a post-modern parody of talk show conventions, from its deconstruction of "man on the street" segments to its nasty East Hollywood model skyline. I caught the pilot purely by accident, and I thought it was decently funny and inventive. It does I think a lot of the professional critics didn't get the joke. It's not a talk show -- in fact, it was 2/3 taped segments. "Talkshow" is a post-modern parody of talk show conventions, from its deconstruction of "man on the street" segments to its nasty East Hollywood model skyline. I caught the pilot purely by accident, and I thought it was decently funny and inventive. It does have its flaws, including its "Mad TV"-style over-hyped audience on meth, but this is definitely Tivo-able, especially if Saturday Night Live continues its suckiness in its new season. Expand
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. 60
    Feresten... is engaging in a slightly weird, self-mocking, Letterman-esque way, with only occasional forays into dippy post-frat humor.
  2. It all seems familiar, which isn't necessarily bad, but it makes the show somewhat stale.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    20
    If there's a silver lining, "Talkshow" will likely make its often-overlooked lead-in, "Mad TV," resemble "Your Show of Shows."