Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jun 2, 2011
    100
    Not only is it really well thought out, but the good-looking kids in the show can actually act.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 2, 2011
    91
    A winner and best of all, fun.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 2, 2011
    88
    The only disappointment is the werewolf makeup, minimal enough that Posey could still blend in at the mall. [13 Jun 2011, p.48]
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 3, 2011
    80
    It may also turn out that "Twilight" and "The Vampire Diaries" and their kin have satisfied the target audiences for these wistfully romantic bedtime fantasies. But if there's room for one more, Teen Wolf could be it.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jun 3, 2011
    60
    The very special scheduling is one of several ways the network has been signaling that it means serious business with this light and passably witty supernatural drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jun 3, 2011
    60
    Yes, boys and girls, Teen Wolf has more to say than "Jersey Shore."
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 3, 2011
    60
    As with any pilot, there are questions about whether the show's initially strong production values and special effects will remain high quality in subsequent episodes. And it remains to be seen how the characters and their relationships will develop. But at least Teen Wolf puts its best foot, er, paw forward.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 6, 2011
    50
    The series generally gets the mood right but proves miserly in the details, from fleeting glimpses of the werewolf to Scott's eventual moon dance, which leaves him looking too much like Eddie Munster.
  9. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 3, 2011
    50
    This is a pretty by-the-numbers blend of teen angst and horror.
  10. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 3, 2011
    50
    It is billed as scarier and sexier than the lighthearted film series. It is that, but still plays it safer than, say, "Vampire Diaries" or the "Twilight" films.
  11. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jun 2, 2011
    50
    MTV's scripted choices so far, including "Skins" and "The Hard Times of RJ Berger," have been interesting but ultimately disappointing. And Teen Wolf, so bland from the get-go, doesn't promise to change that streak.
  12. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 6, 2011
    40
    As a Michael Fox-loving member of the demographic it targeted, I most certainly saw the 1985 film "Teen Wolf," but I don't remember much save it was a comedy and not very good. Teen Wolf, which premieres Sunday night on MTV, is also one of those two things and it is not a comedy.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 3, 2011
    40
    Teen Wolf bounds so wildly between its main plot points that I began to wonder if my press copy of the show had skipped some scenes or if they'd been assembled out of order.
  14. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 3, 2011
    40
    You might watch Teen Wolf and find a diverting if familiar, brooding teen drama, and that's fine. I found myself watching it and thinking: I want my MTV.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent show. The acting is good and the plot is interesting. A good show to watch in the summer. This is one of the few shows I have beenExcellent show. The acting is good and the plot is interesting. A good show to watch in the summer. This is one of the few shows I have been watching right now and I am surprised that it is a good quality suspenseful show. Full Review »
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Can't believe I actually like a show in this generations MTV. The casting and production quality are great, the acting isn't terrible and ICan't believe I actually like a show in this generations MTV. The casting and production quality are great, the acting isn't terrible and I don't want to stab myself in the face after watching it for ten minutes like the last 11 years of MTV's programming. Full Review »
  3. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    Fantastic show! A breath of fresh air from the programmes shown on television these days. Cool characters, good script and plenty of action.Fantastic show! A breath of fresh air from the programmes shown on television these days. Cool characters, good script and plenty of action. Def a must watch!!! Full Review »