• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 13, 2008
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 136

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    4
    Now this show i not tht good really. You know that this website is BS if this show got higher ratings than Terminator 2 Judgement day. This show really did not have a good plot and there are many things wrong with it.
  2. NerijusD
    Jun 7, 2009
    4
    Rather bad TV series.
  3. TomS
    Apr 26, 2009
    2
    A melodramatic, drawn out to the nth degree raping of the Terminator franchise. Sarah Connor's voice over narrations at the end of each episode are eerily similar to the Final Thoughts segment from The Jerry Springer Show. Bad in every way.
  4. RossVegas
    Jan 29, 2008
    4
    What is the point of watching this show anyway? It has the made for TV looks that aren't bad enough to be funny-just weak. Wow! Lotsa balsa wood being broken. I love Firefly, but Glau is underwhelming. And as for J.C. having to snap his mom out of freezing up/daydreaming (Mom! Now! Let's go!) well, this Sarah Connor is no soldier at all. Pointless retcon of the franchise that What is the point of watching this show anyway? It has the made for TV looks that aren't bad enough to be funny-just weak. Wow! Lotsa balsa wood being broken. I love Firefly, but Glau is underwhelming. And as for J.C. having to snap his mom out of freezing up/daydreaming (Mom! Now! Let's go!) well, this Sarah Connor is no soldier at all. Pointless retcon of the franchise that played itself put admirably. Let it go now. Expand
  5. KristinK
    Jan 24, 2008
    1
    Seriously, I watched one episode and thought it was lame. I tried to watch it again, and after a few minutes I was thinking, even with a writer's strike, I can't stoop this low... I was BORED. It was poorly acted, poorly scripted and just plain not very interesting. I am a fan of the Terminator movies and generally go for the sci-fi stuff, so it isn't a genre issue. It just Seriously, I watched one episode and thought it was lame. I tried to watch it again, and after a few minutes I was thinking, even with a writer's strike, I can't stoop this low... I was BORED. It was poorly acted, poorly scripted and just plain not very interesting. I am a fan of the Terminator movies and generally go for the sci-fi stuff, so it isn't a genre issue. It just simply is not a very good show, and I am frankly amazed that it has gotten such good reviews... Expand
  6. SaaaharaFuture
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    boooring,b-movie effects,female terminator who has "feelings" ?¿ Also the View from the fem. T, looks they habe used a ipod or psp icon on the right..... 1 from 10, bc the nightmare cg thingy was nice. So a small resume : 60min "?¿!wtf, stop" and only 20s are good....from the 3rd epi on. they should make a anime/comic version....
  7. MarcelK.
    Jan 15, 2008
    3
    Very weak! I missed the pilot that most of the positive review relate to, however I was very excited about watching the first episode yesterday night. However this excitement only lasted for the exact lenght of the "What happened so far on the Sarah Connoer Chronicles"...I couldn't believe the weak acting, flat storyline and poor special defec...excuse me, effects. The female Very weak! I missed the pilot that most of the positive review relate to, however I was very excited about watching the first episode yesterday night. However this excitement only lasted for the exact lenght of the "What happened so far on the Sarah Connoer Chronicles"...I couldn't believe the weak acting, flat storyline and poor special defec...excuse me, effects. The female terminator (who did a great job in Firefly) looks weak, weird and actually doesn't feel like a Terminator at all. Sure there are some "A-ha" effects when she fights the bigger & bad Terminators, but only for the first time she blocks the first blow effortlessly. One of the biggest draws to the original Terminator flicks is how Arnie gets torn apart, but regardless of his visual appearance he keeps working relentlessly trying to fullfill his mission. The TV series tries to make this point as well, she gets pushed out of windows and run over by cars...but she only sustains few superficial scratches and they are not even carried over conistently from scene-to-scene. Sarah is too "pretty", doesn't feel like a tough women at all and John is a regular 18-year-old-do-no-good. In the end I didn't buy into either of the three main characters, but John probably gets the closest to his intended role. The biggest dissapointment for me is the story-line though, instead of coming up with something creative, they just add to the time travel confusion. Also there's no suspense at all related to who's good or bad here...I am almost afraid that the big surprise during the season finale will be the "friendly" Terminator turning bad. Watch out, this is not worth your time! Expand
  8. johndoe
    Jan 14, 2008
    0
    im assuming these good reviews are a kind of conspiracy due to the writers strike. the entire industry needs this show to do well because its their obi wan (only hope). i cant imagine real, intelligent television reviewers such as brian lowry at variety actually think this show is decent. the times called it "relevant." what does that mean? this show is garbage. really really bad. viva im assuming these good reviews are a kind of conspiracy due to the writers strike. the entire industry needs this show to do well because its their obi wan (only hope). i cant imagine real, intelligent television reviewers such as brian lowry at variety actually think this show is decent. the times called it "relevant." what does that mean? this show is garbage. really really bad. viva laughlin bad. no viva terminator. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 88
    The Sarah Connor Chronicles" begins as an intense, thoughtful, exciting, fun spectacle. The first episode will kick your ass.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    80
    Humans vs. cyborgs in a movie spin-off that's surprisingly effective for fans of both action and character drama.
  3. Some die-hards may be frustrated by inconsistencies in the timeline with "Terminator 3," but unless you get overly wrapped up in the details of time travel, tonight's pilot is an intense adventure.