Terra Nova : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mikey O'Connell
    Sep 26, 2011
    70
    Terra Nova is another vehicle for a familiar story. It's one we're happy to watch, just maybe not with the fervor FOX is hoping for.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 26, 2011
    67
    So long as the dinos roam, Terra Nova has a future.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 26, 2011
    70
    Terra Nova walks a fine line and how well it manages to stay on that path will likely determine its ultimate success or failure.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    Good family fun--providing your family doesn't include little kids who are scared to sleep. Ever.
  5. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    If they keep the cute at bay for more dinosaurs and dirty dealings, this should be a great ride.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 26, 2011
    80
    Terra Nova manages to introduce a panoply of narrative threads and themes while telling a remarkably clean story, both in terms of plot line and tone; Terra Nova is whole-family friendly.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 26, 2011
    70
    In the good-news department, Terra Nova is big, noisy and wildly cinematic, and Fox has pulled out all the stops with an Allosaurus-sized campaign to ensure the series opens--all the things that ought to generate sampling in a big-screen HD era.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    Luckily for Terra Nova, fans of the genre are often at least temporarily willing to overlook bad writing and performances if the battles are exciting and special effects convincing, and they are. That should buy the show time to improve.
  9. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    The opener is marred by a conventional plot. The producers--who include Steven Spielberg--show almost complete indifference to science (or sci-fi). That said, TV's most ambitious new series has some promise.
  10. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    The Shannons overall are about the last reason I would recommend this show, after the cool visuals, some effective action set pieces and the expected strong supporting performance by Stephen Lang.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2011
    70
    If you can make it past the exposition, and the earnest family cliches--a rebellious teenage son, an awkward brainiac daughter--there's plenty of satisfying dino action. And it all looks gorgeous.
  12. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Sep 23, 2011
    70
    Terra Nova stakes out its own universe, and the fact that we have been on such journeys before may enhance the experience of this one.
  13. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 22, 2011
    75
    Now that the premise of the show has been established, it would be nice to see more shades of gray and less black and white.
  14. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    As a weekly series, the effects need to remain impressive and the writers need to avoid falling into "Lost" and "Walking Dead" band-of-survivors rehash.
  15. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    Even with a lavish two-hour premiere, Terra Nova could stand to slow down and admire the world it has taken us to--Earth, 85 million years ago. Still and all, it's a dazzling debut, with a variety of compelling mysteries to get itself going.
  16. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 27, 2011
    63
    Even with Steven Spielberg listed among the executive producers, this distant world doesn't inspire much awe. [3 Oct 2011, p.45]
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 111
  2. Negative: 40 out of 111
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    1
    Incredibly awful writing. Inconsistent characters and annoying out-of-the-blue emo son who suddenly, inexplicably blames his dad. PoorIncredibly awful writing. Inconsistent characters and annoying out-of-the-blue emo son who suddenly, inexplicably blames his dad. Poor production value on the sets. Wooden acting. No subtlety to the story. Really, really, really bad. It's like George Lucas wrote it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    2
    A 65 average critic score for this debacle of a show? Are you serious? I just wasted 2 hours of my life that I can't get back. I was hopingA 65 average critic score for this debacle of a show? Are you serious? I just wasted 2 hours of my life that I can't get back. I was hoping for way more of a sci-fi/adventure type story but this ended up being a soap opera in the prehistoric days. Awful, really really awful. Do not waste your time with this show as it will be canceled during the first season. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Terra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questionsTerra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questions answered, many more left for us to discover during our weekly visit. The production quality (i.e. FX) are pretty decent for a TV show, I didn't walk away with that cheesy feeling you often get just after watching a program that tries to pull off too much. All in all, I think the pilot did a good job of filling us in on what we need to know while giving us a reason to return, and I will be returning. Maybe I'm a sucker for anything Sci-fi, but I like the premise, the actors and the stage that has been set for future content. Now they just need to keep it up. Full Review »