• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 228 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 228

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 17, 2013
    1
    Watched most of the first episode and then just gave up. Can't buy that these supposed native Russians are as American as apple pie. They're depressing. Kerry Russell is boring. Her character has no personality. Her ability to beat the crap out of big thuggy guys with no response on their part is laughable. The family life seemed out of place. The early 1980s is too recent to be a period piece and too old to be interesting. I just couldn't get into it. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    2
    Another one bites the dust, great premise but lacks all heart. It went for an hour but I literally felt like I was watching it for days, so tedious and dragged out boring. The casting is horrible, Russell is completely miscast in the role and does not ever come across as being able to defend herself, let alone beat up someone bigger than her. Her acting is flat and lifeless. It's trying to ride the hype of the recent terrorist shows out at the moment and in this case no amount of Phil Collins music will help it succeed. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss.
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    1
    I was looking forward to the show but felt really disappointed. Although the acting is fantastic it was just so boring to watch. Maybe it is a slow burner and more is to come but I just did not enjoy the story line either. Also there is something wrong with Rhys' mouth, I think his teeth have been capped and it made him look weird. Because of this I could not take him seriously. Russell gave some terrific acting but I did not feel she could save this program. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    The Americans has potential. The way it uses recent history as a reflector of modern deceits while bouncing the concept of patriotism around mixes nicely with the hang-by-your-fingertips story turns.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 31, 2013
    75
    It's tense, engrossing, mildly ludicrous--and worth checking out before the Cold War melts. [11 Feb 2013]