The Big C : Season 4

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 16, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 12, 2013
    10
    Oh, The Big C. After an amazingly written first season, the show became, for the next 2 forthcoming seasons, mild. Problems weren't as brilliantly worked as they were in the beginning. However, season 4 brought deep emotions that were being held by the writers/producers. Seeing death being portrayed this way is, at least, incredible. It continues to be bittersweet in its core and that'sOh, The Big C. After an amazingly written first season, the show became, for the next 2 forthcoming seasons, mild. Problems weren't as brilliantly worked as they were in the beginning. However, season 4 brought deep emotions that were being held by the writers/producers. Seeing death being portrayed this way is, at least, incredible. It continues to be bittersweet in its core and that's what's amazing about the show. And Laura Linney is breathtaking to say the least. Amazing performance. Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    Each episode of The Big C's 4-hour finale is full of love, sadness and optimism. Each one has brought me to tears, and every actor is perfect in these last few episodes. It brings some really worthwhile ideas to mind. It's an emotional sucker punch, and it's quite depressing, but it's important viewing. Needless to say, Laura Linney deserves every award in the universe for this part. I'llEach episode of The Big C's 4-hour finale is full of love, sadness and optimism. Each one has brought me to tears, and every actor is perfect in these last few episodes. It brings some really worthwhile ideas to mind. It's an emotional sucker punch, and it's quite depressing, but it's important viewing. Needless to say, Laura Linney deserves every award in the universe for this part. I'll never forget you, Cathy Jamison. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2013
    8
    After a disappointing third season, the fourth season fails to capture the essence of seasons one and two, but it is very close. Of the four hour-long episodes, I would say that my favorite was the first one. The finale is a close second. It felt like a regular Big C episode. That is what I enjoyed about the final season. The characters don't have confusing side plots like last season.After a disappointing third season, the fourth season fails to capture the essence of seasons one and two, but it is very close. Of the four hour-long episodes, I would say that my favorite was the first one. The finale is a close second. It felt like a regular Big C episode. That is what I enjoyed about the final season. The characters don't have confusing side plots like last season. Overall, you should definitely watch this if you are a fan of the show. The ending will feel satisfying. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    Sorry for my late review. After watching the series for the third time, I would like to thank the cast and crew of The Big C for the amazing, emotional, laugh-out-loud & heartfelt journey that the show has brought me on again and again. My favourite TV series brought me a first-person view of Cathy's personal struggle with cancer and her endless charm that brought a smile to our faces evenSorry for my late review. After watching the series for the third time, I would like to thank the cast and crew of The Big C for the amazing, emotional, laugh-out-loud & heartfelt journey that the show has brought me on again and again. My favourite TV series brought me a first-person view of Cathy's personal struggle with cancer and her endless charm that brought a smile to our faces even on the gloomiest of days for Cathy. The marvellous spectrum of characters that we are introduced to compliment Laura Linney's ace acting. It feels like we have a slice of a life well lived in the short narration we witness. It is hard not to have your heart-strings thug at every turn either with pathos or joy. It was a real pleasure to have seen this art in motion. Once again the critics and user reviews reflect that the usual dismal uncultured creatures have come out to voice whatever fad critique they have brewing up in the underworld. Usually attacking the show for its "unrealistic presentation of cancer", for its "over-dramatic" plot and for the seasons variation in story-telling. Critique of that which is the first rule of a good drama - make it dramatic. We all know the tripe that (not-so-reality) reality TV spews out. Cathy's life is a roller-coaster of emotion, delightfully splitting between the Mid-week mood to the Weekend, as opposed to the monotony that critics have demanded of it. Lastly, The Big C stays fresh true and true. Often taking us out-side normal behaviour and right back to the mundane principles we live by. It develops ; too quick for some obviously.

    To end on a good tone and to voice Curt Wagner once again. It was a masterpiece, Cathy lived & I love life more for it.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Linney and company are masterful (Basso is a revelation); the final episode's writing is solid.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 29, 2013
    80
    From its very first scene, Hereafter manages to capture the sense those of us being left behind sometimes get; that the person going already has a foot planted somewhere else. But it also, repeatedly, hones in on the joy that can hit unexpectedly at even the worst moments.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 29, 2013
    80
    While there are times when it’s no easier to watch, the certainty of the end seems to give the show more focus.