• Network: ITV1 , ITV
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 1984
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26
The Bill Image

No score yet - based on 0 Critics

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Summary: Welcome to The Bill guide at TV.com. The Bill recounts the goings-on within and around Sun Hill, a Metropolitan Police Station located in the fictional Borough of Canley, in east London. Running for over 25 years, The Bill was Britain's longest running police drama series, finally outstripping Dixon of Dock Green on 10 August 2005. It adapted to meet the challenges of the highly competitive world of independent television, evolving from a standard post-watershed police procedural drama, through a period as a twice- and, later, thrice-weekly early evening ratings grabber with stand-alone plots, then as a twice-weekly one-hour drama with ongoing soap-style exploration of the troubled personal lives of its police officers. The Bill reverted to a once a week, post-watershed drama on 23 July 2009, but ITV decided not to renew the show when the contract came up for renewal the following year. The Bill is not your average cop show, but rather an extraordinary police drama that brings each episode to the audience through the eyes of the characters. An excellent cast, supported by some of the country's leading writers and directors and some innovative camera work gives an incredible sense of realism. Other police dramas have been created in an attempt to mirror its conventions and match its success, but none has lasted. The Bill truly deserves its accolade as Britain's most successful police drama.
Network: ITV1 , ITV
Genre(s): Drama
Seasons: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26
Cast Credit
Shaun Scott DI Chris Deakin
Graham Cole PC Tony Stamp
Simon Rouse DCI Jack Meadows
Alex Walkinshaw PC Dale Smith
Chris Simmons DC Mickey Webb
Jeff Stewart PC Reg Hollis
Russell Boulter DS John Boulton
Clive Wedderburn PC Gary McCann
René Zagger PC Nick Klein
Lisa Geoghan PC Polly Page
Matthew Crompton PC Sam Harker
Suzanne Maddock PC Cass Rickman
Samantha Robson PC Vicky Hagen
Colin Tarrant Insp Andrew Monroe
Ben Roberts (II) Ch Insp Derek Conway
Tony O'Callaghan Sgt Matthew Boyden
Huw Higginson P.C. Garfield
Andrew Paul PC Dave Quinnan
George Rossi DC Duncan Lennox
Ged Simmons DI Alex Cullen
Ray Ashcroft DS Geoff Daly
Mark Wingett PC Jim Carver
Joy Brook DC Kerry Holmes
Billy Murray DS Don Beech
Trudie Goodwin Sgt June Ackland
Eric Richard Sgt Bob Cryer
Libby Davison D.C. Rawton
Michael Higgs P.C. Santini
Jane Wall PC Di Worrell
Clara Salaman DS Claire Stanton
Ben Peyton PC Ben Hayward
Holly Davidson PC Roz Clarke
Steven Hartley Supt Tom Chandler
Raji James DS Vik Singh
Natalie Roles DS Debbie McAllister
Gary Grant DC Paul Riley
Tania Emery DC Kate Spears
Gregory Donaldson D.C. Proctor
Karl Collins DC Danny Glaze
Iain Fletcher D.C. Skase