The Cape : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 6, 2011
    83
    While critics like me count quibbles, kids of all ages should share my husband's assessment: "It's a superhero show. Superman flies. Give The Cape a little space."
  2. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Jan 6, 2011
    80
    The Cape is far more economical in its storytelling, far less weighted by its own mythologies and a much better time. Someone in network land as learned a lesson [from "Heroes"].
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 6, 2011
    80
    If the premise sounds cheesy and busy, the execution is crisp and efficient--and manages to sell dialogue like, "Together, we can take this city back," which often sounds better in a word balloon.
  4. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 6, 2011
    75
    Either you'll jump right in or you'll give up immediately. I think it's about time a drama embraces a super power that's long been forgotten: showmanship.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 5, 2011
    75
    It's probably doomed to cult status, but The Cape is primal fun.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 6, 2011
    70
    Marked by logical elisions, word-balloon dialogue and conveniently located plot holes though it may be, this is a machine for putting its heroes in tight spaces and watching them kick their way free, and it does its work efficiently and with flair.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 6, 2011
    70
    It's a self-aware superhero drama that manages to have some fun amid the righteous butt-kicking, and if it can develop its characters intelligently and keep up the sprightly pace, I'll stick around.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 6, 2011
    63
    A cape is simply not exciting or convincing as a superhero weapon. And making constant jokes in the dialogue about the flaw isn't the same as fixing it. To its credit, The Cape is at least easier to follow than The Event and is less mythology-burdened than Heroes.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    The Cape is by far the best show on Sunday nights. A break from either a news show or a drama aimed at females, The Cape offers a good ol'The Cape is by far the best show on Sunday nights. A break from either a news show or a drama aimed at females, The Cape offers a good ol' superhero show that nerds and regular viewers alike can watch. Great performances by all of the actors. Tripp could be a little better but he's just a kid. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    There were some cheesy moments but i found myself throughly entertained and expecting much much more in the following weeks. I was more thanThere were some cheesy moments but i found myself throughly entertained and expecting much much more in the following weeks. I was more than happy to see Summer Glau return to the small screen, and for all you Smallville fans i feel that this may fill the super hero void after the shows recent ending. I like the cape for a few reasons, he is very human and it shows. He is not the perfect superhero without any faults and seems apt to learn lessons from that. there are some funny moments although i did find myself wishing for a little more funny. As far as pilots go i enjoyed it and i look forward to next week, Monday 9 o clock. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    This is the best new series I have seen in years. Reminiscent of The Shadow, with a good dose of quirky humour and story. Also graced withThis is the best new series I have seen in years. Reminiscent of The Shadow, with a good dose of quirky humour and story. Also graced with great actors and an originality lacking in many television shows today. Full Review »