• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1
The Cape Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vince Faraday is a policeman who was framed for murder and takes on the disguise of his son's favorite superhero to clear his name.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jan 6, 2011
    83
    While critics like me count quibbles, kids of all ages should share my husband's assessment: "It's a superhero show. Superman flies. Give The Cape a little space."
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 6, 2011
    75
    Either you'll jump right in or you'll give up immediately. I think it's about time a drama embraces a super power that's long been forgotten: showmanship.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jan 6, 2011
    70
    Marked by logical elisions, word-balloon dialogue and conveniently located plot holes though it may be, this is a machine for putting its heroes in tight spaces and watching them kick their way free, and it does its work efficiently and with flair.
  4. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Jan 9, 2011
    50
    As much as they have at stake, neither Vince nor Dana is as much fun to watch as Max. Master of the arched eyebrow and the sly grin, Max is better than a circus act.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 11, 2011
    50
    Every time he flaps into view in his baggy hoodedness, he looks like Batman in need of a tailor. [17 Jan 2011, p.40]
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 7, 2011
    40
    This isn't a catastrophe, mind you. It's not Knight Rider-Bionic Woman awful. It's merely forgettable. Which is just sad.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Swanson
    Jan 6, 2011
    25
    The Cape falls into a wasteland of its own making, where neither the stakes nor the jokes can distract one from the thinness of its writing.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    The Cape is entertaining and in some ways endearing. Vince Faraday's devotion to his family is inspiring. I hope they don't turn his relationship with Dana into a disgusting love triangle. It already it looks like they're trying to shape up Dana's co-worker Thomas into a possible love interest, some things in that area give me hope. Such as Dana's devotion to Vince's innocence (even though she struggled at first) and her continuing to seek proof of that. I have respect for superheroes who work to become what they are, like Batman, instead of having natural super powers.

    My Fear is that The Cape will be passed over as a trivial show because it is not as grim as other superhero tales or so complicated as shows like Heroes. I think the Cape is a good, solid show. O hope they choose to run its full season and renew it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    I look forward to seeing The Cape every Monday night. I have seen the old Batman and Star Trek TV series and I always thought they were great. This series keeps the campy feeling while being current with special effects and great story lines. Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    The Cape is by far the best show on Sunday nights. A break from either a news show or a drama aimed at females, The Cape offers a good ol' superhero show that nerds and regular viewers alike can watch. Great performances by all of the actors. Tripp could be a little better but he's just a kid. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    I don't know why this show has gotten such bad ratings. I think it's a great show. Good acting, great comic book style story, some very unique ideas and engaging, semi realistic action makes this a must see. Disappointing that it got cancelled. Also, this show is NOTHING like heroes and it isn't trying to be! So stop saying that people! If you think it is then you obviously haven't seen heroes. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2011
    6
    NBC's superhero drama is too thoroughly coated in cheese to be anything but a self-aware attempt to have fun with the superhero genre. The big question is: does it work? If the first two episodes are any indication the answer is that yes, it occasionally works, but it has a long way to go in order to succeed. The show's biggest immediate problem is the overall tone and how wildly it shifts from one side to the other. There are times that it tries to be serious, with Summer Glau's Orwell deftly maneuvering her way through computer touchscreens and David Lyon's Vince Farrady having flashbacks to the happy times before he is forced to go under the mask. Then, it quickly shifts to goofy scenes involving Keith David's underground sideshow characters. This is a show that clearly wants to emulate comic books, but it doesn't yet know which comic book it wants to be. You can't go from dark, serious stories to wacky, over-the-top heists within the same episode, and that is what the cape is trying to accomplish. At the same time the acting is solid, James Frain is a lot of fun as the villain Chess and Vinnie Jones is a blast as Scales. This show has potential, but will it last long enough to improve? Difficult to say at this point, but hopefully it will get a shot. It's daring to be different, and that's something to be lauded. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2011
    4
    Too convoluted and cliche in the first episode. The best way to describe this show comes in the form of lines from said episode. Store Clerk, "What do they call you?"
    The Cape,"The Cape."
    Clerk, "The Cape? Well You'll work on it."

    Work on it indeed, that is, of course, if it doesn't get pulled from the air first.
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    0
    I don't know how many eye rolls I had while watching this, but it was a lot. I mean really? We are suppose to take a show like this seriously? If you're going to spend all of this money on a show like this, make sure you set aside a decent chunk of it towards thinks like a script with some real dialog, actors that can do more than read the script, and a story line that's fun and interesting. What a complete waste of time. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews