• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    38
    Diaries is lukewarm and earnest. [21 Jan 2013]
  2. 30
    The problem is that The Carrie Diaries is an inept spinoff that dishonors its source.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 14, 2013
    30
    Carrie's antics in New York are a kind of chick version of Matthew Broderick's madcap adventures in Ferris Bueller's Day Off. But Schwartz can't cut the umbilical cord--perhaps fallopian tube is a more apt metaphor--to his original source material, and that's where The Carrie Diaries goes off the rails.
  4. Reviewed by: Zeba Blay
    Jan 11, 2013
    25
    While it's not surprising that The Carrie Diaries is unlikely to appeal to fans of the HBO franchise, it's still disappointing that much of what made that series work has given way to cliché and oversimplification.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Carrie Diaries is a show that makes you think you're watching a John Hughes movie. A show that features 80s fashion, music and NYC is really charming. It definitely doesn't look like a SATC prequel, but its fun to watch a teen show with promising nostalgia. Full Review »
  2. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    When I saw the commercials for it I thought that it would be terrible, but I decided to give it a chance anyways. While watching the first episode, I fell completely in love with it. It really doesn't have that much to do with Sex and the City besides the location which is what I think makes it a great show. I would recommend everyone to give it a try as long as they have an open mind and dont try to compare it to Sex and the City. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    I thought the shop was adorable and muchly needed. As a fan of Sex and the city I missed seeing a show with a womans voice around. I loved the opportunity to see where she came from and to see her grow and form into who she was in Sex & the City. Though heaps of critics are unsure about AnnaSophia Robb I think she is just sweet and innocent enough to play the role of Carrie. I'm excited to see what it brings and I truly didn't want episode one to end. It made me feel like a child again and I loved the John Hughes feel to it. It's exciting and dynamic and the characters have depth to them. Can't wait to see more. Full Review »