• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 7, 2011
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 1, 2011
    100
    As police superintendent Teresa Colvin, Jennifer Beals gives a revelatory, no-nonsense performance that should make Tom Selleck's mustache bristle with envy....This should be lots of fun. [7 Feb 2011, p.39]
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Feb 9, 2011
    90
    It's extremely well cast, uses its Windy City locations beautifully and has an energy that grabs you pretty much from the first scene. Monday nights are really, really crowded, but you need to make room for this show.
  3. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Feb 3, 2011
    88
    The action is fast, and I was pleased to find that scenes play out unpredictably. I do look forward to less explaining, though, and more insights.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    i find it very interesting that 4 of the bad reviews on here have one thing in common they all gave the cape a ten do i sense some hatingi find it very interesting that 4 of the bad reviews on here have one thing in common they all gave the cape a ten do i sense some hating going on cause the cape only has a 54 in ratings and the chicago code has 75 which means the cape has more of a chance at getting cancelled mmmm i wonder lol whoever reads these reviews do not make up your mind based on these reviews watch the show yourself and decide because there is some big time hating going on here lol Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    The Chicago Code comes out swinging. Bodies pile up at an alarming rate even for an urban jungle. The cast looks fantastic (althoughThe Chicago Code comes out swinging. Bodies pile up at an alarming rate even for an urban jungle. The cast looks fantastic (although Jennifer Beals as the beautiful Police Superintendent is a bit of a cliche). The Alderman may be a bit too evil. I mean come on! You can't kill everybody....not even in Chicago. At this rate they'll be no cast members left by the end of the first season. Here's hoping for a guest appearance from Rod Blagojevich. Full Review »
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    Not sure what's going on with The Cape superfan giving this show a 0 and The Cape a 10 on what appears to be 4 or 5 different accounts held byNot sure what's going on with The Cape superfan giving this show a 0 and The Cape a 10 on what appears to be 4 or 5 different accounts held by the same person.... I found the current metascore of 75 to be very accurate-- this is a good show, but they will need to expand upon the corruption arc and characters to make it great. I saw vague shades of The Wire in the pilot, with Chicago subbing for Baltimore. Time will tell if those aspirations are realized or if they go in the other direction and decide to dumb it down in the name of audience accessibility. I would like to applaud the use of narration to not only cut down on expository dialogue that plagues new shows but to also sneak in a surprise I did not see coming. Full Review »