• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 7, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 9 out of 63

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    9
    The Chicago Code comes out swinging. Bodies pile up at an alarming rate even for an urban jungle. The cast looks fantastic (although Jennifer Beals as the beautiful Police Superintendent is a bit of a cliche). The Alderman may be a bit too evil. I mean come on! You can't kill everybody....not even in Chicago. At this rate they'll be no cast members left by the end of the firstThe Chicago Code comes out swinging. Bodies pile up at an alarming rate even for an urban jungle. The cast looks fantastic (although Jennifer Beals as the beautiful Police Superintendent is a bit of a cliche). The Alderman may be a bit too evil. I mean come on! You can't kill everybody....not even in Chicago. At this rate they'll be no cast members left by the end of the first season. Here's hoping for a guest appearance from Rod Blagojevich. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2011
    6
    Anotrher cookie cutter cop show. Too bad, as I like the Aussie guy (Jason Clarke who is the lead) from his great work in "Brotherhood." Here however he isn't backed up by good writing or an interesting ensemble. Beals is way out of her depth and rather ludicrous as a 30's something top cop chick. Not her fault the role is simply too "TV" to work. There is a lot of running about and a lotAnotrher cookie cutter cop show. Too bad, as I like the Aussie guy (Jason Clarke who is the lead) from his great work in "Brotherhood." Here however he isn't backed up by good writing or an interesting ensemble. Beals is way out of her depth and rather ludicrous as a 30's something top cop chick. Not her fault the role is simply too "TV" to work. There is a lot of running about and a lot of snappy dialog but there is no depth to either the characters or the plot. Detroit 187 is a fair show and it's better than this one. Southland is still the best cop show on TV, by far. This one seems like "Blue bloods" lite, and "Blue Bloods" is slightly more palatable and classy. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    The creators of The Shield introduced an even better show to Fox in the Spring of 2011, The Chicago Code. You probably never heard of it though, because in their infinite wisdom, Fox only gave the show three months. The rating weren't spectacular, but they weren't bad either. In June, The Chicago Code became part of Fox's mass cancellation, which saw Dollhouse, Lie To Me, Human Target, andThe creators of The Shield introduced an even better show to Fox in the Spring of 2011, The Chicago Code. You probably never heard of it though, because in their infinite wisdom, Fox only gave the show three months. The rating weren't spectacular, but they weren't bad either. In June, The Chicago Code became part of Fox's mass cancellation, which saw Dollhouse, Lie To Me, Human Target, and Alcatraz gone in the blink of eye. It begs the question, did the Fox executives ever bother to watch these shows? The Chicago Code was well written, fast-paced, and featured a tremendous cast of new and established talent. If it had been on cable, I have no doubt that this show would still be on the air and at the top of the ratings.

    The Chicago Code features Jennifer Beals as Superintendent, Teresa Colvin, hired by the Chicago Mayor to help clean up the police force. Colvin has greater ambitions though, as she plans on cleaning up local government and taking on the Irish mob as well. To do this, Colvin covertly puts together a team, that has the power to choose it's own cases and make a case against their prime target, Alderman Ronin Gibbons (Delroy Lindo). Gibbons has been on the city counsel for half a century and thanks to his mob connections, he is considered to be the most powerful politician in Chicago. Everyone knows he's dirty, but the hard part is proving that in a court of law.

    Colvin's team is led by Detective Jarek Wysocki (Jason Clarke), who has a scarred past, that has led him to his own unique and chaotic way of doing things. Wysocki is paired with a young, ambitious, clean cut college boy, Caleb Evers (Matt Lauria), who tries to keep Wysocki in check, while putting everyone else to shame with his incredible good looks. The third member of the team is an undercover officer, who has infiltrated the mob and is trying to work his way up to the politicians.

    Every episode contains different stories that follow the shady dealings, some case the pair is working on, the fallout for the Superintendent, and of course the undercover who has an in with the wrong crowd. The stories are edgy, intelligent, and really entertaining. A lot of shows get cancelled every year, but for the life of me, I can't figure out why this show wasn't given more of a chance. The chemistry the cast has, along with the terrific writing, and edge of your seat police drama made The Chicago Code one of the best shows to come out that year.

    Two years after it's cancellation, the show is still on my mind and in fact, I just recently watched it again, as it's streaming on Netflix. The story of The Chicago Code teaches us one very important thing about network television, it's all about the money! You can have an original idea, a great cast, and the most entertaining show to come along in years, but if it doesn't make more money than it costs, it's as good as gone.
    Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    For pity's sake some channel pick this one up, like you did with the excellent Southland. It's far too good to toss on the trash. Good plot, good acting, good direction.
  5. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    Not sure what's going on with The Cape superfan giving this show a 0 and The Cape a 10 on what appears to be 4 or 5 different accounts held by the same person.... I found the current metascore of 75 to be very accurate-- this is a good show, but they will need to expand upon the corruption arc and characters to make it great. I saw vague shades of The Wire in the pilot, with ChicagoNot sure what's going on with The Cape superfan giving this show a 0 and The Cape a 10 on what appears to be 4 or 5 different accounts held by the same person.... I found the current metascore of 75 to be very accurate-- this is a good show, but they will need to expand upon the corruption arc and characters to make it great. I saw vague shades of The Wire in the pilot, with Chicago subbing for Baltimore. Time will tell if those aspirations are realized or if they go in the other direction and decide to dumb it down in the name of audience accessibility. I would like to applaud the use of narration to not only cut down on expository dialogue that plagues new shows but to also sneak in a surprise I did not see coming. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    This show is bologna. Worst show on FOX, and that's a lot to say with the advent of glee. I cannot stress enough that this show is a waste of time. Anyone who would dare watch this show after its first episode is nuts. I hope this show is canceled.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    While the first few episodes started out weak and were not very compelling, this show was starting to figure out what worked and was getting interesting. By the end of the season, I was waiting all week for the new episodes to premiere and my father and I watched it religiously. It's a damn shame that Fox cancelled it prematurely and hopefully it'll go the way of Southland (THANK YOU,While the first few episodes started out weak and were not very compelling, this show was starting to figure out what worked and was getting interesting. By the end of the season, I was waiting all week for the new episodes to premiere and my father and I watched it religiously. It's a damn shame that Fox cancelled it prematurely and hopefully it'll go the way of Southland (THANK YOU, TNT) and get picked up by another, wiser network. Collapse
  8. Apr 8, 2011
    7
    After watching a few episodes I must say I really like this show. The characters are engaging, even Delroy Lindo who tends to over-act his Lex Luthor-esque character as the Alderman. Jennifer Beals is the real draw here. She is wonderful to say the least. The other main character in this show is Chicago. I have yet to see a movie or TV show that photographs Chicago this way. The shots ofAfter watching a few episodes I must say I really like this show. The characters are engaging, even Delroy Lindo who tends to over-act his Lex Luthor-esque character as the Alderman. Jennifer Beals is the real draw here. She is wonderful to say the least. The other main character in this show is Chicago. I have yet to see a movie or TV show that photographs Chicago this way. The shots of the city are amazing. We have seen too many times New York, or LA even Philly and Miami but never Chicago like this. The show is worth watching simply because of this city made character - Chicago. BTW I am not a Bear, Sox, Cub, Bulls, or Blackhawk fan. Expand
  9. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    I had high hopes coming into this show and all were exceeded by the end of the broadcast. Between the plot twists, awesome characters, and quick paced, this show will become a permentant part of my Tuesday evening. This is the best drama to come from FOX since 24.
  10. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    A great first episode, I am eagerly awaiting more. The actors were very interesting, with great characters and dialogue. I am very glad to see something new like this from Mr Ryan. It will be interesting to see what they can do with the format.
  11. Feb 20, 2011
    1
    There will be no Season 2. This show is terrible. What a shame, was hoping for something great....like the Shield.

    I read the show will be canceled soon...it won't even survive season 1
  12. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    I'm from California, but have lived in Illinois long enough to realize the corruption that "is" Chicago politics. The whole point of the show is to fight corruption, and they do. With mixed and realistic results. The characters are what makes this show work. The "head cop" is idealistic, tough minded, and admirable in her wish to rid the Windy city of nascent corruption and power freaks.I'm from California, but have lived in Illinois long enough to realize the corruption that "is" Chicago politics. The whole point of the show is to fight corruption, and they do. With mixed and realistic results. The characters are what makes this show work. The "head cop" is idealistic, tough minded, and admirable in her wish to rid the Windy city of nascent corruption and power freaks. Her former partner is an incredible egoist and talent, but even more interesting is his side-kick, who seems smarter and more self-possessed. I love the characters, I love the situations, I love moral dilemmas, and I love the realistic gray area that this show portrays. Whether it lasts more than half a season is another matter altogether. Good luck, Chicago Code! Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    I like this show but it's going to be cancelled and I'll explain why.

    "The Chicago Code" can't decide (or the network won't let it decide) what it wants to be and as a result it's falling between two stools. It's obviously influenced by shows like "The Wire" but it's also tied into a weekly procedural format. It isn't hard edged or dark enough for the audience that is drawn to "serious"
    I like this show but it's going to be cancelled and I'll explain why.

    "The Chicago Code" can't decide (or the network won't let it decide) what it wants to be and as a result it's falling between two stools.

    It's obviously influenced by shows like "The Wire" but it's also tied into a weekly procedural format. It isn't hard edged or dark enough for the audience that is drawn to "serious" drama but it isn't light enough to attract the CSI/NCIS etc. audience. I suspect the show is the product of trying to do a cable style show on a network. The show would undoubtedly have been better on AMC or HBO. As it stands it's probably too late for the show but it's best bet is to pick which type of show it wants to be and then commit to that.
    Expand
  14. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    This show makes me cringe. It's what's killing the cop show. Nothing more than violence with a shallow all-too-typical corruption story. There is no integrity to the cops. There is no realism to the grit. It is the lowest level of show you could ask for. But what could you expect from FOX.
  15. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    This show stinks of old cop show standards. It has no nostalgia. It has no authenticity. The only thing this show has is pretty faces and Chicago. I wonder if the people who wrote this show were drunk or at gunpoint when they wrote this garbage. It is the last thing you should watch on Monday. Don't even waste your time, go watch The Cape, it's better than this crap.
  16. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    I wouldn't wish this show on my worst enemy. It has a paper-thin plot, horribly written characters and a setting that's only grit rests on its politicians( whom are featured but so horribly written and executed) . I would highly recommend to FOX that this show be canceled immediately. But considering that this show is lackluster, it'll probably stay on the air. (Because people don't likeI wouldn't wish this show on my worst enemy. It has a paper-thin plot, horribly written characters and a setting that's only grit rests on its politicians( whom are featured but so horribly written and executed) . I would highly recommend to FOX that this show be canceled immediately. But considering that this show is lackluster, it'll probably stay on the air. (Because people don't like intellectual, brilliant shows anymore, especially on FOX.) Expand
  17. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    This show is horrible. Nothing more than FOX's half-baked attempt at a cop show. All the characters are 2D and the setting of Chicago does nothing for this show. No redeeming qualities. No high points. No better than glee. The dialogue is typical and horrible.
  18. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    I'm a huge fan of The Shield, so The Chicago Code had a lot to live up to for me. Shawn Ryan didn't disappoint. Yes, it's a prime time cop drama on a major network, so there are going to be some compromises made, but it doesn't pull too many punches and is surprisingly good.
  19. Feb 11, 2011
    8
    This show has potential and is establishing a strong foundation, the script was decent and there was enough action to keep me interested. Some may complain that they don't go into the details with the legal procedures but that may have bogged down the story too much, and it's a television show's job to keep the watcher entertained. If I wanted to learn the specific legalities I'd watch aThis show has potential and is establishing a strong foundation, the script was decent and there was enough action to keep me interested. Some may complain that they don't go into the details with the legal procedures but that may have bogged down the story too much, and it's a television show's job to keep the watcher entertained. If I wanted to learn the specific legalities I'd watch a documentary. Expand
  20. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    i find it very interesting that 4 of the bad reviews on here have one thing in common they all gave the cape a ten do i sense some hating going on cause the cape only has a 54 in ratings and the chicago code has 75 which means the cape has more of a chance at getting cancelled mmmm i wonder lol whoever reads these reviews do not make up your mind based on these reviews watch the showi find it very interesting that 4 of the bad reviews on here have one thing in common they all gave the cape a ten do i sense some hating going on cause the cape only has a 54 in ratings and the chicago code has 75 which means the cape has more of a chance at getting cancelled mmmm i wonder lol whoever reads these reviews do not make up your mind based on these reviews watch the show yourself and decide because there is some big time hating going on here lol Expand
  21. Feb 11, 2011
    4
    I loved the opening scene in my favorite hardware store in Forest Park. It was downhill after that. Trite and predictably over the top. C'mon the superintendent's uniform looked stupid on Beals, especially the oversized general's hat. She's 47 . . . let her look that old so the part is credible. I'll probably watch a couple of more episodes to catch some Chicago scenery, but once thatI loved the opening scene in my favorite hardware store in Forest Park. It was downhill after that. Trite and predictably over the top. C'mon the superintendent's uniform looked stupid on Beals, especially the oversized general's hat. She's 47 . . . let her look that old so the part is credible. I'll probably watch a couple of more episodes to catch some Chicago scenery, but once that thrill is gone, little to keep me hanging on. Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    Great show! The characters are very realistic. The first episode too much information for one hour, but after watching the second it's coming together. I hope this Chicago Code makes it. It's nice to see the neighbor hood. It took me awhile to figure out who Jennifer Beals was but now I figured it out (Flashdance). The second episode kick butt from the first!
  23. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    I hope this show stays around for a few years. The attention to detail in Chicago is spot on. Seems they are trying a little to hard to have a Chicago accent sometimes, but great acting, good storylines. Really brings the Chicago machine of politics to life.
  24. Feb 28, 2011
    0
    Hands down this is one of the worst shows I have ever seen. The writing is terrible, the acting worse, although Jennifer Beals does try. We started counting one night to see how many times the phrase "Irish Mob" was used and sufice to say if one were playing a drinking game it would be a black out night before the first half hour was over. Tonight the phrase "Irish potatohead" was actuallyHands down this is one of the worst shows I have ever seen. The writing is terrible, the acting worse, although Jennifer Beals does try. We started counting one night to see how many times the phrase "Irish Mob" was used and sufice to say if one were playing a drinking game it would be a black out night before the first half hour was over. Tonight the phrase "Irish potatohead" was actually uttered. I am third generation Irish, and I do not keep my facial parts in a box. We now watch it to laugh ourselves sick it is so bad. Fox get a clue this show is awful - take it off! Expand
  25. Mar 6, 2011
    1
    Wanted to like this show but after 5 episodes I stopped watching. It's really a poor man's The Wire, predictable and cartoonish where the HBO show was credible and complex. The main detective character is portrayed as uber tough and beyond clever, despite being relatively young. The relationship between him and Jennifer Beals is laughably unbelievable. And the conservative politics thatWanted to like this show but after 5 episodes I stopped watching. It's really a poor man's The Wire, predictable and cartoonish where the HBO show was credible and complex. The main detective character is portrayed as uber tough and beyond clever, despite being relatively young. The relationship between him and Jennifer Beals is laughably unbelievable. And the conservative politics that underscore the storylines is blatant. At least The Good Wife, another, much better Chicago show, gives equal time to both sides of the spectrum. Expand
  26. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    With the likes of Jason Clarke, Delroy Lindo, Jennifer Beals, Matt Lauria, and an equally outstanding backup cast, The Chicago Code has a slam bang, honor roll, can't miss cast. Aside from the fact that it outranks all other new cop fare on the tube, it was also the best offering FOX had for the season. Thankfully, someone was smart enough to give it a second chance. If you're looking forWith the likes of Jason Clarke, Delroy Lindo, Jennifer Beals, Matt Lauria, and an equally outstanding backup cast, The Chicago Code has a slam bang, honor roll, can't miss cast. Aside from the fact that it outranks all other new cop fare on the tube, it was also the best offering FOX had for the season. Thankfully, someone was smart enough to give it a second chance. If you're looking for realism, don't watch tv cop shows but, if you want exciting, dirty, gritty cop drama, this is the first place to stop. Expand
  27. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    I hope Fox will continue to air The Chicago Code. It is my favorite TV cop show. It is very entertaining, fast paced, good acting, good plot. This is a very promising show. Please don't cancel.
  28. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    To all of you ppl. I watched this series and being honest its the 2nd best series after House MD.The polt is brilliant gets you to the action making to watch the next episode.Shame theres not 2 season but all whats good ends quick. Sham. All the best to all Scottish, English, Irish lads in USA!!
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Feb 9, 2011
    90
    It's extremely well cast, uses its Windy City locations beautifully and has an energy that grabs you pretty much from the first scene. Monday nights are really, really crowded, but you need to make room for this show.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 8, 2011
    80
    The show is point-blank, but somewhat brilliantly so.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 7, 2011
    80
    The show is an intelligent addition to the Fox lineup, with both the broad canvas of "The Wire" and the street procedural of "NYPD Blue" in its DNA.