The Cleaner : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 15, 2008
Season #: 1, 2
The Cleaner Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 7 out of 15
  1. Some may take issue with the cynical tone of both series [Saving grace and The Cleaner] or the fact that there is very little divine intervention in either.
  2. It's not a bad show, but the mechanics of how they're going to abduct their latest target are far less engaging than how the team interacts with each other and how each member fights his or her compulsions.
  3. You see Mr. Bratt with his goatee and expressions of martyrdom, but you hear the voice of Nancy Reagan.
  4. 50
    The show is an extremely mixed bag, but he's an extremely likable extreme interventionist.
  5. 37
    It's all meant to be exciting, but like everything else about The Cleaner, it comes across as almost profoundly silly.
  6. I'd describe it as ludicrous, but that might give the impression that it's remotely entertaining.
  7. 30
    It's the end of the hour, and we're still waiting for the real show to begin, too.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. ElinJ.
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    I love the show and find Will's trying to balance work and family a really dynamic thing to watch.
  2. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    One of the most inspiring shows I've seen. Love it. I find it very realistic. The truth is that there are cleaners out there w ho are hiredOne of the most inspiring shows I've seen. Love it. I find it very realistic. The truth is that there are cleaners out there w ho are hired by families to help addicts get clean no matter what it takes. Bratt's portrayal of the ongoing struggle of recovery when you are knee deep in the mess you have made of your life, suffering the consequences, trying to help others, trying to live by the Steps and keep the faith--phenomenal. I think the typical television audience just wasn't ready for this trip. Expand
  3. AK.
    Jul 16, 2008
    9
    With the lack quality summer tv, I love that cable channels are taking a stand to produce drama shows. I loved the pilot, I'm going to With the lack quality summer tv, I love that cable channels are taking a stand to produce drama shows. I loved the pilot, I'm going to hold out to rate the season but I thought the pilot was great. I can't believe some of the reviews I have read. Perhaps because I have dealt with addiction in my life this show hits home. My husband taught me that what makes a good show/movie is conflict. "The Cleaner" has internal and external conflict on many levels. By the end of the show I was crying. For me to feel that deeply after 45 mins, that's a good show in my book. Expand
  4. lsh
    Aug 2, 2008
    9
    Surprised by all the negative reviews, I happen to love this show - Bratt's performance is edgy and the show gives a realistic view of Surprised by all the negative reviews, I happen to love this show - Bratt's performance is edgy and the show gives a realistic view of the struggles families of drug addicts go through after recovery begins - it's not pretentious nor ridiculous that Bratt's character talks to God; it's reassuring that the writers actually understand that recovering addicts believe in a higher power and need to communicate with that higher power continually to maintain. Critics may not like it, but those of us who've been affected by the abuse of drugs by loved ones appreciate this true to life account of someone who is trying to make a difference. Expand
  5. RB.
    Jul 16, 2008
    2
    You lost me in the first twenty minutes. No story line could be understood. Too much superfluous dialog. A real miss
  6. DaveW
    Aug 10, 2008
    2
    Veers between stupid sentimentality and grotesque heroic posturing. Waste of time.
  7. BrandonS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    0
    Bratt is such a bad actor. How could anyone watch this?

See all 17 User Reviews