The Cleveland Show : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 207

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RichardI.
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    I knew it was going to be bad, but wow, I never thought I'd get so bored I had to skip through the rest of the episode.
  2. EnzoP.
    Oct 9, 2009
    6
    The Cleveland Show is hilarious all though most of the jokes are stupid it makes you want to record each episode. Seth MacFarlane has created something that is a total surprise to me. I don't know about you but he created a well written stupid show. After thinking about Cleveland in Family Guy he wasn't a big part or funny. He was just there having a beer with the guys, and The Cleveland Show is hilarious all though most of the jokes are stupid it makes you want to record each episode. Seth MacFarlane has created something that is a total surprise to me. I don't know about you but he created a well written stupid show. After thinking about Cleveland in Family Guy he wasn't a big part or funny. He was just there having a beer with the guys, and falling of his bathtub after Peter's crazy idea which always destroys his house. But one tiny problem which I want to say in this review is that, if you watch this show one of Cleveland's friends is a bear. I know Seth MacFarlane the creator of this show (also he creates Family Guy and American Dad) he always picks weird people and animals in those three shows. For instance Family Guy has a baby and a dog. American Dad has an alien and fish. So I think you get the point. But a bear I don't like what I am hearing about that. I am not surprised that this show didn't get that good of reviews because this is a stupid comedy. Most stupid comedies don't succeed and I am not just talking about shows. Also movies, for instance Land of the Lost a goofball movie terrible film, Year One didn't make me laugh a lot. So the Cleveland Show took a big risk but it payed of for my point of view. Overall Family Guy is better then the Cleveland Show but it is better the American Dad and my expectations. Expand
  3. BrettF.
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    I couldn't make up my mind whether or not I liked this show. At first I did, but then when Dianna found out, I changed my mind. Later on, I was confused as to whether I was watching family guy, or family guys brother. Then it dawned on me that I was in the bathroom and watching my turds flush. I cant make up my mind what to rate this, so i'll put it right in the middle because I couldn't make up my mind whether or not I liked this show. At first I did, but then when Dianna found out, I changed my mind. Later on, I was confused as to whether I was watching family guy, or family guys brother. Then it dawned on me that I was in the bathroom and watching my turds flush. I cant make up my mind what to rate this, so i'll put it right in the middle because Im just a big kid at 40 who likes to have fun. Expand
  4. ShayS
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    It wasn't as funny as Family Guy, but it wasn't so terrible.
  5. AndrewD
    Sep 29, 2009
    4
    Love family guy, not lovin this show.
  6. SarahH
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    While I was not at all blown away by the pilot, and was REALLY confused about why they added a bear to the list of characters- I think this might be one of those shows that needs a few episodes to figure out what exactly it is doing...I won't pass final judgment till the after the next episode.
  7. KyleJ.
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    I was surprised at how mediocre I found this to be. It just played out in such a strange way and totally turned me off; for instance, Cleveland suddenly freaking out at the beginning of the episode was completely random and annoying. I love Family Guy, so I thought I would enjoy this too, but it just wasn't very funny. I'll try again next week, since this episode was mostly I was surprised at how mediocre I found this to be. It just played out in such a strange way and totally turned me off; for instance, Cleveland suddenly freaking out at the beginning of the episode was completely random and annoying. I love Family Guy, so I thought I would enjoy this too, but it just wasn't very funny. I'll try again next week, since this episode was mostly exposition, but I don't have very high hopes. Expand
  8. Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Cleveland lacks humor. All the Jokes are not funny. How can Seth Macfarlane think this is worth airing? Cleveland himself tries to be funny but after his jokes you think 'What the Hell' are you meant to laugh. Rallo and Cleveland Brown Jr are the only ones I find remotely, the Rest of the Cast is boring.
  9. Jul 5, 2011
    4
    This show is an unsuccessful spin off of Family Guy. From the first episode it didn't have as good writing as Family Guy or the jokes that Family Guy has.
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    5
    Not as funny as I thought it would be. Family Guy is lightyears ahead of this.
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    5
    I was never a huge Cleveland fan. When I found out he'd be getting his own spin-off, I was sceptical. Turns out I was right, it's very disappointing. It makes Family Guy and American Dad look like The Simpsons....in terms of quality, I mean.
  12. May 15, 2013
    5
    I'm in the middle here. Some parts of the Cleveland Show are good, such as charater development and voice acting. Other parts, such as the humour doesn't get near the standards of such shows as American Dad or Family Guy. I admit one thing, similar to Family Guy and American Dad, The Cleveland Show's theme tune is damn catchy. Anyway, The Cleveland Show has plenty of potential to be aI'm in the middle here. Some parts of the Cleveland Show are good, such as charater development and voice acting. Other parts, such as the humour doesn't get near the standards of such shows as American Dad or Family Guy. I admit one thing, similar to Family Guy and American Dad, The Cleveland Show's theme tune is damn catchy. Anyway, The Cleveland Show has plenty of potential to be a funny animated comedy, but I feel The Cleveland Show needs more political humour, something which I feel Seth MacFarlane does best. Expand
  13. Jan 30, 2013
    6
    Please keep in mind, this is NOT Family Guy. Comparing the two will make you disappointed. But on its own, its not bad. Not great either. OK, I need more characters to submit this......done
  14. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    Literally forget these haters, Yes Im black I kinda like the Cleveland Show one of the only things to look forward to on Fox Animation Domination. The Simpsons is so stupid unfunny and just plain killing to watch after the first like 5 seasons. Bob's Burgers (NEW LOW). American Dad everyone I know agrees that this show has become the best and has surpased Family Guy. Family Guy..huh...WhatLiterally forget these haters, Yes Im black I kinda like the Cleveland Show one of the only things to look forward to on Fox Animation Domination. The Simpsons is so stupid unfunny and just plain killing to watch after the first like 5 seasons. Bob's Burgers (NEW LOW). American Dad everyone I know agrees that this show has become the best and has surpased Family Guy. Family Guy..huh...What happened to you guys too much drama not enough comedy. The Cleveland Show good addition to watch. And NO not if your just black. Donna funny as hell, Roberta (ugly name for a sexy cartoon) funny, Ralo a straight G, Junior fat and funny, The friends are really uneccesary and just dumb, Cleveland better then his Cleveland in Family Guy. Yeah watch a few episodes and stop comparing it to Family Guy while watching it its actually not that bad. I get it, I really do some episodes and jokes are bad trust me I get it, but hell its funnier then the last 18 Simpson seasons. Watch it and give it a chance I did Expand
  15. Jun 7, 2013
    6
    Seth can do what he wants with his characters. I'd rather see the quagmire show but Cleveland and his family are rather entertaining. Some great plots throughout season one (Tim the bear and Cleveland junior) becoming personal favourites. Still has nothing on family guy and American dad.. Lester, Tim and holt feel like carbon copies of peter, joe and quagmire (although handled with cheaperSeth can do what he wants with his characters. I'd rather see the quagmire show but Cleveland and his family are rather entertaining. Some great plots throughout season one (Tim the bear and Cleveland junior) becoming personal favourites. Still has nothing on family guy and American dad.. Lester, Tim and holt feel like carbon copies of peter, joe and quagmire (although handled with cheaper style) the animation is fantastic however and some jokes are fresh. This won't beat Seth's classics but it's a nice try. Expand
  16. Dec 23, 2014
    4
    Spin-Off de Family Guy, The Cleveland Show é mais uma série criada por Seth MacFarlane. A história tem como foco a vida do personagem Cleveland Brown quando ele e o seu filho, Cleveland Jr., se mudam de Rhode Island para a cidade fictícia de Stoolbend. Cancelada pela FOX na sua 4ª Temporada, é indicada para fãs de séries nos moldes de Family Guy, American Dad, Os Simpsons e etc...
  17. Sep 15, 2016
    6
    I couldn't make up my mind whether or not I liked this show. At first I did, but then when Dianna found out, I changed my mind. Later on, I was confused as to whether I was watching family guy, or family guys brother. Then it dawned on me that I was in the bathroom and watching my turds flush. I cant make up my mind what to rate this, so i'll put it right in the middle because I'm just aI couldn't make up my mind whether or not I liked this show. At first I did, but then when Dianna found out, I changed my mind. Later on, I was confused as to whether I was watching family guy, or family guys brother. Then it dawned on me that I was in the bathroom and watching my turds flush. I cant make up my mind what to rate this, so i'll put it right in the middle because I'm just a big kid at 14 who likes to have fun. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. 75
    The new show is more conventional and warm-hearted--but only slightly. If I had to sum up the humor in one word, it would be "random."
  2. Cleveland has a few delightfully outrageous moments, along with several that are gratuitously gross ("hot fur," anyone?), but its most disconcerting element is its significant resemblance to "Family Guy."
  3. 70
    Actually the dimly befuddled Cleveland works pretty well as a foil to the collection of redneck psycho neighbors, oversexed stepchildren and Russian bears (don't ask) who make up the cast.