The Cleveland Show : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 27, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 207 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 207

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 23, 2010
    7
    It isn't as funny as Family Guy but Cleveland was one of my favourites from the show I was happy when he recieved his own. There are moments of brilliant humour and wit but I think the creators must of been running low towards the end of the series as the stories ran a bit dry. Still good, but not really DVD worthy.
  2. Dec 20, 2012
    3
    The rare miss in Seth MacFarlane's glittering back catalogue of animation, The Cleveland Show comes across stale and unfunny, with little character development to speak of and very little likeability all around. Unlike Family Guy and American Dad, the show has no identity of its own, relying bizarrely on racism to provide any edge that it has. Characters like Roberta have zero presenceThe rare miss in Seth MacFarlane's glittering back catalogue of animation, The Cleveland Show comes across stale and unfunny, with little character development to speak of and very little likeability all around. Unlike Family Guy and American Dad, the show has no identity of its own, relying bizarrely on racism to provide any edge that it has. Characters like Roberta have zero presence throughout, and even the zany characters like Tim the Bear feel forced and unimaginative.

    It's hard to envisage Cleveland Show still having a series to speak of if the network didn't want to keep Seth happy. As it stands, it may be worth putting this little side project out of it's misery and concentrating on the infinitely superior Family Guy and American Dad.
    Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    1
    Unwatchable. And when I learned it was actually taking over King of the Hill's timeslot... Dang it! Absolutely don't see the reason why this show would exist, and it just went on and on and on for 4 (!!!) seasons?!? Giving it a 1 instead of a 0 as it actually made me smile like 2 times per 10 episodes.
  4. BryanM.
    Oct 1, 2009
    1
    Absolutely horrible... this guy is a hack. When will people wake up and realize he's the Dane Cook of animation?
  5. MikeG.
    Oct 1, 2009
    3
    Pretty meh pilot episode. The best stuff was in the first act of the episode with the Family Guy cast. Maybe it will get better, but the supporting cast seems incredibly weak. A talking bear? This could work out OK - I'm glad to see that this hews closer to a plot driven show like American Dad and not a random amalgamation of hit and mostly miss jokes like Family Guy, but I Pretty meh pilot episode. The best stuff was in the first act of the episode with the Family Guy cast. Maybe it will get better, but the supporting cast seems incredibly weak. A talking bear? This could work out OK - I'm glad to see that this hews closer to a plot driven show like American Dad and not a random amalgamation of hit and mostly miss jokes like Family Guy, but I don't see the promise here. Expand
  6. AndyM.
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    This show reminds me of the final episode of Seinfield - when viewers tuned in and watched, patiently for the jokes to be revealed. But the joke was on the viewer. Same with this miserable show. The only one laughing is Seth McFarland, and he's laughing at how much like sheep we really are.
  7. EliJ.
    Nov 9, 2009
    0
    Please stop Mcfarlane...just stop...it saddens my heart to see so many positive reviews on this show. Just goes to show how much "name" has to do with comedy now a days. People dont laugh at smart jokes anymore, they just laugh at the ooze pouring out their left ear while they watch the funny black person talk to a fucking bear. Probably the worst show i've ever watched. Yes, i Please stop Mcfarlane...just stop...it saddens my heart to see so many positive reviews on this show. Just goes to show how much "name" has to do with comedy now a days. People dont laugh at smart jokes anymore, they just laugh at the ooze pouring out their left ear while they watch the funny black person talk to a fucking bear. Probably the worst show i've ever watched. Yes, i believe its worse than that 80's show. If a show like this aired back in the times of the early simpsons it would have been canceled in a week. The only reason it hasnt been canceled is because Seth Mcfarlane is now a TV immortal. Expand
  8. MattW.
    Oct 3, 2009
    1
    I really like "Family Guy", but had my doubts about whether Cleveland (the most boring character) could carry his own show. Those doubts were confirmed when I watched the pilot. I thought it was truly awful. I chuckled maybe twice, but mainly winced (and not in a good way). It seems as though they can't decide whether to go for mean-spirited humor (like "Family Guy") or to try for I really like "Family Guy", but had my doubts about whether Cleveland (the most boring character) could carry his own show. Those doubts were confirmed when I watched the pilot. I thought it was truly awful. I chuckled maybe twice, but mainly winced (and not in a good way). It seems as though they can't decide whether to go for mean-spirited humor (like "Family Guy") or to try for something more warm-hearted. The result was painful to watch, and commits the very worst sin: it was not funny. I don't plan to watch it again. Expand
  9. Corey
    Oct 4, 2009
    1
    I am a big fan of Family Guy and American Dad so I thought this could be good; it isn't. At all. In fact, it's absolutely awful. The 'jokes' appear to be Family Guy throwaways which weren't good enough to make that show and the show's characters come off as vaguely racist. Just... terrible.
  10. PatrickC
    Sep 28, 2009
    2
    American Dad might have been too much when it came out. Now Family Guy is boring, American is too...NOW they come out with this??
  11. RichardI.
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    I knew it was going to be bad, but wow, I never thought I'd get so bored I had to skip through the rest of the episode.
  12. JohnC
    Jan 10, 2010
    0
    Pathetic, slow, unfunny. This show makes the American Dad Oscar material. Seth sold out and is using filler. Id rather watch shamwow commercials over and over and over.
  13. JackM.
    Jan 12, 2010
    2
    The jokes are not funny, the characters are very stale and boring, and the episodes are just stupidly written. It's pretty much a more rascist version of Family Guy. I'd rather watch Sit Down, Shut Up.
  14. JenC.
    Jan 20, 2010
    0
    *Sarcasm* Wow, Seth. REALLY original show ya got here. I didn't think it was possible, but you actually made a show more unfunny and repetitive than Family Guy!... Not to mention you TOTALLY didn't plagiarize anyone for the ideas/jokes, plagiarize yourself by repeating said jokes, or make not one, but 3 shows with the exact same dull, unfunny cookie-cutter plot. GREAT JOB! ... *Sarcasm* Wow, Seth. REALLY original show ya got here. I didn't think it was possible, but you actually made a show more unfunny and repetitive than Family Guy!... Not to mention you TOTALLY didn't plagiarize anyone for the ideas/jokes, plagiarize yourself by repeating said jokes, or make not one, but 3 shows with the exact same dull, unfunny cookie-cutter plot. GREAT JOB! ... And not to mention you can't draw for shit, but that's okay. We're stupid enough to call this art & waste our sad lives watching it so you can live a rich, happy life and enjoy your TOTALLY non-corrupt and overrated success. Wow... What a freaking waste McFarlane is. Expand
  15. JoeM
    Nov 23, 2009
    1
    The Cleveland Show is so bad and generally unfunny as to leave me depressed after watching it. I'm a FG fan, and I was really hoping that TCS would be good, and I gave it a fair shot: six or seven episodes, to start being funny, but after that Edsel of a Thanksgiving "Special" I just witnessed, I'm tuning out. It was so bad that I imagined for a moment that Seth McFarlane is The Cleveland Show is so bad and generally unfunny as to leave me depressed after watching it. I'm a FG fan, and I was really hoping that TCS would be good, and I gave it a fair shot: six or seven episodes, to start being funny, but after that Edsel of a Thanksgiving "Special" I just witnessed, I'm tuning out. It was so bad that I imagined for a moment that Seth McFarlane is playing a twisted joke on Fox execs and America by making this show as bad and unfunny as possible on purpose. I also agree with Shawn O's assessment that the racial stereotypes dabbled in and utilized in FG in the form of the cutaway device do have a quality of a farcical caricature about them, that underscores the falseness and ridiculousness of these stereotypes; but that when the entire pretext for a sitcom depends upon these exaggerated, racially-stereotypical caricatures, it ventures from clever lampooning into a slightly uncomfortable and un-funny racist territory that induces squirming, but certainly not laughter. It seems that Cleveland Show may have jumped the shark right out of the box. Expand
  16. JT
    Oct 3, 2009
    1
    Why would they give the most un-funny character on 'Family Guy' his own show? I read somewhere that they have ordered 26 episodes to be made... hopefully they won't see the light of day.
  17. EnzoP.
    Oct 9, 2009
    6
    The Cleveland Show is hilarious all though most of the jokes are stupid it makes you want to record each episode. Seth MacFarlane has created something that is a total surprise to me. I don't know about you but he created a well written stupid show. After thinking about Cleveland in Family Guy he wasn't a big part or funny. He was just there having a beer with the guys, and The Cleveland Show is hilarious all though most of the jokes are stupid it makes you want to record each episode. Seth MacFarlane has created something that is a total surprise to me. I don't know about you but he created a well written stupid show. After thinking about Cleveland in Family Guy he wasn't a big part or funny. He was just there having a beer with the guys, and falling of his bathtub after Peter's crazy idea which always destroys his house. But one tiny problem which I want to say in this review is that, if you watch this show one of Cleveland's friends is a bear. I know Seth MacFarlane the creator of this show (also he creates Family Guy and American Dad) he always picks weird people and animals in those three shows. For instance Family Guy has a baby and a dog. American Dad has an alien and fish. So I think you get the point. But a bear I don't like what I am hearing about that. I am not surprised that this show didn't get that good of reviews because this is a stupid comedy. Most stupid comedies don't succeed and I am not just talking about shows. Also movies, for instance Land of the Lost a goofball movie terrible film, Year One didn't make me laugh a lot. So the Cleveland Show took a big risk but it payed of for my point of view. Overall Family Guy is better then the Cleveland Show but it is better the American Dad and my expectations. Expand
  18. BrettF.
    Sep 27, 2009
    5
    I couldn't make up my mind whether or not I liked this show. At first I did, but then when Dianna found out, I changed my mind. Later on, I was confused as to whether I was watching family guy, or family guys brother. Then it dawned on me that I was in the bathroom and watching my turds flush. I cant make up my mind what to rate this, so i'll put it right in the middle because I couldn't make up my mind whether or not I liked this show. At first I did, but then when Dianna found out, I changed my mind. Later on, I was confused as to whether I was watching family guy, or family guys brother. Then it dawned on me that I was in the bathroom and watching my turds flush. I cant make up my mind what to rate this, so i'll put it right in the middle because Im just a big kid at 40 who likes to have fun. Expand
  19. RaulM.
    Sep 27, 2009
    1
    I HATED this show. I find it hard to believe that the same people behind Family Guy created this show. Just unspeakably horrible. Offensively un-funny, stereotypical, straight-up WEIRD, ZERO chemistry between characters -- just a terrible debut. I don't see this picking up.
  20. ShayS
    Sep 28, 2009
    5
    It wasn't as funny as Family Guy, but it wasn't so terrible.
  21. DobD.
    Sep 28, 2009
    7
    Funny enough, I like Cleveland.
  22. DanL
    Sep 28, 2009
    0
    Not funny, no jokes, no humor, not a comedy.
  23. ErikH
    Sep 28, 2009
    2
    Terrible. I think this can avoid cancellation due to its Family Guy ties, but I for one won't be watching again.
  24. AndrewD
    Sep 29, 2009
    4
    Love family guy, not lovin this show.
  25. JoJoP
    Sep 29, 2009
    7
    This show was funnier than i thought itd be, its just like family guy, and the characters r mad funny.
  26. JoeS.
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    This show is horrible...first Family Guy...Then American Dad...now this crap...cant Seth MacFarlane think of anything original? All the shows are the same stupid things...a husband...hot wife...older sister who is the outcast...talking non human (Bear, Alien, Dog)...Seriously...come up with some original ideas instead of three of the same shows.
  27. john
    Nov 18, 2009
    0
    horrible not even watchable, so boring it can make your eyes fall out, i cant believe this is by the family guy crew. Horrible voices and terrible all around not entertaing
  28. BrianN
    Oct 12, 2009
    1
    Much like the movie "Multiplicity", the copy of a copy format here falls dreadfully thin. The writing is lazy, the jokes are stale, and the fact that the well-written and witty "King of the Hill" was axed to make way for this pitiful drivel makes the gut wrenching punch to the viewers' gonads that much more painful. Avoid this like the swine flu, ironically a more topical joke than Much like the movie "Multiplicity", the copy of a copy format here falls dreadfully thin. The writing is lazy, the jokes are stale, and the fact that the well-written and witty "King of the Hill" was axed to make way for this pitiful drivel makes the gut wrenching punch to the viewers' gonads that much more painful. Avoid this like the swine flu, ironically a more topical joke than anything written up for this dreadful mess. Expand
  29. ShawnO
    Oct 15, 2009
    0
    I have been a Family Guy fan since day one, and when I say day one, I mean day one... Not the '05 relaunch. FG itself has gone dramatically downhill over the last two years and anyone who was a fan from the beginning knows this. The show now lives on recycled jokes, shock value attacks against anything remotely traditionally American (they can't even avoid running with the I have been a Family Guy fan since day one, and when I say day one, I mean day one... Not the '05 relaunch. FG itself has gone dramatically downhill over the last two years and anyone who was a fan from the beginning knows this. The show now lives on recycled jokes, shock value attacks against anything remotely traditionally American (they can't even avoid running with the unsubstantiated and slanderous charges of anti-Semitism against Walt Disney), altogether uncomfortable and un-funny bits that drone on forever and of course the absolutely pointless Conway Twitty cutscenes that take up 20% of an episode (yes, I've timed it) and are just blatantly obvious attempts to fill in where the lazy writing just runs out of gas. So, as optimistic as I was about Cleveland simply for the fact that American Dad (which really was the first FG spinoff) is brilliant and harkens back to when FG was so funny that you had to watch an episode multiple times just to catch the jokes you missed because you were laughing so much the first time you watched it, I really can't say that I'm surprised at how bad Cleveland is. To put it bluntly, Cleveland is a Frankenstein of every thing that is wrong about the last two seasons of FG (which has actually showed significant signs of improvement this year). That's all it is. I mean seriously, it doesn't even have any of the slivers of brilliance that the last two seasons of FG have occasionally shown at times to make you hold out hope for next week's episode. It's mean for the sake of being mean without an ounce of humorous satirical subtext, the characters are poor clones of FG characters and the ensembplaid uninspired and hardly involved. The jokes are either recycled FG jokes (see slamming the brakes on and having a passenger smack his head) and the pop culture references are dated. I'm sorry but did I miss something or did they seriously do a '6 degrees to Kevin Bacon' joke? Others have brought up the racial stereotypes and expressed their discomfort with them and while MacFarlane's defenders will say that he's always tried to push the envelope and I'd he wasn't making someone in the audience uncomfortable, he wasn't doing his job. Well, there are a few big differences between Cleveland and old FG. First and foremost, there was humor and satire thatbwas obvious in old FG and even when jokes were made that highlighted a racial stereotype, it was done tongue-in-cheek usually to illustrate how absurd a stereotype was to begin with. Second, as uncomfortable as a joke may have been, they didn't have the air of mean-spiritedness about them that the jokes ont his show (or even more recent FG) has. Third, and the audience needs to be aware of this: this show is written by white people and the actor who voices Cleveland is a white man. This portrayal of African Americans as seen through the white lens is the equivalent of a bunch of white guys putting on black face and getting a prime-time spot to do it. Seth MacFarlane has beocme the Al Jolsen of 2009, sorry folks. Am I suggesting that the show is racist in and of itself? No, not all, but it is certainly is in poor taste which is something that FG has only been guilty of recently, despite its controversial history. To make matters worse, it's just not funny at all. Expand
  30. chrish
    Dec 13, 2009
    0
    i believe TCS is the worst show ever on the sunday night line up. not funny or entertaining at all, and none of the characters are interesting. theres been much better shows that got cancled, like War at home, or Futurama, Titus. lots of others hell i'd even rather watch PJs Projects. TCS is just terrible seriously the worst half hour of TV i watch and i'm very easily entertained.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. 75
    The new show is more conventional and warm-hearted--but only slightly. If I had to sum up the humor in one word, it would be "random."
  2. Cleveland has a few delightfully outrageous moments, along with several that are gratuitously gross ("hot fur," anyone?), but its most disconcerting element is its significant resemblance to "Family Guy."
  3. 70
    Actually the dimly befuddled Cleveland works pretty well as a foil to the collection of redneck psycho neighbors, oversexed stepchildren and Russian bears (don't ask) who make up the cast.