The Exes : Season 1

  • Network: TV LAND
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 30, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Admittedly, nothing here will make anyone forget "3rd Rock" or "Seinfeld." But watching The Exes after TV Land's "Retired at 35" or "Happily Divorced," it seems reasonable to settle.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 29, 2011
    60
    At the very least, it maintains TV Land's brand as the comfort food of television.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Nov 29, 2011
    40
    All of these actors are pros when it comes to timing, moving quickly past the worst jokes before you realize how bad they are.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 30, 2011
    58
    It's mediocre, but it's at least pleasantly mediocre.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Nothing terribly inventive here, but it's fairly easy to like the three guys, especially Faison.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 30, 2011
    40
    Watching it, you feel as if you have seen it all before, and will again, until eternity ends.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Nov 28, 2011
    40
    It's not very good--hackneyed and medium funny at best. But as sitcom comfort food goes, it's not the worst either.
  8. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Johnston, Faison, Knight and Basche have their moments, but more often than not they hammer the jokes home, mugging insufferably as they do so.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    "The Exes" is written by "Frasier" Author Mark Reisman. However, although Frasier was a great series, this is not the case for "The Exes"."The Exes" is written by "Frasier" Author Mark Reisman. However, although Frasier was a great series, this is not the case for "The Exes". This series is daffy and worse: it is mostly not funny. Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    The exes is one of the most enjoyable TV shows on. We where just flipping through channels when we stopped on TVLand. The show was actuallyThe exes is one of the most enjoyable TV shows on. We where just flipping through channels when we stopped on TVLand. The show was actually funny and fun to watch. We now make sure we set the TV timer and watch every Wednesday. Great job TVland! Full Review »
  3. May 28, 2012
    5
    This show has some amusing ideas for jokes but it just doesn't pull them of in a way that's actually funny. Some will make you smile, but noneThis show has some amusing ideas for jokes but it just doesn't pull them of in a way that's actually funny. Some will make you smile, but none will get an actual laugh. Full Review »