• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Fosters Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Callie (Maia Mitchell) is taken in by lesbian couple Lena (Sherri Saum) and Stef (Teri Polo), who already have four adoptive and biological children together, in this drama executive-produced by Jennifer Lopez.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Sarah Caldwell
    Jun 4, 2013
    83
    If it sticks with the quiet, string cheese moments, it could end up being an understated--but provocative--must watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 3, 2013
    75
    The show cannily plays to teen hopes and dreams--the school, for example, is on the edge of a gorgeous beach (the kids at “90210” never had it this lush)--but there’s story for the adults as well.
  3. 75
    Intelligent enough for adults, accessible enough for younger viewers and entertaining enough for both, it's a great show for parents and kids to watch together, and will give them plenty to talk about.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    The pilot episode of The Fosters is pretty entertaining and well-plotted.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    On the basis of the pilot, the show does a slightly better than average job of turning off-the-shelf ingredients into something diverting and occasionally moving.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 3, 2013
    70
    At least one aspect of Stef's relationship with her ex (Danny Nucci) seems unlikely, and Lena works at the most beautifully sited school in America, which all the kids happen to attend. But there's heart here, and a message about not throwing away children that belongs on a network that puts "Family" in its title.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 31, 2013
    50
    Polo and Saum are good actresses, but they appear pretty well hamstrung in their initial scenes together, as Stef and Lena banter about not taking in more stray kids, prompting Stef to quip, "We are not 'The Brady Bunch.'" Take away a few elements, though, and they sort of are.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    The "0" ratings are clearly written by haters who have an agenda; some of these people admit that they have not watched the show, so they are not qualified to comment on its merits.

    At a time when there are so few dramas on TV of any sort, The Fosters is a happy surprise. I have found the scenes between the parents and the teen-aged kids well acted and realistic, and the couple's dialogue and reactions very believable. I'm not sure how we even found it since we don't really watch ABC Family, but we are now DVR'ing the series and watch it as soon as it shows up on our list. Give it try.

    I'm giving it a 10 in part to counteract the bogus "reviews," but I would have given it a high 8s, low 9s anyway. We're really enjoying it.
    Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    The Fosters is a great show that deals with the issues that most people want to pretend that do not exist. There are issues like religion, morality, homosexual relationships, teens, foster care system, and being married to law enforcement. People who hate it seem to have petty reasons. I don't like reality shows but I think our broadcasting should remain a free to air what they want. Wanting a show to cancel because you do not like it is shallow and self-center. Turn the channel if you are offended or not fond of it. I plan on watching the Fosters until the end! Once again, Great Show! Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    The "million moms" and other hate groups are targeting this show hard. Given that we just had some real crucial decisions from the Supreme Court of the United states regarding civil rights, people self-describing as Chicano/Latino/Hispanic, as well as, other peoples of color need to continue the solidarity that has been formed recently with the LGBTQ community.

    This show is a great part of that. The people posting zero scores are paid political operative or volunteer pawns of hate. This is the best show on TV currently and each of the actors delivers a nuanced and understandable character.

    The couples have real problems, show real affection, and address real problems.

    You can see the result in the reviews. This show is doing all the right things. One of the best reasons to have a Monday!
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first saw the promo for this show my partner and I said "NO WAY!!!" because it seemed to freakishly mirror our circumstances. She and I are aged late 30's -40's and are lesbians, with 4 permanently placed foster kids and 1 biological child. Seriously, what are the chances of seeing that in a tv show??! Our kids are younger than the teens on the show but the themes in each show are surprisingly similar to our real lives (except our real lives involve more shouting, arguing, messiness, a less fancy school and home and a number of pets). The episode where Jesus and Marianna are reconnecting with their bio-mum was very similar to our kids experiences with their bio-mum. The ADHD medication was a familiar situation for us. I did not rate this show 10/10 b/c one thing it is missing is demonstrating that most foster kids have a fairly high level of trauma-based behaviours that can be difficult to parent. All the teens in this show are so easy going in comparison to our real life experiences. But despite that, I want to thank ABC and Jennifer Lopez for being brave and airing a show that celebrates family diversity in this way, it's just wonderful. I wish there were many more examples of alternative families on tv right now. I just wish there were more than 10 episodes for Season 1. How can I hang on for Season 2 to air???? *shakes head in despair*
    I really love this show.

    DNA doesn't make a family and love is love.
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    This is a great show for anyone to enjoy. It has heart and personality unlike most shows targeted towards adolescent viewers. Naturally some scenarios seem unrealistic at times but this is a cable television show and its sole purpose is to entertain an audience. People watch television to see into a different perspective and to be distracted from personal lives and The Fosters manages to do this as well as connect the audience to familiar situations that any human being can relate to. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2014
    0
    This is the epitome of anti-evolution.

    Those with zero potential to conceive ought NOT be lauded. An infertal man&woman couple, the only
    form of marriage, there is a potential to conceive. There is zero potential between two instances of the same gender self evidently. Marriage is to bring children into the world in love.

    Lust ought not be conflated with love.
    Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    This show is a huge disappointment. Don't watch. So many people were expecting better. The characters seem to struggle to connect with one another. It just doesn't seem real at all. Thumbs down. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews