• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 99
  2. Negative: 13 out of 99

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 21, 2012
    3
    This show could be a decent watch if they got rid of Callie. She's the worst character on the show. Compare it with Justified for instance--you can't! Justified is way better. Anyway, I finally couldn't take Callie anymore and dropped the show from my watch list. Can't believe people think Callie is great--why??
  2. Aug 13, 2010
    4
    Could be mildly entertaining like Burn Notice or White Collar but the director needs to polish his style. The Lead actor is probably a very good actor but it seems he is being directed to respond quick and quirky without ever taking in anything from any other actor. My advice to the director: slow down. what you lose in the screwball comedy delivery you will gain in some suspension of disbelief. Also in the first few episodes kids are involved in the crimes. there are a lot of kids in this series. why? So far the show is annoying but could find its rhythm and earn a mildly entertaining 5 or 6 out of ten... if they wk hard and get better directors. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    1
    cant stand this its painful to watch cant wait for criminal minds to get its 10:00 and 11:00 spot back when this gets taken off A&E. Its the biggest waste of a show it just comes across as annoying but hopefully we wont have to sit through it much longer
  4. Jul 18, 2011
    4
    I live in Florida and this show certainly reminds me of large portions of it: Great tropical vistas in the forefront, shallow waters in the back. Passmore is likeable for about 3-4 episodes until we realize that his acting skills go from smirk to grin to forced puzzlement, to smirk, grin.....

    . My wife likes the relationship he has with the nurse, but the length of time they keep these
    two on a sexual consumation leash is a quaintness that I thought died with the Hudson/Day era. So far my wife and I have picked out the killer in the first 10 minutes 90% of the time. In the last episode I proudly picked out the killer within 3 seconds of her appearance. Cute blond artist piques detective's libido! She has to go! 2 cuties to roil the plot is all that is allowed! Hey it's summer TV. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    This is such a stupid tv show. I tried to watch it, but only put up with it while my husband watches it. The medical examiner drops everything to go with the renegade cop who doesn't follow any type of protocol. I'm surprised the actors (who seem to be somewhat talented) are able to get through each episode with a straight face.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    1
    One of the worst detective shows ever created. Dialogue like running nails down a blackboard, characters that are obvious, stereotyped and completely unrecognizable as human beings, clunky and awkward performances, shocking segues, dodgy camera work - there is nothing redeemable in this program at all. Passmore is a borish drone, he could be arrested for stalking with his behaviour to his cardboard cutout girlfriend, and what value did she add again. I tuned out after fifteen minutes. It's fifteen minutes I'll never get back. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Longworth is SO ANNOYINGLY smart-azzed and won't shut up, and some of the acting (blonde bimbo) is so atrociously bad mumbly-mumble that this turkey won't fly. I HATE it.
  8. Jul 27, 2012
    0
    Arrogant cop,
    Treat even the innocent suspects in a brutal way
    Annoying and unnecessary drama
    (the whole will they wont they nonsense)

    Zero intelligence in the show
    Writing is very mediocre
    Plots make you want to sleep
    The characters have been written a million times before

    Ohh, how original!!!

    Only 1 point for the location selection:
    Florida
  9. Aug 1, 2012
    4
    I have given this show a really good go but it just gets worse. Matt Passmore plays Longworth as a smarmy , arrogant jerk. And not well. Which is a shame because I thought he was better than this. As for the rest of the "actors" acting ..... it's terrible. I thought the worst was Kiele Sanchez but Taylor Cole now takes the cake. Terribly miscast actors with unbelievable performances of ludicrous dialogue. Each show is a template of the one before. I mean, come on! Taylor Cole looks like a 20 year old and she's supposed to be the FDLE Bureau Chief/Commisioner. I know in TV you may have to suspend disbelief occasionally but the writers/producers treat their audience with near disdain. AND the worst is the KIA product placement. It isn't even subtle. Outright plugging of their vehicles by the actors and sweeping car commercial-like camera work. My girlfriend and I now only occasionally watch it when we want to laugh. How can this be in it's 3rd season. I think that if this rates over a 7 then it is truly dire times for the intelligence of the U.S. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Archana Ram
    75
    [Matt Passmore's character's] devil-may-care attitude may sometimes verge on annoying, but ultimately gives the serious premise a welcome light touch.
  2. In the end, the series itself is something fresh, welcome and a little tart -- and just like a nice citrus fruit, it'll be hard to stop with just one of these.
  3. 63
    The Glades isn't bad, it just feels older than a swamp gator--and as hungry as one for some fresh meat.