• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Glades Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Homicide detective Jim Longworth joins the Palm Glade, Florida, police force from Chicago to seek a less hectic life but soon discovers there's no escaping cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. In the end, the series itself is something fresh, welcome and a little tart -- and just like a nice citrus fruit, it'll be hard to stop with just one of these.
  2. 80
    With enough chemistry between its stars to power a DuPont lab and a wise use of off-the-beaten-path South Florida shooting locations -- it goes for a fetid swamp over South Beach every time -- The Glades is thoroughly enjoyable.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    75
    All this is to say, simply, that Passmore is an intriguing screen presence who holds a well-constructed if otherwise boilerplate cop show together.
  4. He is kind of irritating.... but Passmore largely pulls it off, in part by making the character a bit daffy; he just can't help himself. And the producers surround him with jerks and dweebs and men less handsome or clever than himself to ensure that he's the person with whom we identify and whose opinions we share; the plot conveniently supports his genius.
  5. 63
    The Glades isn't bad, it just feels older than a swamp gator--and as hungry as one for some fresh meat.
  6. The cop is a little too snarky, the nurse is a little too cavalier and the 16-year-old doesn't look a day under 21. That said, A&E's new Florida police drama, The Glades, still has some juice.
  7. 25
    I could go on and on about reasons not to watch this show: the title easily confused with "The Gates"; the Kia product placement; the convolutedly stupid plot. [11 Jul 2010]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 52
  2. Negative: 8 out of 52
  1. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    After catching the adverts for this show, i started watching it midway through the first season. Now I am completely Hooked....sigh...and iAfter catching the adverts for this show, i started watching it midway through the first season. Now I am completely Hooked....sigh...and i cant wait for Sunday nights.
    Matt Passmore is hypnotic, sexy, charismatic and i can't wait to see what he does next.

    Kiele Sanchez is the hottie from The Perfect Getaway and i like her as well : )
    Expand
  2. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    My daughter has all the family and relatives watching the glades. My son-in-law & nephew are detectives & they both think Matt does excellentMy daughter has all the family and relatives watching the glades. My son-in-law & nephew are detectives & they both think Matt does excellent true to life role. A&E has approximately 33 new viewers with our family all on board. Both my wife and I love the glades,we never miss a show. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    I love this show. I am truly amazed at the negative comments people have written about this show on this site, because I think it is the bestI love this show. I am truly amazed at the negative comments people have written about this show on this site, because I think it is the best thing I have seen in a long time, and I am a fan of CSI Miami. This is much more entertaining. I am glad Matt Passmore is finally getting attention in the US because he is so HOT, but I like all the characters. I hope this show goes on for a long time. Expand
  4. MarkS
    Jul 12, 2010
    8
    Liked the cast of characters but thought they needed much more interplay between Jim, Carlos and the young scientist ( who gives the show a Liked the cast of characters but thought they needed much more interplay between Jim, Carlos and the young scientist ( who gives the show a humerous touch which I enjoyed) as they go about solving the crime together. Less Jim dialogue, more cast light interplay mixed into a good criminal investigation and this could be a hit. Expand
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    I loved the pilot episode but the story telling in this show went straight down hill after that to the point where its just another genericI loved the pilot episode but the story telling in this show went straight down hill after that to the point where its just another generic detective show. The lead actor is good and he has a solid supporting cast as well. Its just the writing that kills it for me. Its a rather short season so I would say give it a shot but dont expect a masterpiece. Expand
  6. WallaceS
    Jul 12, 2010
    5
    slow, tedioius, at times disjointed, implausible situations (kid fishing in crock infested stream). How can the promo at end say...."Move slow, tedioius, at times disjointed, implausible situations (kid fishing in crock infested stream). How can the promo at end say...."Move Over CSI Miami"???? Expand
  7. JoanB
    Jul 14, 2010
    0
    Stupid, arrogant, and scripted to be "silly." The show should be aired AFTER the 10:00 p.m. news cast. The profanity and lack of interest Stupid, arrogant, and scripted to be "silly." The show should be aired AFTER the 10:00 p.m. news cast. The profanity and lack of interest interfers with the good programming in prime time. If the producer(s) are attempting to compete with CSI MIAMI....they will never reach that level of entertainment with the glades. I think my 11 year old grandson could produce a better show than the glades. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews