• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alicia is faced with the decision on how much her and the children will be involved in Peter's gubernatorial run, Kalinda's husband (Marc Warren) returns, and Lockhart Gardner face more financial problems.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 28, 2012
    100
    They're delightful. [26 Nov 2012, p.48]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    90
    Four seasons in, The Good Wife remains a marvel of clever plotting and tremendously witty ensemble acting.
  3. Reviewed by: Lee Wang
    Apr 8, 2013
    88
    Even at its most desultory, when the show is happily proceeding through legal drama conventions or even high-concept schlock, the execution, from the writing to the acting, resonates with virtuosic polish.
  4. Sep 28, 2012
    83
    Fun, wild start to the fourth season--and that's just Kalinda's story.
  5. Reviewed by: Leigh H. Edwards
    Oct 1, 2012
    70
    This being The Good Wife, a show renowned for complicating what might seem obvious, Alicia's new position as a kind of moral compass leads to a new series of dilemmas. Some of these are predictably topical.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    I was always worried that The Good Wife would fall into the same trap like other TV show with too much going on at the same time: lack ofI was always worried that The Good Wife would fall into the same trap like other TV show with too much going on at the same time: lack of focus. But it all disappears with this season just showing how much this show can still develop, especially with all the characters. Carrie Preston is such an amazing actress and her portrayal of Elsbeth Tascioni really freshen up the entire picture. It's such a shame that she only appears in 2 to 3 episodes each season, but it's probably a good thing so we don't get bored too fast with her attractive quirkiness. Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Finally, a series for adults that is informative and entertaining, we learn a little about the world of justice and the politics, all againstFinally, a series for adults that is informative and entertaining, we learn a little about the world of justice and the politics, all against the backdrop of complicated love story.
    All the characters are interesting and not necessarily all white or all black.
    With Breaking Bad, it's one of the best series of the last years !
    Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This show, along with "Blue Bloods", are quite simply the best scripted shows on network TV. Meaning, the best written, the best directed,This show, along with "Blue Bloods", are quite simply the best scripted shows on network TV. Meaning, the best written, the best directed, the best acted and the best produced drama out there. Hopefully, Kalinda will get rid of her ex, and revert back to her mysterious, sensual self again. Otherwise, this season is starting off right on track. These shows are not the flashiest or even the most exciting, but are solid quality television. Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    10
    The good wife is flat out the best television show on the broadcast networks. The fight to keep the firm alive is engrossing. The AliciaThe good wife is flat out the best television show on the broadcast networks. The fight to keep the firm alive is engrossing. The Alicia will, peter triangle never gets tired. the cases that are presented are topical and, and keep the viewers on edge their seats The motivations of the characters are never clear, which means the show keeps you guessing. The show does not treat the viewer as stupid, rather, as smart enough to understand what is going out with have to dumb it down. This is a rare find on network television to find such a well acted, and well scripted show Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I really am starting to like this show. My wife started watching it and she got me interested in it. I really like the characters and theI really am starting to like this show. My wife started watching it and she got me interested in it. I really like the characters and the story line. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2014
    9
    This season started our shaky. But after episode eleven, "The Good Wife" continues to impress, with one of the best episodes into the seriesThis season started our shaky. But after episode eleven, "The Good Wife" continues to impress, with one of the best episodes into the series thus far, "Red Team/Blue Team". Expand
  7. DCx
    Oct 1, 2012
    5
    The Good Wife: Season 4 is starting to show symptoms of repetitiveness. While the fourth season has a solid new story line with the upcomingThe Good Wife: Season 4 is starting to show symptoms of repetitiveness. While the fourth season has a solid new story line with the upcoming IL governorship election, the writers really need to start developing the major characters such as Kalinda to avoid having her just repeating same conflicts, same secrets just with different names. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  3. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  4. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.