User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Show is pretty original about a group of young people trying to make it in the entertainment Industry in LA, which we all know is pretty cutthroat. Two episodes in and I'm pretty hooked. Highly recommend it for anyone, especially people trying to make it in any industry.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    I saw this in Canada earlier in the year. It is much the best youth finding itself TV show on at the moment. Believable characters all with a feeling of desperation to get found or rekindle their careers. worth watching
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    I'm a little shocked that people didn't tune in in numbers to watch this sucker - it's really pretty darned good! No, it's nothing profound, and it's well-worn territory (let's go to LA to make it big!), but there's something sympathetic about the characters that made the first episode easy to watch. I'll definitely give it a couple more episodes. [Disclaimer: I work for Metacritic, a subsidiary of CBS which is the parent company of the CW]] Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    The acting is very good. So is the writing. The story is compelling too. Its characters are well developed. A big drawback for me is that it always seems to go too far in the violence and nastiness. The characters will do anything to get ahead. They think nothing of stepping on their so called friends, routinely lie, even hurting their best friends if it will advance their appearance to the public. Maybe that is what LA is really like or maybe this is just the Hollywood version. Hospitals are not really like Gray's anatomy and funeral homes don't have nearly the drama that Six Feet Under had. Still, the show would be better if they pulled it back just a bit. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    6
    This show isn't just kids living in an apartment, it's much more than that. It's about these "kids" trying to find where they belong in Hollywood, and if they even can survive.
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    The best youth show I've seen since original Beverly Hills, 90210. Fresh, lively, believable, without all the pathos of many other modern shows. Good story, deep characters, great acting, amazing writing, fantastic storylines, camera-work, decorations and sets. Don't know what not to like. It could be a huge success if it wasn't cancelled. Probably it was too smart for these days and audience.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 22, 2012
    70
    The L.A. Complex is maddeningly low-rated, but it's worth seeking out: it's no masterpiece of cinematography, and can veer into melodrama, but at its sharpest moments the show has as much "Midnight Cowboy" in it as it does "Melrose Place."
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 27, 2012
    25
    This blah drama about kids living in an LA apartment complex while hustling for big breaks is a Canadian import. [7 May 2012, p.46]
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 24, 2012
    67
    It's a primetime soap, but one that's genuinely more interested in what the characters want to do for a living than in who they're sleeping with.