User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 102
  2. Negative: 11 out of 102

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Holy cow is this ever funny. I'm not even usually a raunchy humor kind of guy, but every episode is filled with laughs. Sure, it's not the best script or whatever, but as a comedy, it doesn't get much better than this.
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    best show on tv, imo. outstanding cast (lajoie, kroll and scheer shine) and hilarious writing (the schaffers are 'seinfeld' and 'curb' veterans). as a thirty-something/nfl-loving, red-blooded american male who loves comedic entertainment....i'm fairly sure that the producers somehow snuck into my brain and tailored made this show just for me. seriously...outstanding product.
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    5
    The show is decent at best, enjoyable enough at times. But mostly you will roll your eyes at the childish content, humorous in rare moments. It's almost as if the writers are inappropriate adolescents, it 's that pathetic. If you are a person who enjoys overplayed lazy sexual jokes, then you might of found a new comedy home. But as myself and most others, I enjoy intelligent, creative comedy series( Parks and Rec/Louie). If you have Netflix check it out if your one of the few who enjoys obnoxious material, lay your own judgement upon it. Expand
  4. Jan 30, 2012
    8
    The League is finally a comedy that FX has got right. The bad thing about this show? There are only 6 episodes in this season. Hilarious show that is well worth the watch.
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    My favorite show on television by quite a lot at this time. I feel sorry for anybody that quit before they got to meet Rafi. :) This is certainly my kind of humor that pushes the boundaries of decency and invents it's own vocabulary like Eskimo Brothers, fear boner, and shiva blast. Seriously, if this isn't your kind of show, then you're not my kind of friend.
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Clever, original and actually funny. Three things 90% of shows these days wouldn't know anything about.
  7. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    This is not a metacritic friendly show. It has a target audience, which isn't even fantasy football players. People need to stop getting angry over the metacritic score; I don't wan't every show to strive for mass appeal.
  8. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    I feel bad for those who gave up on this show after an admittedly mediocre series pilot. The last 3-4 episodes of the first season were the funniest thing on TV in 2009. Check out the episode reviews at rosterbating.com - explains a lot of the inside jokes and nuances for those unfamiliar with fantasy football (or male bonding in general.) Hoping for just as good a second season.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. 50
    The raunchy comedy on The League had me laughing out loud a few times, but mostly I felt as though I’d seen it all done better before.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    63
    The dialogue is entirely composed of trash talk, and as far as that goes, it's pretty creative.
  3. 25
    Not much about this show rang true to me, except the moment when the league commissioner begged players to get their fees in on time.