The Millers : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 3, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 2, 2013
    91
    The Millers shows what a thing of glory hear-the-laughs sitcomedy can be in the hands of masters.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 2, 2013
    75
    Arnett is a master of fluster, and Bridges is befuddled charm personified. The revelation, though, for those who only know her from her Emmy-winning dramatic work, is Martindale, whose comic timing rivals the best in the business.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 2, 2013
    75
    There’s plenty to sustain The Millers over what could be a pretty long haul. The show has both star quality and stars who know how to work the material.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    The humor is driven mostly by a relentless slapstick vulgarity, particularly concerning the flatulence and sex habits of parents. If you’ve got a high tolerance for those sorts of jokes, it is funny indeed.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    Together Bridges and Martindale pretty much steal the pilot from everyone around them.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 3, 2013
    70
    The dumb-laugh ratio is surprisingly high. Much of the credit goes to pros like Beau Bridges and Margo Martindale.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 2, 2013
    70
    The Millers won’t be confused with highbrow entertainment but taken on its own terms and thanks to a talented trio of cast members, it’s a welcome addition to CBS’s Thursday night comedy block.
  8. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    It’s goofy, but fun.
  9. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 2, 2013
    67
    [The pilot is] very much a patch job on a project that needed more than a quick fix, but the direction it takes is encouraging.
  10. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    63
    Everyone works so hard--including Arnett, even if he never lets you see him sweat--that this comes very close to succeeding. [21 Oct 2013, p.48]
User Score
4.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room".The Millers is the new "All in the Family" show this season with the best assembly of actors, period! Every new show needs "wiggle room". Love the show and can't wait to see the next episode, "Mom on dating site". Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    2
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong
    I have never seen the quality of a series deteriorate so quickly from episode one to episode two.

    I am amazed at the magnitude of the wrong turn that the writers have taken with this show. There was so much possibility, so many paths that could have been taken.

    But the path chosen was among the worst.

    I ponder what CBS will use to fill this time slot in February? *More* reruns of TBBT? Is CBS determined to run that series into the ground?

    Time will tell.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. II thought it was hilarious! Very funny and love the concept! My husband and I laughed out loud over and over. We will definitely stay tuned. I hope it makes it because I plan on watching it for years. Love Will Arnett and the parents are perfect. Great casting! Full Review »