• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 17, 2012
    38
    They tried for the tried and true, hoping they'd get "The Sopranos" meets "Grey's Anatomy" while filling the hole "House" left in the schedule. And, like a camel, they ended up with an animal made by committee.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 17, 2012
    37
    Unfortunately, beyond the strained concept, it has ridiculous dialogue and ludicrous situations that the best actors in the world couldn't salvage.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 17, 2012
    30
    Feisty is one thing, rude is another. But all of that is of a piece with the show's generally lazy approach to storytelling: A couple of supporting characters are cardboard villains, and a subplot about a minor's surgical procedure doesn't make a ton of sense if you know the first thing about medical privacy laws.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 17, 2012
    30
    Fox's preposterous organized crime/medical show combo platter The Mob Doctor manages to be silly and sappy.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 17, 2012
    25
    As its name indicates, it's half Mob drama, half doctor show, and all terrible.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 17, 2012
    10
    An aggressively preposterous mash-up of medical and mob clich├ęs that results in the sort of hack-work melodrama that would defeat even the most brilliant script doctor.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 14, 2012
    0
    The two-taste-treats-in-one thing worked for Hostess Ding-Dongs, so maybe Fox figured it would work for this ding-dong of a dud for the masochists in the crowd.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    0
    It's never good news when you start to watch a new show and can't get past quibbling with the whole concept.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    2
    The decent cast deserve a better-written vehicle than this. Here's a tip from the show-it-don't-say-it file: find a way to make your main character plucky without sticking it in the dialogue. The concept probably could have worked, but I don't see this getting renewed. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    Like many others I too desperately wanted to like this show. Simply put, I believe that the stellar cast has been plagued with bad writing. Its just too cliche and at times unbelievable... great acting, bad stories. Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    With all the reality shows and I must say very poor choices for NBC, I have enjoyed the show The Mob
    Doctor. The story kept continuing which
    I enjoyed. But as far as I was told my view at 66 really doesn't
    count anymore, the networks are trying to get the 25 year to 45 year old mainly for the commercials That's who really pays the actors.
    Full Review »