• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 4
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 23
  2. Negative: 11 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    ABC's The Neighbors is this season's awful sitcom, the one that defies all kind of sense.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 26, 2012
    25
    And that's me, faster than Usain Bolt, changing the channel.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2012
    25
    The show seems to exhaust its small comedic possibilities with the first episode, not to mention viewer interest.
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 27, 2012
    0
    This season, ABC has Neighbors, one of the least funny things to air on television since the last Hitler documentary on History.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 25, 2012
    30
    It's "3rd Rock From the Sun" without the wit or the understatement.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 26, 2012
    30
    For a bizarre comedy with the potential for some really pointed wackiness, this alien vehicle doesn't get off the ground.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Neighbors settles for charmless performances, stupid jokes and sight gags that might be funny once, such as naming all of the aliens after famous sports figures (like Larry Bird and Jackie Joyner-Kersee), but with repetition grows fretfully stale.
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 21, 2012
    25
    This latest aliens-meet-earthlings sitcom is just too dopily executed for any long-term stay on this planet.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 25, 2012
    37
    Nothing in The Neighbors rises above mediocrity, and too much falls beneath it.
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 26, 2012
    30
    It's somewhat offbeat, yes, but all played at such a cartoonish level as to feel like a distant throwback, a la "My Favorite Martian" or "I Dream of Jeannie," since there's no one akin to Mork or ALF to enliven the festivities.
  11. Reviewed by: Drusilla Moorhouse
    Sep 26, 2012
    10
    If you value your time, you'll change the channel after "Modern Family."
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    This is a one of those shows you really have to look past the premise and see how deep the show really is. It is in the same quality level as quirky shows like Third Rock From the Sun, Mork and Mindy, Modern Family and Raising Hope. These shows seem silly at first but once you get into them, the stories are deep with good moral and human interest messages. I found the jokes smart and wry, the characters well developed with meaningful stories. All wrapped in a quirky comedy. Would be great to see this show last as long as the other two I mentioned. Wish more people could appreciate the depth and comedy of these unusual out of the typical mold sitcoms. Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. Please give it a chance despite the closed minded folks who have reviewed this so negatively. It is not that often that I actually laugh out loud at a sitcom, but I find myself rewinding the show to actually get a second take on the many quotable lines and simple looks from the characters that generate laughs. If I remember correctly, this show does not use a laugh track which says even more for the quality of writing from the show that can generate laughs without this crutch. Thanks to ABC for putting up all the episodes on-line too. Was very thankful that I didn't miss out on this much under-rated production. Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    I think all the negative reviews for this show come from the pilot, which I'll agree was terrible. But from then on, the series got a lot better. I think you should watch it, at least go past the pilot. Full Review »
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Love this show. I don't think people are giving it a fair try. You really need to watch episodes like the Halloween episode to appreciate it. That one, with the little kid and the hand puppet had me howling. Full Review »