The New Normal : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 10, 2012
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 11, 2012
    60
    Much about the pilot felt flat or programmatic to me, but much was likable as well, especially the nonchalant tenderness between the male leads. And the cast is good.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    This one tries so hard to set up its premise that at times it ends up feeling more like a PSA than a comedy, which can be annoying if you're already on board with same-sex marriage and gay parenting.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 7, 2012
    50
    The New Normal needs to take a deep breath, get off the soapbox and get funny fast. The right elements--talented cast and showrunner--are already in place.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 6, 2012
    50
    For now, it's a disappointing polemic that mainly offends by being lazily or awkwardly executed more often than not.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 10, 2012
    42
    The execution in this case is too shrill and scattered to get any of his points--or jokes--across.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 11, 2012
    40
    Murphy and Adler opt for the caustic in a series that probably had its best chance of success playing it more subtle and more sentimental, tossing in the barbs judiciously.
  7. 40
    The New Normal humanizes stereotypes without ever quite making them seem like people.
  8. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 10, 2012
    40
    The New Normal needs to work in a more linear and emotionally direct fashion, and there's not much about this NBC pilot, which is fueled by a mixture of cattiness and slick manipulation, that reassures me on that front.
  9. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 10, 2012
    40
    For now this show is much more normal--read: mediocre--than it seems to think it is.
  10. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 10, 2012
    40
    The New Normal wants what "Modern Family" is having. But if we're going to catapult from "South Park" to a Hallmark movie, we need a smoother ride.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 18 out of 37
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    2
    If you want a show full of stereotypes and predictable humor that isn't funny, then watch this show. Unfortunately, the premise had theIf you want a show full of stereotypes and predictable humor that isn't funny, then watch this show. Unfortunately, the premise had the potential to be funny. I know some people wouldn't watch it because there are gay characters, and nay-sayers will blame them when the show inevitably fails, but Modern Family sure seems to be doing all right. The difference is the writing. The New Normal is not groundbreaking in anyway. Even when they think showing people having sex within the first 5 minutes is edgy, it isn't because we see that constantly. Make something original. please. This is a DO NOT watch. Full Review »
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    8
    Has definite potential, although a bit worried about the harshness of Ellen Barkin's character. But the three (four if you count the girl)Has definite potential, although a bit worried about the harshness of Ellen Barkin's character. But the three (four if you count the girl) leads are all solid. Writing held up in the second episode, too. Worth watching to see if it delivers on the quality of the first two episodes. Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    7
    "The New Normal" is definetely a really interesting show. Whereas it's not something innoative on its story or in the way the story is"The New Normal" is definetely a really interesting show. Whereas it's not something innoative on its story or in the way the story is narrated, I think that it is a decent attempt for a comedy. What bothers many people is the stereotypical presentation of genders, or groups. On how I see it that's not pretty false. This story is for stereotypes and if someone can't stand them, he should just don't bother give it a try. The last point I want to raise is that this show also gives some food for thought, and that there are many scenes that will really touch you! Full Review »