• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Sep 26, 2011
    30
    I said that The Playboy Club might be promising. Guess what? I lied.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 20, 2011
    30
    They want to be both fun and edifying and end up being neither, and style-wise, they feel too much like Wikipedia entries with actors. The series might have managed to overcome these problems (partly, at least) if it had a a strong point-of-view, however conflicted, toward what it's showing us. But it doesn't.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 19, 2011
    30
    The Playboy Club is nothing but a tarted-up mob drama; the bunnies may be used as the marketing and milieu but the main narrative is about the men, and no one seems aware of the irony.
  4. Reviewed by: Renee Scolaro Mora
    Sep 19, 2011
    30
    While options during the era were surely limited, the show's broad strokes don't do justice to the choices women were making, or their self-awareness while making them.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 16, 2011
    25
    Playboy Club makes the mistake of aping Mad Men's Stern social seriousness. [26 Sep 2011, p.54]
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 16, 2011
    25
    Unless the writing of the show improves exponentially, it may not be around long enough for us to remember the characters' first names, much less learn their last.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 19, 2011
    10
    For viewers looking for a solid hour long drama, it is one more thing not to watch.
  8. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 19, 2011
    0
    What was one of the worst drama pilots of the fall is now one of the worst for slightly, superficially different reasons.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    3
    I tried to like this show - I was hoping for something engaging and entertaining but after persisting with it I have given it the flick. The reason? The constant glorification and sanctification of Hef. The man made lots of money off **** and ass... fine, I can accept that - but please, stop the revisionist butt-kissing which paints the man as some sort of social champion, changing the world, curing it's ills, empowering women and supporting special interest groups. The whole thing comes off reeking of a self-serving propaganda piece as opposed to the entertaining show it could have been. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    Not as bad as I pictured it. Of course I've always viewed the entire Playboy empire as a bit of a farce. Hefner (or the Heff-like narrator) tries to sell himself as a pioneer of civil and women's rights while he has women prancing around with bunny ears and cotton tails sticking out of their bums. I wonder how many times the phrase "like Madmen" was tossed around during the writers meetings? Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    I really liked this show, certainly was better than most of the other new shows out there. I can't believe they pulled it after 3 weeks. Thought it was well made and had some good drama going on, not to mention some good eye candy. Hopefully the rest of the series will be out on DVD Full Review »