• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2011
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 19, 2011
    63
    The series does have energy and narrative drive, some fun performances, and a glossy '60s eye-candy sheen. That may be enough to hold your attention while Playboy works on some of its problems.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 16, 2011
    80
    A sharply drawn and riveting one from the evidence on hand, and bolstered by a skilled cast. This club should lure plenty of customers, television-viewing variety. They'll have good reason.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    The Playboy Club is fun fare. The show could really take off if it chooses to not only be fun, but also explore the various frontiers the 1960s backdrop provides.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 19, 2011
    75
    A competently made soap with some good actors and nicely staged musical numbers.
  5. The Playboy Club isn't in the same league, or even the same galaxy, as the critically adored "Mad Men." While the latter offers nuance and depth and keen insights into its era, the former settles for stock characters, cliches and superficiality, punctuated by a lot of come-hither looks.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 19, 2011
    63
    Some might say the show is overstuffed with stories, but I had no problem following the various strands, even if some were less interesting than others.
  7. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 16, 2011
    63
    The bottom line is this isn't a show you tune into for sophisticated narrative, innovative plot twists and complex characters. It's a sexy, soapy period drama that's as fluffy as the tails on its buxom stars' backsides.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    3
    I tried to like this show - I was hoping for something engaging and entertaining but after persisting with it I have given it the flick. TheI tried to like this show - I was hoping for something engaging and entertaining but after persisting with it I have given it the flick. The reason? The constant glorification and sanctification of Hef. The man made lots of money off **** and ass... fine, I can accept that - but please, stop the revisionist butt-kissing which paints the man as some sort of social champion, changing the world, curing it's ills, empowering women and supporting special interest groups. The whole thing comes off reeking of a self-serving propaganda piece as opposed to the entertaining show it could have been. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    Not as bad as I pictured it. Of course I've always viewed the entire Playboy empire as a bit of a farce. Hefner (or the Heff-like narrator)Not as bad as I pictured it. Of course I've always viewed the entire Playboy empire as a bit of a farce. Hefner (or the Heff-like narrator) tries to sell himself as a pioneer of civil and women's rights while he has women prancing around with bunny ears and cotton tails sticking out of their bums. I wonder how many times the phrase "like Madmen" was tossed around during the writers meetings? Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    I really liked this show, certainly was better than most of the other new shows out there. I can't believe they pulled it after 3 weeks.I really liked this show, certainly was better than most of the other new shows out there. I can't believe they pulled it after 3 weeks. Thought it was well made and had some good drama going on, not to mention some good eye candy. Hopefully the rest of the series will be out on DVD Full Review »