• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 15, 2011
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 88
  2. Negative: 11 out of 88

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    There is plenty here that works but even more that doesn't. The Secret Circle boast an incredibly talented and beautiful cast of actors but that cannot help the fact that overall its a little too safe, a little too boring for a show created by The Vampire Diaries' Kevin Williamson. The opening scene of the show may be its best with Gale Harold being a great choice for a villain with hisThere is plenty here that works but even more that doesn't. The Secret Circle boast an incredibly talented and beautiful cast of actors but that cannot help the fact that overall its a little too safe, a little too boring for a show created by The Vampire Diaries' Kevin Williamson. The opening scene of the show may be its best with Gale Harold being a great choice for a villain with his scenes coming off as incredibly tense and electric. The main aim of the pilot is to set the story moving in and it does pose some decent questions and ideas but it fails to make the episode enjoyable while doing so. Much like the 1st season of The Vampire Diaries did it seems to be taking its time, preparing to ramp up the danger by seasons end but at the moment there isn't much worth getting invested in. Expand
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    4
    This show can be entertaining if you can get past the bad acting and actually get interested in the story but the actors make that hard to do. They should of gotten better actors because there is so much potential for this show and not to mention killing off the best actor they had, bad ideas writers. Overall their moving this plot tooooooo quickly and trying to force it on us. And comingThis show can be entertaining if you can get past the bad acting and actually get interested in the story but the actors make that hard to do. They should of gotten better actors because there is so much potential for this show and not to mention killing off the best actor they had, bad ideas writers. Overall their moving this plot tooooooo quickly and trying to force it on us. And coming on after the vampire diaries Is a bad thing. Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    2
    This really is the most CW'ish show ever. Its like gossip girl with magic or Harry Potter if it was written by Stephanie Meyer. The characters are all so teen'ish and its all about their high school issues and conflicts. There is nothing to drive the plot along so its just so slow and boring. Unless you are a 14 year old girl or just want to see attractive characters going to school inThis really is the most CW'ish show ever. Its like gossip girl with magic or Harry Potter if it was written by Stephanie Meyer. The characters are all so teen'ish and its all about their high school issues and conflicts. There is nothing to drive the plot along so its just so slow and boring. Unless you are a 14 year old girl or just want to see attractive characters going to school in somewhat slutty outfits, avoid it. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    2
    The show manages with its poor casting, terrible lead, mediocre witing, and GOD AWFUL ACTING!!!
    but still this show does have two Extremely Bright Spots in the form of two of its actors Gale Harold and Ashley Crow with the former being better than the latter.
  5. Nov 3, 2011
    1
    Following in the trend of some other recent shows this series sees late 20 year olds cast as 16-18 year old school kids, and it just doesn't work. The plot is almost completely different to the books and like Vampire Diaries is mainly just and excuse to use a well known authors following to garner more viewers. There is little chemistry between the various actors and actresses and noneFollowing in the trend of some other recent shows this series sees late 20 year olds cast as 16-18 year old school kids, and it just doesn't work. The plot is almost completely different to the books and like Vampire Diaries is mainly just and excuse to use a well known authors following to garner more viewers. There is little chemistry between the various actors and actresses and none of them are particularly endearing. The effects are are nothing new and the show comes over more like BH90210 than as similar to it's sister show Vampire Diaries. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    3
    Into episode 3 now... Unlike The Vampire Diaries, TSC seems to be aimed at 14 year old girls only. I've tried to give it a chance but it's not for guys and anybody over the age of 15, no matter what gender. The story and pace is lightweight. The acting is ok and the people are generically good looking. All of the high school cast look over 20 when it's supposed to be a high school thing..Into episode 3 now... Unlike The Vampire Diaries, TSC seems to be aimed at 14 year old girls only. I've tried to give it a chance but it's not for guys and anybody over the age of 15, no matter what gender. The story and pace is lightweight. The acting is ok and the people are generically good looking. All of the high school cast look over 20 when it's supposed to be a high school thing.. And that's because they are all way older than 20! Anyway I'm not saying it's bad. It's just not well written for people over the age of 15. Collapse
  7. May 10, 2012
    10
    I love this show. Please make season 2!!!! I knew Adam wasn't going to get rid of the crystal. And I want to see the 4 new people. Omg just make season 2 please!!!!!!!!!
  8. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    The Secret Circle boasts for its creepy mystery, good-looking actors, amazing script, and witchy fun. It's hard not to get caught up with the series, and I may find myself in the near future watching the whole series over and over again.
  9. Oct 8, 2011
    6
    After three episodes I was ready to give up and then I watched the fourth...me thinks this show has legs and given the chance it may get dark. Episode 4 introduces the concept of demons and spooky Heather's turn has given me renewed confidence that this show is going to get better and better. It's got its faults - Natasha Henstridge's face doesn't move; the concept, even down to a magicalAfter three episodes I was ready to give up and then I watched the fourth...me thinks this show has legs and given the chance it may get dark. Episode 4 introduces the concept of demons and spooky Heather's turn has given me renewed confidence that this show is going to get better and better. It's got its faults - Natasha Henstridge's face doesn't move; the concept, even down to a magical crystal mirrors the much loved Vampire Diaries; the boys aren't hot enough; and gran doesn't seem to care that a lamp gets broken every episode....BUT.... introducing demons could make it fun and Williamson's got form that cant be denied. A slow burn, perhaps! Expand
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I love this show. I hope this one lasts!! This is a fun show based on the books of the same name and the history of witches in Salem and their decendants.
  11. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    this show is really good. i know it starts off shaky but after a few episodes you'll be hooked. and I promise it gets A LOT better towards the end of the season
  12. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    Cliched teeny bopper show with bad scripts, ridiculous plots and god awful acting, the lead actress is horrendous. I was given this to watch by a starry eyed girl at work and by episode 6 I was wanting to stick pins in my eyes. Awful, just awful! Trite, unoriginal yankee rubbish.
  13. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    The series opener was entertaining. The Secret Circle thus far is exactly what you would guess based on promo's. There is some lingering mystery left in the plot which sets up what could be a nice ride for the rest of this season. Casting for the most part is pretty decent. My only gripe begins and ends with "The Bad Girl" of the teenage circle, Faye. She is a bit over the top and exactlyThe series opener was entertaining. The Secret Circle thus far is exactly what you would guess based on promo's. There is some lingering mystery left in the plot which sets up what could be a nice ride for the rest of this season. Casting for the most part is pretty decent. My only gripe begins and ends with "The Bad Girl" of the teenage circle, Faye. She is a bit over the top and exactly what you would expect a protagonist teenage witch to act like, if you were trying to hit the bad stereotype trifecta. A minor issue that can be overlooked so long as her scenes are minimal or she calms down and finds her character. If you enjoy other CW shows, The Secret Circle should not disappoint. If a good plot can be found down the road that introduces a reason to tune in weekly besides cute chicks and magic, I'll be sold. Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    This show is great. Every episode has something that gets you hooked. The fact that the show is getting darker and darker is only better. Amazing actors, great storyline and effects. I say, give it a shot people!
  15. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I love this show. It's well made, the plot is very interesting and pulls you in, supernatural stuff. The show follows a group of high school students while they secretly learn about their powers, their family past and a tragic event which claimed a number of their parents lives. Reminds me a bit of the film Craft in the high school witch sense.
  16. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Met with despair and then blasted by intrigue this story of a young girls life is both exciting and full of unexpected turns. Her once simple and quite ordinary life is quickly turned upside down with the death of her mother and then lead into a constant cycle of the unexpected. Her life now left to twist about like a leave in the wind as she tries to find herself yet she is quicklyMet with despair and then blasted by intrigue this story of a young girls life is both exciting and full of unexpected turns. Her once simple and quite ordinary life is quickly turned upside down with the death of her mother and then lead into a constant cycle of the unexpected. Her life now left to twist about like a leave in the wind as she tries to find herself yet she is quickly consumed by a life and death battle that was started long before her time. The actors within this series are very good, they take on the roles of their characters and the depiction of the story in a very intense and intriguing way. I have found myself quickly getting lost in this series and yearning to watch the next. This was a very well written and cast series and I look forward to the depiction in each of the 22 episodes airing throughout the season. Expand
  17. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    This show is GREAT but, for some reason it is getting kind of staying in the same place and the whole story is getting nowhere and that is why I had to take ONE point away but, overall it is going very AWESOME!
  18. May 15, 2012
    10
    I think they should keep the secret cirle .I love that show its one the best shows on the cw I realy didnt like the ringer or heart of dixie the secret circle is better
  19. Rfa
    Jul 28, 2012
    10
    An incredible show that evolves with each episode and a sensational finish to the season much better than several of the CW shows. A show that deserved a second season, which would still win even more people around the world.
  20. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    In my opinion this was the best new "Supernatural" genre-type T.V series that debuted from 2011-2012. Its a shame that the T.V series was cut due to budgets and declined ratings. The storyline was interesting and if the series wasn't cancelled. It could have been more developed and better than what Season 1 had to offer.
  21. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    I read the secret circle books as a teen. So, I was kind of interested in seeing the characters come to life. I didn't see the pilot episodes but I was somewhat disappointed in the differences. The plot was also kind of slow-moving. I also didn't get a bunch of 16 year olds consorting as if they're in their 20's and 30's. This seems like the trend, but try as you might? A teenager isI read the secret circle books as a teen. So, I was kind of interested in seeing the characters come to life. I didn't see the pilot episodes but I was somewhat disappointed in the differences. The plot was also kind of slow-moving. I also didn't get a bunch of 16 year olds consorting as if they're in their 20's and 30's. This seems like the trend, but try as you might? A teenager is a kid, not an adult. Didn't capture my interest until the midpoint. It seemed to lose it's teeny-bopper tendencies. I thought I'd tune in for the following week but it seemed like I could never catch the show on the air. Weird. I didn't watch again until I caught the marathon on Chiller. That's when I discovered that the show is over. So, I gave it a score of seven. It actually morphed into a very watchable show. I saw the finale on youtube. Very interesting. The characters were beginning to come into their own. Beginning to be more than their cliche. The 'goody two shoes' Diana has a selfish. 'Bad girl' Faye with a 'heart of gold' . I don't even mind Dark Cassie, etc... It It would've been nice to see where the story went. IMO, the show just had to find itself. It's a shame that it didn't really pick up until the end. It had potential. Expand
  22. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    I really like this i hope season two will happen. This is the only good show really left. Now the office and many other shows are coming to an end so this should be given another chance. The acting might not be great but its still a show full of new surprises and adventure.
  23. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    This was an amazing tv show I wish they didn't cut it off but please one more time make season 2!I'm begging you!I know they cut it off but there are fans
  24. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You will not believe how hooked I was on the season 1, I have never ever been so hooked in my life. It is one of the most exciting, adrenaline rushing tv series I've seen on tv, all I can say is CW was so stupid not to do a second and third series it is honestly I'm like addicted! I've watched them over and over and there so good. Please make series 2 and 3, I absolutely love the series, they are fantastic. Expand
  25. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    This is the best show ever!! I watched season 1 five times and I love it! CW made a big mistake canceling this show! I hope one they someone will bring it back for season 2.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Sep 15, 2011
    67
    The Secret Circle may be over-calculated and under-inspired, but that doesn't necessarily mean The Secret Circle is bad. There's something to be said for setting reasonable goals and largely succeeding, especially when there are plenty of shows that aspire to a good deal less and still fail.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 15, 2011
    67
    At times, the dialogue stops and unloads for exposition dumps, and a few of the young cast mates could use some more training back in the land of the Muggles.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 15, 2011
    60
    Secret Circle is competently performed and produced and liable to entertain anybody not old enough to remember Alyssa Milano and Shannen Doherty doing pretty much the same stuff in Charmed back in the 20th-century day.